$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biz traveler from chicago
chicago
Oct 28, 2013

Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect location in Chicago and the steak restaurant in the hotel is excellent - best steaks in Chicago! Room is slightly small but very happy with the rate and the overall pleasant stay. Would definitely suggest to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke steak house in hotel is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linji - Twitter-atic & Digital 007
Business
Boston MA
Aug 2, 2011

The MoMA of Boutique Hotels

The James differentiated itself as a boutique hotel on a couple of key factors. The staff was friendly and well equip to help, the shower products were quality and eco-conscious, the interior of the room was impeccable with modern class and hospitality. They even had an awesome piece of conceptual art in the lobby one of suit cases stuffed with the contents of a shabby motel giving it a high coolness factor. I also really loved one key detail, checkout was a 2pm so no bum-rushing the service desk to get out. It's also a great location for tourists, close to shopping and Metro. The bed was the best night sleep I've had in weeks, down comforter and fluffy bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Quartino the Italian tapas place it was *amazing* you can also stop by Ghiridelli Chocolatier for some chocolate and ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linji - Twitter-atic & Digital 007
Business
Boston MA
Aug 2, 2011

The MoMA of Boutique Hotels

The James differentiated itself as a boutique hotel on a couple of key factors. The staff was friendly and well equip to help, the shower products were quality and eco-conscious, the interior of the room was impeccable with modern class and hospitality. They even had an awesome piece of conceptual art in the lobby one of suit cases stuffed with the contents of a shabby motel giving it a high coolness factor. I also really loved one key detail, checkout was a 2pm so no bum-rushing the service desk to get out. It's also a great location for tourists, close to shopping and Metro. The bed was the best night sleep I've had in weeks, down comforter and fluffy bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Quartino the Italian tapas place it was *amazing* you can also stop by Ghiridelli Chocolatier for some chocolate and ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 2, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a great location

This is a great hotel-resonably priced. The staff is courteous, attentive to details and very professional. The room was perfect! It was clean, comfortable, nicely appointed and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to several great restuarants and we were one block from Michigan Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meybs
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2011

Great time

We enjoyed the city as much as possible. Dinner, shopped around the different parts of Chicago, and attended the Green Music Fest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Publican

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.C.
Jun 1, 2011

Great Experience

Great hotel, excellent location, BEAUTIFUL flower arrangements in the lobby, bar and reception, modern, clean, just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel-eni
Business
Chicago
Apr 24, 2011

Great location in the city!

We picked this hotel for a group to stay during a bachelorette weekend. It's a short walk to a number of great restaurants, bars, and brunch locations. The rooms are clean, spacious, with upscale amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's is an excellent dining locale just 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york ny
Apr 15, 2011

great location

comfortable, convenient, spacious, well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations on weekends

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 2, 2011

Fabulous Experience

I was greeted warmly at the door. All the employees were incredibly helpful and kind. The room itself was contemporary, yet cozy. It was a fabulous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Feb 22, 2011

Exceptional Experience

We were greeted by a friendly door staff that immediately made us feel welcome. After checking in, the concierge gave us great suggestions on different places to check out for dinner and drinks and really paid attention to what we were interested in. The location couldn't have been much better. It was so close to all the great shopping and bars. We really had a good time at the JBar! It was cozy with great music and we had awesome service. Their Vanilla Sky martini is a definite must try! We went there both Friday and Saturday night, which we didn't plan on doing, but [...] and [...] were so nice and made us feel like they truly cared about us and our time there. Loved the vibe of The James and really appreciated their warm staff. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Dec 6, 2010

Girl's Weekend

Shop and eat. Great to have snow! Sunday brunch at North Pond Cafe - a favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top