$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
212 reviews
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very... See full review

  • ava76
  • Sep 10, 2013
Boutique chic luxury in the heart of River North
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8932 -87.6301
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 14.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 Plasma TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 flat screen TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Bacon Bar
Chef David Burke brings his signature style to Burkes Bacon Bar with a selection of bacon-inspired palm-sized sandwiches dubbed handwiches as well as sides salads and sweets.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow
New Jersey, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great hotel -- cool vibe.

Extraordinarily nice staff, attention to detail, great location....staying at this hotel enhanced the trip to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clifton
Jun 29, 2008

Very Cool Chic Atmosphere

We were greeted with and ice cold glass of water with lemon when my daughter mentioned that she was thirsty. All questions were adequately answered. The location was excellent and the staff very friendly. I enjoyed the moder design of the room especially and had a very New York type atmosphere.It was also a great people-watching lobby with very cool music subtley playing at all times putting one in a vacation mood mode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of foods were represented in the area including a Trader Joes for little odds and ends, snacks and drinks.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Dec 6, 2007

An ideal base

The James Hotel Chicago proved to be an ideal location for our stay.The room size was good, although the furniture was ultra modern and a little quirky for our more conservative tastes.In the bathroom, we found the shallow sink impractical and the sliding door to the bathroom heavy to open and close. Standards in the Hotel were good and the Staff friendly efficient and keen to ensure our comfort. Being English we would have liked a kettle to boil water to make tea, but we were kept well supplied with fresh milk and tea bags when required. In terms of location, The James cannot be faulted, with Michigan Avenue close by for shopping and sightseeing.Public transport, both metro and CTA bus are also convenient and easy to use. Overall the deal we had was good value for money especially as it included breakfast. We would certainly consider using this hotel again and can recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If sightseeing, buy a CTA travel pass for use on buses and the metro. Seven days travel for $20 is good value and gives access to the zoo, museums and galleries.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 6, 2009

Location, service, and more service

The James has a great location, which I knew from staying there before, but their service on a sold out weekend surpassed all expectations. I booked a room on Orbitz after being told they were sold out. At check-in, I was upgraded to a suite without asking. The room was perfect. Going out to dinner, my girlfriend and I were late so the hotel took us there with the house car, a clean Audi SUV, again without asking. The next day, the front desk staff handed me an umbrella to use for the day, not asking. That night the valet drove us to the fireworks in the house car. Room service breakfast was on time, delicious, and not too overpriced for a hotel of this caliber. Checkout was seamless with my car waiting. Overnight valet was a little pricey, but the level of attentiveness more than made up for that. Dissappointed the spa was closed on the 4th, but concierge went to a local drugstore and picked up items that we forgot. Amazing, friendly staff, with perfect level of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RL is about the best dining in Chicago and consistently has excellent food and service. You won't be dissappointed. Eat in the bar if you don't have a reservation.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
May 31, 2010

Great experience

My second visit to The James Excellent, knowledgeable service. Upscale without being cold and impersonal. There were a few minor issues with our room and although these were not an issue for us they were immediately remedied after one comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seychelle
Business
Dallas Tx
Nov 25, 2011

Best Boutique Hotel in Chicago

The rooms were surprisingly spacious, the staff was gracious and the amenities were great! Just one block off of Michigan Ave, you have a little more peace and quiet to sleep and can get catch the train, a cab or a walk quickly to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
River North Explorer Sue
Glen Ellyn, IL
Aug 22, 2013

Looking forward to staying again

We chose this hotel specifically for it's prime location - and figured a 4-star hotel would be adequate for a one night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our night out in the city - and the overnight at the hotel. My husband raved about it to our friends - and I'm sure we will be staying there again when the next opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Lovely hotel

I recently stayed two nights at the James Hotel Chicago, when in town for a meeting. The hotel is very well situated in the Near North Side area, only a block from Michigan Avenue. The location is great, w/ the Navy Pier, Olive Park, and other lakeside areas being a pleasant walk of about 20 minutes or so. And of course the famed Magnificent MIle if you want to shop, or just window shop and stroll, is right there. I enjoyed strolling the river walk en route to the Navy Pier/Olive Park area as a way to get some exercise on a wonderfully cool and pleasant August afternoon into early evening. That route allows for seeing plenty of pretty fountains, the boats on the river, and the peaceful, traffic and exhaust-fume-free walkways. Beyond the great location, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was, to a person, friendly, helpful, and solicitous of guests' needs. From the front desk to the housekeepers I encountered, everyone was great. The room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor. A little upholstered settee nook w/ a table was a nice use of space and provided a great place for a couple of room service meals. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were top quality, w/ a triple-sheeted bed and fluffy comforter. The bathroom was nicely appointed w/ extra-large towels and nice toiletries. I appreciated some "green" touches, such as large refillable bath toiletries in a wall rack in the shower. They provide a little note saying if you'd like individual small bottles, just ask. They provide an attractive large glass carafe of triple-filtered water, free of charge and refillable upon request, as an alternative to plastic water bottles--which so many hotels charge for these days. I liked that touch, as I prefer filtered water, but hate to use all those plastic bottles, especially when I'm not home to recycle them. The room was equipped w/ a wall-mounted, large-screen, flat LG TV which seemed a perfect distance from the bed for lazy viewing. The alarm clock is also an iPod port/player. The in-house restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse is pricey but terrific, with great food and even better service. I had what was probably the best steak I've ever had in the one meal I ate there.They also provide the room service, which I took advantage of for 2 breakfasts and a one dinner. Definitely a cut above most room service meals. All in all, the James has a luxury feel to it in terms of comfort, amenities, and service. It's not cheap, but I got a good deal. The level of luxury and service were definitely beyond what I'd usually get for that price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a brief respite from the city traffic and hustle and bustle, Olive Park and the adjacent city beach are wonderfully peaceful. It's nice to have a little restful patch of nature and a view of the lake, right on the edge of one of the busiest areas in town. The river walk is also lovely and makes for a nice evening's stroll down to the lake area.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bountiful
Aug 20, 2008

GREAT LOCATION

The James is located right in the heart of town and accessible to buses, tours, etc. The room was larger than what I had expected and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Magnificent Mile which is loaded with a variety of shopping.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicks that travel
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2010

Exceptional once again!

The James Hotel is always amazing. Each time we try to stay in a different type of room which always brings a new adventure. The staff is very professional and makes our stay a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is approximately fourth of a block from Michigan Ave.

Back to menu Return to top