$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dollar
Business
champaign illinos
Sep 24, 2011

mediocre

Disappointment considering the price. Rooms were small and sparce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great hotel -- cool vibe.

Extraordinarily nice staff, attention to detail, great location....staying at this hotel enhanced the trip to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Lovely hotel

I recently stayed two nights at the James Hotel Chicago, when in town for a meeting. The hotel is very well situated in the Near North Side area, only a block from Michigan Avenue. The location is great, w/ the Navy Pier, Olive Park, and other lakeside areas being a pleasant walk of about 20 minutes or so. And of course the famed Magnificent MIle if you want to shop, or just window shop and stroll, is right there. I enjoyed strolling the river walk en route to the Navy Pier/Olive Park area as a way to get some exercise on a wonderfully cool and pleasant August afternoon into early evening. That route allows for seeing plenty of pretty fountains, the boats on the river, and the peaceful, traffic and exhaust-fume-free walkways. Beyond the great location, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was, to a person, friendly, helpful, and solicitous of guests' needs. From the front desk to the housekeepers I encountered, everyone was great. The room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor. A little upholstered settee nook w/ a table was a nice use of space and provided a great place for a couple of room service meals. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were top quality, w/ a triple-sheeted bed and fluffy comforter. The bathroom was nicely appointed w/ extra-large towels and nice toiletries. I appreciated some "green" touches, such as large refillable bath toiletries in a wall rack in the shower. They provide a little note saying if you'd like individual small bottles, just ask. They provide an attractive large glass carafe of triple-filtered water, free of charge and refillable upon request, as an alternative to plastic water bottles--which so many hotels charge for these days. I liked that touch, as I prefer filtered water, but hate to use all those plastic bottles, especially when I'm not home to recycle them. The room was equipped w/ a wall-mounted, large-screen, flat LG TV which seemed a perfect distance from the bed for lazy viewing. The alarm clock is also an iPod port/player. The in-house restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse is pricey but terrific, with great food and even better service. I had what was probably the best steak I've ever had in the one meal I ate there.They also provide the room service, which I took advantage of for 2 breakfasts and a one dinner. Definitely a cut above most room service meals. All in all, the James has a luxury feel to it in terms of comfort, amenities, and service. It's not cheap, but I got a good deal. The level of luxury and service were definitely beyond what I'd usually get for that price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a brief respite from the city traffic and hustle and bustle, Olive Park and the adjacent city beach are wonderfully peaceful. It's nice to have a little restful patch of nature and a view of the lake, right on the edge of one of the busiest areas in town. The river walk is also lovely and makes for a nice evening's stroll down to the lake area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayo
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Great Staff

The James is a hip hotel with a modern look that I love which isnt standard hotel decor (which is always a bit cheesy). Nice location to the art museums & Rick Bayliss' restuarants, & short drive to Wicker Park & Pilsen, very helpful & polite staff, super clean, & the an amazingly comfy bed. Only off things were the toilet wasnt flushing & had to be fixed 2 times but quickly. Also there werent any Kiel products as mentioned online. My referring friend said I didnt need to bring too many toiletries as Kiel products were provided...not so. There were 2 products lotion & soap from an unknown brand & the rest was anchored to the wall. For the room price this was a little disappointing (& minor). But Id stay again & maybe try the cool orange bikes too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Xoco is Bayliss' newer restaurant Fabulous!! As are the others. Sure to be back!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romes
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great place for anniversary

The hotel was a great place for me and my wife for our 1st anniversary. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very good at taking care of you. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in downtown at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel had amazing food and an excellent staff! It can be on the pricy side of things, but the food was very well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qballers85
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Weekend In Chicago

The James was a great place in a great location, close to everything. Chic rooms and a friendly staff. Would def. staff at The James the next time i'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lawry's best Prime Rib I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linji - Twitter-atic & Digital 007
Business
Boston MA
Aug 2, 2011

The MoMA of Boutique Hotels

The James differentiated itself as a boutique hotel on a couple of key factors. The staff was friendly and well equip to help, the shower products were quality and eco-conscious, the interior of the room was impeccable with modern class and hospitality. They even had an awesome piece of conceptual art in the lobby one of suit cases stuffed with the contents of a shabby motel giving it a high coolness factor. I also really loved one key detail, checkout was a 2pm so no bum-rushing the service desk to get out. It's also a great location for tourists, close to shopping and Metro. The bed was the best night sleep I've had in weeks, down comforter and fluffy bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Quartino the Italian tapas place it was *amazing* you can also stop by Ghiridelli Chocolatier for some chocolate and ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 2, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a great location

This is a great hotel-resonably priced. The staff is courteous, attentive to details and very professional. The room was perfect! It was clean, comfortable, nicely appointed and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to several great restuarants and we were one block from Michigan Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meybs
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2011

Great time

We enjoyed the city as much as possible. Dinner, shopped around the different parts of Chicago, and attended the Green Music Fest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Publican

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.C.
Jun 1, 2011

Great Experience

Great hotel, excellent location, BEAUTIFUL flower arrangements in the lobby, bar and reception, modern, clean, just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top