$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ava76
morelia mich
Sep 10, 2013

Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very helpful and polite, good restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke Primehouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 27, 2010

Great location, modern rooms-

The hotel was modern and had a hip feel though there was a mixture of young and old staying there. Restaurant/bar staff was excellent but they oversold their steak. We were not impressed with our steak dinner and probably should have gone to an old standby like Gibsons. Overall, very good hotel with an excellent location. Great getaway weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan ave- no shortage of shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Sunday night at the James

Very comfortable rooms, excellent service. No coffee maker in the room but free coffee in the morning in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Harley Davidson store and the Apple store are around the corner. Who could ask for more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 1, 2010

James Hotel-not so bad

Great location, attractive lobby and rooms, street noise on lower floor rooms, decent rate. I would stay there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Wonderful James

Wonderful service with very friendly staff. I enjoyed the ambience and did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Aug 10, 2010

Fantastic location, classy vibe

The hotel was at a prime location just north of the loop in Chicago. The surrounding area was great and offered a lot of upscale restaurants and shops. We had one minor hiccup with the door keys, which seemed to keep coming un-magnetized, but the staff was fantastic, courteous, and helpful at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans, la
Aug 3, 2010

The Great Escape

This was one of the best trips I have had! The city of Chicago is amazing. I truly enjoyed my stay at the James Hotel and would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Va
Jul 25, 2010

Amazing Experience

We came to Chicago for an Anniversary Trip, and we LOVED our stay at the James Hotel. The service was truly first-class from the check-in to check-out. The concierge was knowledgeable and very helpful. The spa was small, but it was the best massage I have ever had. My husband also said that the front desk and concierge were very willing and helpful in arraigning for flowers, champagne, and chocolate to be in the room when we checked in. Also, they have complimentary cruiser bikes that were so much fun to ride down to Lake Michigan. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 19, 2010

Fantastic Hotel & Location!

The shopping, dining and bars are all just steps away! It was difficult to leave our fabulous room, bed was extremely comfortable and the furniture and t.v. made for relaxing stay! We will plan on staying here on our next vist to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdales's & Nordstroms just steps away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvChicago
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 16, 2010

Love the James Hotel

The James hotel is a great hotel with very attentive staff. The rooms are clean and modern. Great location in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Weekend
Business
Vancouver
Jul 4, 2010

Clean, comfortable rooms...

It is a very comfortable hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. Our TV didn't work and a tech guy came up promptly to fix. The location is good for shopping and food but we spent most of our days site-seeing in the Loop area so the location may not be for everyone. We were charged a small amount for something we didn't use at the mini-bar. The checkout staff said they would remove the charge but I see it went on my credit card the next day. Other than that, a good overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top