$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new to biz travel
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2013

great stay

Lovely decor, inspiring art, comfy bed, excellent service, and the great price made it all even more enjoyable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geem65
New York
May 15, 2012

Great Downtown Hotel

Stayed at the James Hotel for 3 nights as an escape from New York. The location is excellent and most major sites are easily walkable. The Hotel itself is good value, my room was a reasonable size, well laid out and all the staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Great Bar downstairs that made the best (certainly strongest) Mojito's I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindz and Sierra
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great location

The staff were extremely helpful with the check in process and getting taxis to my daily destinations. Walking distance to shopping, dining and attractions, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ccampbell
Couples
Baltimore
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful!

We loved The James! It was perfectly located, clean, charming and inviting. The staff was friendly and efficient. The gym was great - clean and had everything we wanted. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant or hang out at the bar, but definitely will next time. We will absolutely stay here the next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathryne1James
Couples
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

AMAZING

We came into the city for a weekend get away. The hotel was AMAZING. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The only down fall was the bath tub was very uncomfortable and the water carafe was never refilled- ever after asking 3 times. We would stay there again in a heart beat! Great location. Even at 5 months pregnant, I walked every where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Chicago
Friends
LA
Feb 15, 2012

recommended

The hotel is very accessible to major Chicago must-sees. Free wi-fi and a designated office area are a plus. Staff is very pleasant. Only drawback is cost of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a block away from the Magnificent mile.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Social Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great Hotel

The room was very nice and had a lot of great little touches.. Would stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwmama
Friends
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

The James is always a safe bet

I have stayed here a few times before and love it. Close to Mich ave and easy to get to. Staff is always exceptionally friendly. Rooms are good size, decent but hot fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seychelle
Business
Dallas Tx
Nov 25, 2011

Best Boutique Hotel in Chicago

The rooms were surprisingly spacious, the staff was gracious and the amenities were great! Just one block off of Michigan Ave, you have a little more peace and quiet to sleep and can get catch the train, a cab or a walk quickly to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erbz
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Nice hotel, good location

I was mostly impressed with the James and would stay there again. With that said, the only aspects of the stay that made it less than perfect were the following: decor was VERY nice in the room, but the bathroom sink was cracked on one side and the bathroom door weighs approximately 800 lbs and is impossible to slide open and closed. The alarm clock is so bright you have to put it face down on the floor. These are really minor things and overall I enjoyed the hotel and the very helpful staff. Having complimentary water chilled and refilled at night was nice and the room fridge was helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sepia restaurant in the Near West area for a great dinner. It's a 5 min ride and the food is excellent. Way better than any chain restaurant downtown.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin O.
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great hotel, great location

This was our second time at the James Hotel and we enjoyed it even more than our first. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top