$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KW121
Business
Washington, DC
May 27, 2010

Great Chicago Hotel

My co-worker and I decided to come to Chicago a day early for our conference. We chose to stay at the James hotel and we were very impressed. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Chicago and a short walk from many many destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING is within a short walk. This location is ideal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Apr 11, 2010

Great Location and Very Friendly Staff

The ultra modern James Hotel is just one block off of Michigan Avenue. It was definitely a great location because of the proximity of restaurants and shopping. You are also not caught up the heavy foot and car traffic of Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and inviting and they helped with all questions asked. The room was a good size and the amenities were great. Being leisure travelers, this hotel was great, mostly because of its fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many, many great dining locations within 4 blocks of The James. The James is truly in one of the best locations in the city for dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Dec 6, 2010

Girl's Weekend

Shop and eat. Great to have snow! Sunday brunch at North Pond Cafe - a favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In from the Burbs
Business
Chicagoland, IL
Apr 11, 2010

Lovely place, wonderful location & staff

You can step out the door at this hotel (and be greeted by one of the great doormen) and be shopping on the Mag Mile in 5 minutes. Rooms are cozy, but very nicely appointed with modern furniture and flat screen TVs. Beds are great. Staff very friendly. Turn down service was nice. My husband and I booked a night for our anniversary and the bottom line is, this place was incredible bang for the buck [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Trader Joe's across the street for any food or wine needs... skip the mini bar if you want and grab goodies from TJ's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
May 22, 2009

Great hotel

One of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. The staff was more than helpful. I would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Nov 16, 2010

Comfort and Elegance

Recently my wife attended a conference, and I accompanied her. We were extremely pleased with how comfortable the room was -- nicely appointed and well provisioned. The staff were extremely helpful in providing whatever information or services we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are several sites/attractions if you don't mind a little bit of a walk (Miracle Mile, art museum, etc.), so save the time and headache of fighting traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Weekend
Business
Vancouver
Jul 4, 2010

Clean, comfortable rooms...

It is a very comfortable hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. Our TV didn't work and a tech guy came up promptly to fix. The location is good for shopping and food but we spent most of our days site-seeing in the Loop area so the location may not be for everyone. We were charged a small amount for something we didn't use at the mini-bar. The checkout staff said they would remove the charge but I see it went on my credit card the next day. Other than that, a good overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoscoeP
Business
Northern Michigan
Sep 25, 2011

The James And Burke's primehouse were onmy bucket list.

The trip didn't disappoint. The James was first class. The service was exceptional. The location is in the center of action. Restaurants, lounges and entertainment is with in walking distance. The primehouse was fabulous.The food great the service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much available, plan before you go to get the most out of your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york ny
Apr 15, 2011

great location

comfortable, convenient, spacious, well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations on weekends

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel-eni
Business
Chicago
Apr 24, 2011

Great location in the city!

We picked this hotel for a group to stay during a bachelorette weekend. It's a short walk to a number of great restaurants, bars, and brunch locations. The rooms are clean, spacious, with upscale amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's is an excellent dining locale just 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top