$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Midwest
Oct 13, 2010

Amazing!

Most relaxing hotel room ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michaelmoz
Couples
Maine
Nov 3, 2014

Great central location and amazing staff

Very friendly staff, great location. Would stay here again. Great lobby bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimG
Couples
East Hampton
Feb 3, 2015

Stay at The James

Fantastic hotel in a great central location. The staff is fantastic, very polite and friendly, from the doorman (Scott's a great guy) the desk staff and even the cleaning staff. Walking distance to many excellent restaurants, at least 3 Starbucks within 5 minutes walk. Walking distance to just about everything in the downtown area, or only a $5-$6 cab ride if the weather isn't so great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Signature Lounge on the 96th floor of the Hancock building. Awesome night time views of the city. Absolutely go there for drinks. 95th floor is the restaurant, but we didn't dine th

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tl0405
Couples
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Amazing Hotel

Our hotel room was clean. The staff was amazing. Location of hotel was also great. We plan to go back again in February for another weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael A.
Couples
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

Great Weekend in Chicago

As always the James Hotel and staff take great care of you during your stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher C.
Couples
Elmhurst
May 17, 2015

Great weekend getaway

The James is perfectly located for dining and shopping along the Mag Mile. Great service and we were pleasantly surprised by the 1pm checkout time which allowed us to relax and enjoy our morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam R.
Business
N/A
Aug 8, 2015

Qick Work Trip

This is a great hotel. I am a hairstylist, and I absolutely loved the organic shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower. The best part is that it was not in a little annoying bottle. They are in pump bottle dispensers in the shower. I loved the stocked snack and mini bar in the room. I am also happy to report that their is air conditioning in the room! Since I am from Louisiana, this is very important!! I was shocked to find out some hotels do not have air conditioning in their rooms. The James is a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timothy P.
Single
N/A
Aug 31, 2015

Nice place!

Clean and comfy room, responsive, friendly staff, and a great location make The James a hotel I will remember and visit again the next time I'm in Chicago! The onsite restaurant is strong, also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 30, 2013

The James

Very nice comfortable hotel with a very friendly and accomodating staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steve6290
Couples
milwaukee, WI
Mar 7, 2014

good, not great

Excellent location and good value, but not great. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly is a block away!!!!!

Back to menu Return to top