$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great central location and amazing staff

Very friendly staff, great location. Would stay here again. Great lobby bar. See full review

  • Michaelmoz
  • Nov 3, 2014
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
Boutique chic luxury in the heart of River North
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Dec 6, 2007

An ideal base

The James Hotel Chicago proved to be an ideal location for our stay.The room size was good, although the furniture was ultra modern and a little quirky for our more conservative tastes.In the bathroom, we found the shallow sink impractical and the sliding door to the bathroom heavy to open and close. Standards in the Hotel were good and the Staff friendly efficient and keen to ensure our comfort. Being English we would have liked a kettle to boil water to make tea, but we were kept well supplied with fresh milk and tea bags when required. In terms of location, The James cannot be faulted, with Michigan Avenue close by for shopping and sightseeing.Public transport, both metro and CTA bus are also convenient and easy to use. Overall the deal we had was good value for money especially as it included breakfast. We would certainly consider using this hotel again and can recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If sightseeing, buy a CTA travel pass for use on buses and the metro. Seven days travel for $20 is good value and gives access to the zoo, museums and galleries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 7, 2008

Hipster hideaway

The James was a delight from start to finish. Great attention to details and to their guests. The staff was kind and gracious. Dog friendly, too! Many of the rooms are on a courtyard and can be a little dark. If you are a sun lover, you may want to let them know ahead of time. Room decor is swank chic. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON Canada
Oct 3, 2010

As Tony the Tiger would say "GRRRREAT!"

The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left they were professional, courteous, and always eager to help!. We found that the concierge desk had great recommendations for food and attractions, the doormen always had a welcoming smile on their faces and the front desk staff were beyond helpful! The hotel room itself was very modern, stylish, classy and very clean. The little things that were done, such as evening bed turn down, courtesy umbrellas and orange slices in the water in the fitness centre, were a nice surprise! Above all, you can really not get a better location! I am not sure what could have made our first visit to the windy city any better! Next time I go back, I am staying there and I would not hesitate to recommend The James Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Tix - we were able to see Billy Elliott at 51% off the ticket price! It is a service that seems very underused compared to other destinations such as NYC or Las Vegas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linji - Twitter-atic & Digital 007
Business
Boston MA
Aug 2, 2011

The MoMA of Boutique Hotels

The James differentiated itself as a boutique hotel on a couple of key factors. The staff was friendly and well equip to help, the shower products were quality and eco-conscious, the interior of the room was impeccable with modern class and hospitality. They even had an awesome piece of conceptual art in the lobby one of suit cases stuffed with the contents of a shabby motel giving it a high coolness factor. I also really loved one key detail, checkout was a 2pm so no bum-rushing the service desk to get out. It's also a great location for tourists, close to shopping and Metro. The bed was the best night sleep I've had in weeks, down comforter and fluffy bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Quartino the Italian tapas place it was *amazing* you can also stop by Ghiridelli Chocolatier for some chocolate and ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seychelle
Business
Dallas Tx
Nov 25, 2011

Best Boutique Hotel in Chicago

The rooms were surprisingly spacious, the staff was gracious and the amenities were great! Just one block off of Michigan Ave, you have a little more peace and quiet to sleep and can get catch the train, a cab or a walk quickly to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StefidiNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Excellent hotel and location

The hotel is very lovely and I loved how chic it was. It is a block away from the famous Magnificent Mile. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND. On our last day, the hotel even provided us a free ride to the subway station, which connections to the train that takes us to the airport since our flight was late in the evening and we checked out at 2pm. My friend and I loved our experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathryne1James
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

AMAZING

We came into the city for a weekend get away. The hotel was AMAZING. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The only down fall was the bath tub was very uncomfortable and the water carafe was never refilled- ever after asking 3 times. We would stay there again in a heart beat! Great location. Even at 5 months pregnant, I walked every where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ccampbell
Business
Baltimore
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful!

We loved The James! It was perfectly located, clean, charming and inviting. The staff was friendly and efficient. The gym was great - clean and had everything we wanted. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant or hang out at the bar, but definitely will next time. We will absolutely stay here the next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WindyCityHoosier
Business
Elmhurst, IL, USA
Sep 4, 2012

The James is Fantastic

I wish we could have stayed longer but unfortunately our budget would not allow. The rooms (although not huge) are lovely. Ours had a little cubby with a table, bench and lamp in addition to the bed, chair, dresser, TV, etc. you'd expect in a typical room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the A/C - we couldn't figure out how to keep it at a normal temperature. We set it to 72 and "auto" and went to dinner. It was REALLY hot when we got back so we turned it down. Of course we woke up freezing. All in all if only it were a little less expensive it would have been absolutely perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Trader Joe's across the street for wine and snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike from AH
Business
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Stay

The staff was exemplary from the gentlemen at the door to the room service staff. Everyone made sure our stay was perfect and we were well attended to. The location is fantastic and the food from David Burke's Primehouse for room service was amazing. The James is the true benchmark of a boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to avoid the expected, but severe up-charge on liquor in the room, take a short walk west to Trader Joe's and pick up some good quality wine at wholesale prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top