$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Social Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great Hotel

The room was very nice and had a lot of great little touches.. Would stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Chicago
Business
LA
Feb 15, 2012

recommended

The hotel is very accessible to major Chicago must-sees. Free wi-fi and a designated office area are a plus. Staff is very pleasant. Only drawback is cost of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a block away from the Magnificent mile.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindz and Sierra
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great location

The staff were extremely helpful with the check in process and getting taxis to my daily destinations. Walking distance to shopping, dining and attractions, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geem65
Business
New York
May 15, 2012

Great Downtown Hotel

Stayed at the James Hotel for 3 nights as an escape from New York. The location is excellent and most major sites are easily walkable. The Hotel itself is good value, my room was a reasonable size, well laid out and all the staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Great Bar downstairs that made the best (certainly strongest) Mojito's I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sorry charlie
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2012

very good, I liked it.

The water by the check in/out country is a nice touch. The free bottle of water by the bed was most welcomed and unexpected. Well done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhjh
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 5, 2012

The James

Really a nice hotel. I've stayed at a number of hotels in the area and for quiet, comfort, and accessibility, the James is truly one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky Lady 31
Business
Knoxville,TN
Nov 20, 2012

Great Stay

Had a wonderful weekend at The James. Very comfortable and clean.My main complaint is that there aren't views of the city from the rooms.It is only 17 stories high and in the middle of the city so your view is of walls, streets, and the backs of other buildings.Besides this, the bed was wonderful and my visit relaxing. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tons of shopping and wonderful places to eat.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duece
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 25, 2012

Thanksgiving

Hotel was very nice. Room was on the small side, but overall comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernComfort
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 9, 2012

Very Nice Boutique Hotel

I upgraded to the an Apartment King and it was totally worth it. The separate living area had everything you could need, and then some. The breakfast nook doubled great as a desk. The bathroom was a great use of space, especially with the pocket door and the window in the shower was very novel. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ori Staycationer
Business
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Feb 6, 2013

Trendy and Comfortable

This was our first stay at the James Hotel. Our stay was very comfortable. We leveraged the valet parking service provided, and while a bit expensive was very convenient. The staff at the front desk was very helpful whenever we had questions or needed assistance. The hotel was within walking distance of numerous good restaurants and we were able to discover a few nice places to eat at in the River North neighborhood during our stay. The decor was very trendy, modern, and comfortable. I felt right at home with the style of the hotel and enjoyed much of the photography displayed in the lobby and in the rooms. I didn't get a chance to eat at the Primehouse restaurant located downstairs (which also provides the room service), despite recommendations by friends. I look forward to checking it out on future visits though. I would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

At at Carnivale in the West Loop. Great atmosphere and great food.

Back to menu Return to top