$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.C.
Jun 1, 2011

Great Experience

Great hotel, excellent location, BEAUTIFUL flower arrangements in the lobby, bar and reception, modern, clean, just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel-eni
Business
Chicago
Apr 24, 2011

Great location in the city!

We picked this hotel for a group to stay during a bachelorette weekend. It's a short walk to a number of great restaurants, bars, and brunch locations. The rooms are clean, spacious, with upscale amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's is an excellent dining locale just 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york ny
Apr 15, 2011

great location

comfortable, convenient, spacious, well located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations on weekends

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 2, 2011

Fabulous Experience

I was greeted warmly at the door. All the employees were incredibly helpful and kind. The room itself was contemporary, yet cozy. It was a fabulous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Feb 22, 2011

Exceptional Experience

We were greeted by a friendly door staff that immediately made us feel welcome. After checking in, the concierge gave us great suggestions on different places to check out for dinner and drinks and really paid attention to what we were interested in. The location couldn't have been much better. It was so close to all the great shopping and bars. We really had a good time at the JBar! It was cozy with great music and we had awesome service. Their Vanilla Sky martini is a definite must try! We went there both Friday and Saturday night, which we didn't plan on doing, but [...] and [...] were so nice and made us feel like they truly cared about us and our time there. Loved the vibe of The James and really appreciated their warm staff. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Dec 6, 2010

Girl's Weekend

Shop and eat. Great to have snow! Sunday brunch at North Pond Cafe - a favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Nov 16, 2010

Comfort and Elegance

Recently my wife attended a conference, and I accompanied her. We were extremely pleased with how comfortable the room was -- nicely appointed and well provisioned. The staff were extremely helpful in providing whatever information or services we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are several sites/attractions if you don't mind a little bit of a walk (Miracle Mile, art museum, etc.), so save the time and headache of fighting traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Oct 13, 2010

Amazing!

Most relaxing hotel room ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON Canada
Oct 3, 2010

As Tony the Tiger would say "GRRRREAT!"

The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left they were professional, courteous, and always eager to help!. We found that the concierge desk had great recommendations for food and attractions, the doormen always had a welcoming smile on their faces and the front desk staff were beyond helpful! The hotel room itself was very modern, stylish, classy and very clean. The little things that were done, such as evening bed turn down, courtesy umbrellas and orange slices in the water in the fitness centre, were a nice surprise! Above all, you can really not get a better location! I am not sure what could have made our first visit to the windy city any better! Next time I go back, I am staying there and I would not hesitate to recommend The James Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Tix - we were able to see Billy Elliott at 51% off the ticket price! It is a service that seems very underused compared to other destinations such as NYC or Las Vegas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 27, 2010

Great location, modern rooms-

The hotel was modern and had a hip feel though there was a mixture of young and old staying there. Restaurant/bar staff was excellent but they oversold their steak. We were not impressed with our steak dinner and probably should have gone to an old standby like Gibsons. Overall, very good hotel with an excellent location. Great getaway weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Michigan ave- no shortage of shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top