$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Qick Work Trip

This is a great hotel. I am a hairstylist, and I absolutely loved the organic shampoo, conditioner,... See full review

  • Adam R.
  • Aug 8, 2015
Great weekend getaway

The James is perfectly located for dining and shopping along the Mag Mile. Great service and we... See full review

  • Christopher C.
  • May 17, 2015
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Nearby attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Policies
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.4 / 5 730 reviews
★★★★
$134
4.4 / 5 144 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.2 / 5 230 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.4 / 5 68 reviews
★★★★
$109
3.9 / 5 133 reviews
★★★★★
$316
4.6 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$135
3.8 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$169
4.3 / 5 71 reviews

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 133
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Gen
Friends
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 3, 2012

Disappointing Digs

I stayed at the James hotel 9/1-9/2/12 for my best friend's bachelorette party. Our party of 7 ladies had two rooms and upon arrival at 1:30 pm neither room was ready (we were early for the 2pm check in time) we shopped and were assured we would recieve a call when the rooms were ready, they loaded all of our luggage on a cart and tagged it all to be delivered when we had a room. At 3pm we still had not recieved a call and went to check at the front desk, I was told that both rooms were still dirty and we would need to continue waiting. I was also rudely told by the front desk woman that they had 3 weddings and over 100 check ins that day and I was holding up the line of people checking in. Aroud 4pm one room was ready and our luggage was delivered there, but without one girls bags. Her and I went down to the desk and they showed us a storage room where we could search for her bag. At 5:30 pm our second room was finally ready and upon entering we encountered cleaning products left in the room and a shower that wasn't draining. I called the front desk and they told me to just leave the cleaning products in the hallway and someone would retrieve them. As we were all getting ready to go out one girl went to dry her hair and our room hair dryer was broken. I again called the front desk and was told they would bring a new one. We stayed at the hotel until 7pm and had to leave for dinner, still no hair dryer. I was very upset by the stay at the James, when you are paying a comparable rate to the Talbott and Four Seasons, you expect a certain level of professionalism and customer service. I could not believe that we didn't get anything for our wait for both rooms! I've stayed at Palomar in the past and had to wait 45 minutes for a room and was given a bottle of wine and a chocolate selection. I would not return to the James on my next Chicago trip and would not recommend it to others visiting the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Chicago
Friends
LA
Feb 15, 2012

recommended

The hotel is very accessible to major Chicago must-sees. Free wi-fi and a designated office area are a plus. Staff is very pleasant. Only drawback is cost of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a block away from the Magnificent mile.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwmama
Friends
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

The James is always a safe bet

I have stayed here a few times before and love it. Close to Mich ave and easy to get to. Staff is always exceptionally friendly. Rooms are good size, decent but hot fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qballers85
Friends
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Weekend In Chicago

The James was a great place in a great location, close to everything. Chic rooms and a friendly staff. Would def. staff at The James the next time i'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lawry's best Prime Rib I have ever had.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel-eni
Friends
Chicago
Apr 24, 2011

Great location in the city!

We picked this hotel for a group to stay during a bachelorette weekend. It's a short walk to a number of great restaurants, bars, and brunch locations. The rooms are clean, spacious, with upscale amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's is an excellent dining locale just 2 blocks away.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Mar 2, 2011

Fabulous Experience

I was greeted warmly at the door. All the employees were incredibly helpful and kind. The room itself was contemporary, yet cozy. It was a fabulous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Kansas
Dec 6, 2010

Girl's Weekend

Shop and eat. Great to have snow! Sunday brunch at North Pond Cafe - a favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Seattle WA
Aug 10, 2010

Fantastic location, classy vibe

The hotel was at a prime location just north of the loop in Chicago. The surrounding area was great and offered a lot of upscale restaurants and shops. We had one minor hiccup with the door keys, which seemed to keep coming un-magnetized, but the staff was fantastic, courteous, and helpful at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
new orleans, la
Aug 3, 2010

The Great Escape

This was one of the best trips I have had! The city of Chicago is amazing. I truly enjoyed my stay at the James Hotel and would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carcamp
Friends
santa rosa beach, fl
Apr 30, 2010

Great boutique style hotel

Super location, close to all dining and shopping. Staff was superb! Always friendly, happy and willing to deliver info with a smile. Beds were cloud like and the rooms although small were adequate. Very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I will return. We stayed at the recommendation of a local and this was his first choice. He was spot on with all of his recommendations. Thank you for having us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at the Gibson and had a super experience. The staff was professional and we had a great time with our neighboring table. It' s a good thing because the tables are tight, very close together.

Back to menu Return to top