$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ava76
Business
morelia mich
Sep 10, 2013

Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very helpful and polite, good restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke Primehouse

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biz traveler from chicago
Business
chicago
Oct 28, 2013

Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect location in Chicago and the steak restaurant in the hotel is excellent - best steaks in Chicago! Room is slightly small but very happy with the rate and the overall pleasant stay. Would definitely suggest to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke steak house in hotel is excellent

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Lovely hotel

I recently stayed two nights at the James Hotel Chicago, when in town for a meeting. The hotel is very well situated in the Near North Side area, only a block from Michigan Avenue. The location is great, w/ the Navy Pier, Olive Park, and other lakeside areas being a pleasant walk of about 20 minutes or so. And of course the famed Magnificent MIle if you want to shop, or just window shop and stroll, is right there. I enjoyed strolling the river walk en route to the Navy Pier/Olive Park area as a way to get some exercise on a wonderfully cool and pleasant August afternoon into early evening. That route allows for seeing plenty of pretty fountains, the boats on the river, and the peaceful, traffic and exhaust-fume-free walkways. Beyond the great location, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was, to a person, friendly, helpful, and solicitous of guests' needs. From the front desk to the housekeepers I encountered, everyone was great. The room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor. A little upholstered settee nook w/ a table was a nice use of space and provided a great place for a couple of room service meals. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were top quality, w/ a triple-sheeted bed and fluffy comforter. The bathroom was nicely appointed w/ extra-large towels and nice toiletries. I appreciated some "green" touches, such as large refillable bath toiletries in a wall rack in the shower. They provide a little note saying if you'd like individual small bottles, just ask. They provide an attractive large glass carafe of triple-filtered water, free of charge and refillable upon request, as an alternative to plastic water bottles--which so many hotels charge for these days. I liked that touch, as I prefer filtered water, but hate to use all those plastic bottles, especially when I'm not home to recycle them. The room was equipped w/ a wall-mounted, large-screen, flat LG TV which seemed a perfect distance from the bed for lazy viewing. The alarm clock is also an iPod port/player. The in-house restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse is pricey but terrific, with great food and even better service. I had what was probably the best steak I've ever had in the one meal I ate there.They also provide the room service, which I took advantage of for 2 breakfasts and a one dinner. Definitely a cut above most room service meals. All in all, the James has a luxury feel to it in terms of comfort, amenities, and service. It's not cheap, but I got a good deal. The level of luxury and service were definitely beyond what I'd usually get for that price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a brief respite from the city traffic and hustle and bustle, Olive Park and the adjacent city beach are wonderfully peaceful. It's nice to have a little restful patch of nature and a view of the lake, right on the edge of one of the busiest areas in town. The river walk is also lovely and makes for a nice evening's stroll down to the lake area.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 13, 2009

Great stay at the James

We loved the look and feel of our room (Kiehl's products in the bathroom get a gold star) as well as the proximity of the hotel to good restaurants, shopping and key attractions like Oak Street beach and Millennium Park. The concierge was extremely helpful in advance of our stay in making restaurant recommendations and booking a table for an important family celebration, and while we were there, he helped us get last minute tickets for the architectural boat tour that we were having trouble getting on our own. We also had an incident involving a lost stuffed animal and the hotel staff was very responsive and helpful in retrieving it from the outside laundry service (it had been inadvertently scooped up in the bed sheets) the next morning. We liked the bar downstairs and the food from room service that our children ate appeared to be quite good. Overall, an excellent experience. We look forward to staying there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sepia is an amazing restaurant - highly recommend it if you're looking for excellent food and great ambience.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Providence
Aug 21, 2008

Very nice boutique hotel

The James was in an excellent location, within walking distance to many attractions/restaurants, and close to public transportation. The concierge staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and always willing to help. Clean up and turn down service. Very nice rooms, stocked bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is right off Michigan Ave, The Magificent Mile, and not too far from Navy Pier and Lake Michigan.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location for visiting the city.

Met in Chicago for a girls' weekend. This hotel was a perfect choice for location. The staff was extremely helpful in getting dinner reservations and providing information on and bookings for things to do around the city. The only drawback is that the hotel is about 7 blocks from an El stop. However, there are cabs and a free trolley down Michigan Ave, so we had no problems during our visit with transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 8, 2010

Perfect Stay!

We got stranded in Chicago on our way back to DC and decided to stay at The James; what a great choice! The rooms are very hip and modern (not to mention spotless). The staff is amazingly accomodating (someone from the bar actually went back to the employee area to make me a cup of coffee because they didn't serve it at the bar). The hotel is located one block from Magnificiant Mile (Michigan Ave) and there are many great restaurants closeby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mentor
Jun 22, 2008

Fabulous Location, GREAT STAFF!

The Staff at the James Hotel was SUPURB!!! They treated us like we were the only people staying there. Whenever we called down to the front desk they immediately responded. The y were the friendliest hotel staff I have ever dealt with. The room was great. we stayed in a loft and there was a great media center in it. you are right there on Michigan avenue. The staff had great recommendations for dinner and gave us VIP passes for night life. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL and will stay there the next time I go to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is nearby you are right in the heart of downtown chicago...a short walk to anything, and the el station is around the block.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meybs
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2011

Great time

We enjoyed the city as much as possible. Dinner, shopped around the different parts of Chicago, and attended the Green Music Fest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Publican

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Va
Jul 25, 2010

Amazing Experience

We came to Chicago for an Anniversary Trip, and we LOVED our stay at the James Hotel. The service was truly first-class from the check-in to check-out. The concierge was knowledgeable and very helpful. The spa was small, but it was the best massage I have ever had. My husband also said that the front desk and concierge were very willing and helpful in arraigning for flowers, champagne, and chocolate to be in the room when we checked in. Also, they have complimentary cruiser bikes that were so much fun to ride down to Lake Michigan. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top