$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsbailey1980
Toledo Ohio
Mar 1, 2013

great getaway

Staff was wonderful and location is Prime!!! Nothing bad to say about The James. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garwood
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Gr8 wkend

only prob was rm not cleaned til 5 pm when we got back from shopping, otherwise nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twig
Business
Michigan
Sep 26, 2011

Somewhat overrated

We arrived at The James on a Friday morning and were let into our room upon our arrival. Check-in time was 2pm. The staff was very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room was clean and modern. However, the door to the bathroom was heavy and off of it's track. I asked to have it fixed, but unfortunately the maintenance people obviously could not fix it as it fell off the track as soon as we tried to open it again. Very cumbersome. The refridgerator was loaded with drinks, however, it was not on. I never bothered to ask to have it fixed, as I never used it. The extra amenities were nice, however, no pricing so we never used those either. The bathroom products were ok, but the substitutes for the Kiehl's products were not as nice. The turn down service started at 5:30 pm..what is that about? Told the staff to come back later...asked for ice earlier in the day, never received it. But did get some when they turned down the beds. The chauffeuring service was very nice! Eliminated getting a taxi all together..Overall, I think the hotel is in a great location, but not as nice as some of the lesser priced hotels that I have stayed in while I have been in Chicago. Sorry James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoscoeP
Business
Northern Michigan
Sep 25, 2011

The James And Burke's primehouse were onmy bucket list.

The trip didn't disappoint. The James was first class. The service was exceptional. The location is in the center of action. Restaurants, lounges and entertainment is with in walking distance. The primehouse was fabulous.The food great the service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much available, plan before you go to get the most out of your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dollar
Business
champaign illinos
Sep 24, 2011

mediocre

Disappointment considering the price. Rooms were small and sparce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dollar
Business
champaign illinos
Sep 24, 2011

mediocre

Disappointment considering the price. Rooms were small and sparce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great hotel -- cool vibe.

Extraordinarily nice staff, attention to detail, great location....staying at this hotel enhanced the trip to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Lovely hotel

I recently stayed two nights at the James Hotel Chicago, when in town for a meeting. The hotel is very well situated in the Near North Side area, only a block from Michigan Avenue. The location is great, w/ the Navy Pier, Olive Park, and other lakeside areas being a pleasant walk of about 20 minutes or so. And of course the famed Magnificent MIle if you want to shop, or just window shop and stroll, is right there. I enjoyed strolling the river walk en route to the Navy Pier/Olive Park area as a way to get some exercise on a wonderfully cool and pleasant August afternoon into early evening. That route allows for seeing plenty of pretty fountains, the boats on the river, and the peaceful, traffic and exhaust-fume-free walkways. Beyond the great location, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was, to a person, friendly, helpful, and solicitous of guests' needs. From the front desk to the housekeepers I encountered, everyone was great. The room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor. A little upholstered settee nook w/ a table was a nice use of space and provided a great place for a couple of room service meals. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were top quality, w/ a triple-sheeted bed and fluffy comforter. The bathroom was nicely appointed w/ extra-large towels and nice toiletries. I appreciated some "green" touches, such as large refillable bath toiletries in a wall rack in the shower. They provide a little note saying if you'd like individual small bottles, just ask. They provide an attractive large glass carafe of triple-filtered water, free of charge and refillable upon request, as an alternative to plastic water bottles--which so many hotels charge for these days. I liked that touch, as I prefer filtered water, but hate to use all those plastic bottles, especially when I'm not home to recycle them. The room was equipped w/ a wall-mounted, large-screen, flat LG TV which seemed a perfect distance from the bed for lazy viewing. The alarm clock is also an iPod port/player. The in-house restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse is pricey but terrific, with great food and even better service. I had what was probably the best steak I've ever had in the one meal I ate there.They also provide the room service, which I took advantage of for 2 breakfasts and a one dinner. Definitely a cut above most room service meals. All in all, the James has a luxury feel to it in terms of comfort, amenities, and service. It's not cheap, but I got a good deal. The level of luxury and service were definitely beyond what I'd usually get for that price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a brief respite from the city traffic and hustle and bustle, Olive Park and the adjacent city beach are wonderfully peaceful. It's nice to have a little restful patch of nature and a view of the lake, right on the edge of one of the busiest areas in town. The river walk is also lovely and makes for a nice evening's stroll down to the lake area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayo
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Great Staff

The James is a hip hotel with a modern look that I love which isnt standard hotel decor (which is always a bit cheesy). Nice location to the art museums & Rick Bayliss' restuarants, & short drive to Wicker Park & Pilsen, very helpful & polite staff, super clean, & the an amazingly comfy bed. Only off things were the toilet wasnt flushing & had to be fixed 2 times but quickly. Also there werent any Kiel products as mentioned online. My referring friend said I didnt need to bring too many toiletries as Kiel products were provided...not so. There were 2 products lotion & soap from an unknown brand & the rest was anchored to the wall. For the room price this was a little disappointing (& minor). But Id stay again & maybe try the cool orange bikes too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Xoco is Bayliss' newer restaurant Fabulous!! As are the others. Sure to be back!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romes
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great place for anniversary

The hotel was a great place for me and my wife for our 1st anniversary. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very good at taking care of you. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in downtown at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel had amazing food and an excellent staff! It can be on the pricy side of things, but the food was very well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qballers85
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Weekend In Chicago

The James was a great place in a great location, close to everything. Chic rooms and a friendly staff. Would def. staff at The James the next time i'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lawry's best Prime Rib I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top