$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Great Location

The James Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The location was the best and the service was phenomenal. The rooms were nice and the bed was very comfortable. The bar area downstairs was nice and there were a lot of young adults sitting downstairs in the lounge area. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forever 21 just opened recently around the corner and you can spend hours shopping there and there are really great buys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 27, 2007

very tourist friendly

large room and bath,excellent shower,modern decor.quiet.Lge.flat screen rv.easy walking distance to great Chicago restaurants and tourist off/on sightseeing trolley.Wonderful assistance from concierge re:getting picked up at hotel by sight- seeing bus.Hotel Bar and food top drawer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Chicago Chop house for steaks to die for(easy walk).Like Italian?-try Quartino-(even closer)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2009

Fabulous Hotel! One of my favorites!

This was my second visit to the James Hotel, stayed for three nights and once again had a fantastic time! This hotel is so nice and the staff is great, especially the doorman. Only slight inconvenience is that sometimes the front desk staff is very busy on the phone and you often times have to wait to be helped. This is my second favorite hotel in downtown Chicago and I will definitely be back! 5 stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a CTA Visitor pass and take the bus or trains as much as you want for one set price. You'll instantly get your money's worth and the transit system in Chicago is fast and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jange
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 28, 2010

Good one!

I really enjoyed that hotel. I should come back to James hotel when I visit to the Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, ny
Apr 22, 2009

Luxury right off Michigan Avenue

I was in Chicago on business and this hotel was perfect - 1 block off Michigan Ave, close to a variety of high-end and family restaurants. The room was roomy, with excellent linens, and a small, but comfortable bath. The decor is modern, free internet in the lobby. I've stayed in Chicago a lot, and this is one of my favorite places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Mar 21, 2010

Perfect Long Weekend

Had a long weekend away from the kids. Perfect stay for 2 adults to get to know each other again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 28, 2009

Stylish and Excellent Service

Loved the location- central to all our activities. The rooms were gorgeous and maid service excellent. We received great service from everyone at the James. They gave great recommendations for everything from sushi to martinis and canal tours to fun dive bars(rainy day back up plan).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carcamp
Business
santa rosa beach, fl
Apr 30, 2010

Great boutique style hotel

Super location, close to all dining and shopping. Staff was superb! Always friendly, happy and willing to deliver info with a smile. Beds were cloud like and the rooms although small were adequate. Very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I will return. We stayed at the recommendation of a local and this was his first choice. He was spot on with all of his recommendations. Thank you for having us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at the Gibson and had a super experience. The staff was professional and we had a great time with our neighboring table. It' s a good thing because the tables are tight, very close together.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qballers85
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Weekend In Chicago

The James was a great place in a great location, close to everything. Chic rooms and a friendly staff. Would def. staff at The James the next time i'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lawry's best Prime Rib I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 23, 2008

My review of James Hotel Chicago

Small room considering the price. Great staff though. Valet is a little on the pricey side ($46/night) but that's pretty much expected. Great fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block of Mag Mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top