$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsbailey1980
Toledo Ohio
Mar 1, 2013

great getaway

Staff was wonderful and location is Prime!!! Nothing bad to say about The James. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May0778
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2010

Wonderful service!

Great location, clean, concierge was able to get tickets for sold out Second City show. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picky traveler
Business
philadelphia
Jun 17, 2010

Perfect for business trip

In general excellent experience from check in to room to services. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic pizza place two blocks from hotel. coupon for free pizza offered by hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed Johnson
Business
Pgh, PA
Jun 14, 2010

New age strange

Expensive, room not ready, charged me more to get a room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al mom of 3
Business
PIkeville, Kentucky
May 31, 2010

Modern Hotel for a weekend getaway

We had a romantic weekend getaway at The James. They provided excellent services and the room was a very modern, yet relaxed atmosphere. Good location, close to the Mag Mile. I recommend this hotel for a couple looking to reconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 31, 2010

Great experience

My second visit to The James Excellent, knowledgeable service. Upscale without being cold and impersonal. There were a few minor issues with our room and although these were not an issue for us they were immediately remedied after one comment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KW121
Business
Washington, DC
May 27, 2010

Great Chicago Hotel

My co-worker and I decided to come to Chicago a day early for our conference. We chose to stay at the James hotel and we were very impressed. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Chicago and a short walk from many many destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING is within a short walk. This location is ideal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carcamp
Business
santa rosa beach, fl
Apr 30, 2010

Great boutique style hotel

Super location, close to all dining and shopping. Staff was superb! Always friendly, happy and willing to deliver info with a smile. Beds were cloud like and the rooms although small were adequate. Very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I will return. We stayed at the recommendation of a local and this was his first choice. He was spot on with all of his recommendations. Thank you for having us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at the Gibson and had a super experience. The staff was professional and we had a great time with our neighboring table. It' s a good thing because the tables are tight, very close together.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Apr 11, 2010

Great Location and Very Friendly Staff

The ultra modern James Hotel is just one block off of Michigan Avenue. It was definitely a great location because of the proximity of restaurants and shopping. You are also not caught up the heavy foot and car traffic of Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and inviting and they helped with all questions asked. The room was a good size and the amenities were great. Being leisure travelers, this hotel was great, mostly because of its fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many, many great dining locations within 4 blocks of The James. The James is truly in one of the best locations in the city for dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In from the Burbs
Business
Chicagoland, IL
Apr 11, 2010

Lovely place, wonderful location & staff

You can step out the door at this hotel (and be greeted by one of the great doormen) and be shopping on the Mag Mile in 5 minutes. Rooms are cozy, but very nicely appointed with modern furniture and flat screen TVs. Beds are great. Staff very friendly. Turn down service was nice. My husband and I booked a night for our anniversary and the bottom line is, this place was incredible bang for the buck [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Trader Joe's across the street for any food or wine needs... skip the mini bar if you want and grab goodies from TJ's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Apr 6, 2010

Great location but a little pricy

In town for a bachelor party. The location was great right near all the action, but parking was rather expensive. With no hotel parking it was like paying for a room for my car all weekend. Also for the price I found the renovations looked to be done a little cheaply. For example, an older fiberglass tub had been refinished instead of replaced and the finish was already failing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top