$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Madison, WI
Sep 1, 2010

James Hotel-not so bad

Great location, attractive lobby and rooms, street noise on lower floor rooms, decent rate. I would stay there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Seattle WA
Aug 10, 2010

Fantastic location, classy vibe

The hotel was at a prime location just north of the loop in Chicago. The surrounding area was great and offered a lot of upscale restaurants and shops. We had one minor hiccup with the door keys, which seemed to keep coming un-magnetized, but the staff was fantastic, courteous, and helpful at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
new orleans, la
Aug 3, 2010

The Great Escape

This was one of the best trips I have had! The city of Chicago is amazing. I truly enjoyed my stay at the James Hotel and would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, Va
Jul 25, 2010

Amazing Experience

We came to Chicago for an Anniversary Trip, and we LOVED our stay at the James Hotel. The service was truly first-class from the check-in to check-out. The concierge was knowledgeable and very helpful. The spa was small, but it was the best massage I have ever had. My husband also said that the front desk and concierge were very willing and helpful in arraigning for flowers, champagne, and chocolate to be in the room when we checked in. Also, they have complimentary cruiser bikes that were so much fun to ride down to Lake Michigan. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, Tx
Jul 19, 2010

Fantastic Hotel & Location!

The shopping, dining and bars are all just steps away! It was difficult to leave our fabulous room, bed was extremely comfortable and the furniture and t.v. made for relaxing stay! We will plan on staying here on our next vist to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdales's & Nordstroms just steps away!

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvChicago
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 16, 2010

Love the James Hotel

The James hotel is a great hotel with very attentive staff. The rooms are clean and modern. Great location in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Weekend
Couples
Vancouver
Jul 4, 2010

Clean, comfortable rooms...

It is a very comfortable hotel. The staff were helpful and courteous. Our TV didn't work and a tech guy came up promptly to fix. The location is good for shopping and food but we spent most of our days site-seeing in the Loop area so the location may not be for everyone. We were charged a small amount for something we didn't use at the mini-bar. The checkout staff said they would remove the charge but I see it went on my credit card the next day. Other than that, a good overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicks that travel
Family
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2010

Exceptional once again!

The James Hotel is always amazing. Each time we try to stay in a different type of room which always brings a new adventure. The staff is very professional and makes our stay a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is approximately fourth of a block from Michigan Ave.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May0778
Family
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2010

Wonderful service!

Great location, clean, concierge was able to get tickets for sold out Second City show. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picky traveler
Business
philadelphia
Jun 17, 2010

Perfect for business trip

In general excellent experience from check in to room to services. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic pizza place two blocks from hotel. coupon for free pizza offered by hotel.

Back to menu Return to top