$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
River North Explorer Sue
Glen Ellyn, IL
Aug 22, 2013

Looking forward to staying again

We chose this hotel specifically for it's prime location - and figured a 4-star hotel would be adequate for a one night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our night out in the city - and the overnight at the hotel. My husband raved about it to our friends - and I'm sure we will be staying there again when the next opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Nov 16, 2010

Comfort and Elegance

Recently my wife attended a conference, and I accompanied her. We were extremely pleased with how comfortable the room was -- nicely appointed and well provisioned. The staff were extremely helpful in providing whatever information or services we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are several sites/attractions if you don't mind a little bit of a walk (Miracle Mile, art museum, etc.), so save the time and headache of fighting traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Oct 13, 2010

Amazing!

Most relaxing hotel room ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON Canada
Oct 3, 2010

As Tony the Tiger would say "GRRRREAT!"

The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left they were professional, courteous, and always eager to help!. We found that the concierge desk had great recommendations for food and attractions, the doormen always had a welcoming smile on their faces and the front desk staff were beyond helpful! The hotel room itself was very modern, stylish, classy and very clean. The little things that were done, such as evening bed turn down, courtesy umbrellas and orange slices in the water in the fitness centre, were a nice surprise! Above all, you can really not get a better location! I am not sure what could have made our first visit to the windy city any better! Next time I go back, I am staying there and I would not hesitate to recommend The James Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Tix - we were able to see Billy Elliott at 51% off the ticket price! It is a service that seems very underused compared to other destinations such as NYC or Las Vegas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON Canada
Oct 3, 2010

As Tony the Tiger would say "GRRRREAT!"

The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left they were professional, courteous, and always eager to help!. We found that the concierge desk had great recommendations for food and attractions, the doormen always had a welcoming smile on their faces and the front desk staff were beyond helpful! The hotel room itself was very modern, stylish, classy and very clean. The little things that were done, such as evening bed turn down, courtesy umbrellas and orange slices in the water in the fitness centre, were a nice surprise! Above all, you can really not get a better location! I am not sure what could have made our first visit to the windy city any better! Next time I go back, I am staying there and I would not hesitate to recommend The James Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Tix - we were able to see Billy Elliott at 51% off the ticket price! It is a service that seems very underused compared to other destinations such as NYC or Las Vegas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 27, 2010

Great location, modern rooms-

The hotel was modern and had a hip feel though there was a mixture of young and old staying there. Restaurant/bar staff was excellent but they oversold their steak. We were not impressed with our steak dinner and probably should have gone to an old standby like Gibsons. Overall, very good hotel with an excellent location. Great getaway weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan ave- no shortage of shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 26, 2010

Sunday night at the James

Very comfortable rooms, excellent service. No coffee maker in the room but free coffee in the morning in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the Harley Davidson store and the Apple store are around the corner. Who could ask for more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 1, 2010

James Hotel-not so bad

Great location, attractive lobby and rooms, street noise on lower floor rooms, decent rate. I would stay there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Wonderful James

Wonderful service with very friendly staff. I enjoyed the ambience and did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Wonderful James

Wonderful service with very friendly staff. I enjoyed the ambience and did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Aug 10, 2010

Fantastic location, classy vibe

The hotel was at a prime location just north of the loop in Chicago. The surrounding area was great and offered a lot of upscale restaurants and shops. We had one minor hiccup with the door keys, which seemed to keep coming un-magnetized, but the staff was fantastic, courteous, and helpful at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top