$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great central location and amazing staff

Very friendly staff, great location. Would stay here again. Great lobby bar. See full review

  • Michaelmoz
  • Nov 3, 2014
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
The James Chicago - which received recognition on Travel and Leisures Worlds Best Awards - is located on the corner of Rush and Ontario streets steps from Chicagos famous Michigan Avenue shopping district and renowned museums. The 297-room hotel is known for its signature blend of guest-centric service; warmly modern design and liberated touches. Perfect for corporate and social events - The James features 7000 square feet of naturally lit state-of-the-art special event space from leather upholstered seating to the latest in technology such as built-in surround sound and HD SMART TVs. Experience The James as a culinary destination with David Burkes Primehouse - named No. 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine and craft cocktail lounge JIMMY. All corporate events provide restaurant-style dining menus custom created by the acclaimed steakhouse. Other highlights include space accommodations ranging from 10 to 300 guests; on-site audio/visual team; complimentary business networking lounge; and a dedicated Conference Services Manager to ensure the success of each event from start to finish regardless of the size.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new to biz travel
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2013

great stay

Lovely decor, inspiring art, comfy bed, excellent service, and the great price made it all even more enjoyable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Gen
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 3, 2012

Disappointing Digs

I stayed at the James hotel 9/1-9/2/12 for my best friend's bachelorette party. Our party of 7 ladies had two rooms and upon arrival at 1:30 pm neither room was ready (we were early for the 2pm check in time) we shopped and were assured we would recieve a call when the rooms were ready, they loaded all of our luggage on a cart and tagged it all to be delivered when we had a room. At 3pm we still had not recieved a call and went to check at the front desk, I was told that both rooms were still dirty and we would need to continue waiting. I was also rudely told by the front desk woman that they had 3 weddings and over 100 check ins that day and I was holding up the line of people checking in. Aroud 4pm one room was ready and our luggage was delivered there, but without one girls bags. Her and I went down to the desk and they showed us a storage room where we could search for her bag. At 5:30 pm our second room was finally ready and upon entering we encountered cleaning products left in the room and a shower that wasn't draining. I called the front desk and they told me to just leave the cleaning products in the hallway and someone would retrieve them. As we were all getting ready to go out one girl went to dry her hair and our room hair dryer was broken. I again called the front desk and was told they would bring a new one. We stayed at the hotel until 7pm and had to leave for dinner, still no hair dryer. I was very upset by the stay at the James, when you are paying a comparable rate to the Talbott and Four Seasons, you expect a certain level of professionalism and customer service. I could not believe that we didn't get anything for our wait for both rooms! I've stayed at Palomar in the past and had to wait 45 minutes for a room and was given a bottle of wine and a chocolate selection. I would not return to the James on my next Chicago trip and would not recommend it to others visiting the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2007

Not worth the money

I was disappointed in the service and the hotel. they lost my car and i miss my plane because they couldnt find where they park my car. the staff was not friendly at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2007

uncomfortable

I found the rooms at the James hotesl were too small for the cost and rather uncomfortable. The quantity of room must have been more important than the comfort during the design. Although the restaurant and bar are excellant, great food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping is only 1 block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeTravels
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 18, 2009

Great Location

Nice hotel but very small. The pictures on the site made it look much bigger. It also was not a stylish in person as it was in the pictures. Good location and friendly staff, but it left me wanting more. Ambiance was lacking. Doubt I will try it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dollar
Business
champaign illinos
Sep 24, 2011

mediocre

Disappointment considering the price. Rooms were small and sparce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain e
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Dec 28, 2012

Great location, small rooms

The james hotel in Chicago has the prime location, but room size was a bit snug. The bathroom was very small didn't have a counter area to put medicine kit even. The staff was friendly, lobby was nice. Very nice gym. This is a hotel that if you can get under $189 is a good value. Not a $200 plus a night room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Between having the hotel restaurant which is great, there are numerous places to eat within a half mile. There is Michigan avenue within a few blocks as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 27, 2009

Spot on, great location

The hotel is a great location and very well furnished and decorated to be on the modern and trendy side rather than the classical. The rates at the hotel are also excellent when compared to the overall experience. It is not a W hotel and not priced like one, but is right in that direction. I expected the staff to be more friendly andd they where not that friendly. Truly professional but the extra customer care or curtious service is by far missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the location of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed Johnson
Business
Pgh, PA
Jun 14, 2010

New age strange

Expensive, room not ready, charged me more to get a room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wedding hopper :)
Business
Dallas TX
May 4, 2009

Great Location!

All in all a nice hotel. I probably could have found something better for the price, especially seeing that it was a room with two fulls, I asked for a king. ALso I was charged a total of $60 for mini bar items that I never used and it took a week to get someone to fix it. Besides those two it was a nice hotel (especially if you find a deal). GReat Location and the men at the Front door were probably the nicest hotel staff I have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT go to the Bar attached to the hotel It was a horrible experience. You're in Chicago!!! There are much better places to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Wonderful James

Wonderful service with very friendly staff. I enjoyed the ambience and did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top