$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
River North Explorer Sue
Glen Ellyn, IL
Aug 22, 2013

Looking forward to staying again

We chose this hotel specifically for it's prime location - and figured a 4-star hotel would be adequate for a one night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our night out in the city - and the overnight at the hotel. My husband raved about it to our friends - and I'm sure we will be staying there again when the next opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
makeupyourownnickname
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 11, 2012

Great Time

The rooms at the hotel are great, even though we didn't dig into the well stocked and thoughtful minibar, we appreciated that it was well laid out with shakers and niceties to make a real cocktail rather than just a few tiny bottles of Jack Daniels. The hotel's restaurant and bar were fantastic and the hotel is conveniently located to get just about anywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the hotel brunch, it's fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StefidiNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Excellent hotel and location

The hotel is very lovely and I loved how chic it was. It is a block away from the famous Magnificent Mile. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND. On our last day, the hotel even provided us a free ride to the subway station, which connections to the train that takes us to the airport since our flight was late in the evening and we checked out at 2pm. My friend and I loved our experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Social Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great Hotel

The room was very nice and had a lot of great little touches.. Would stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwmama
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

The James is always a safe bet

I have stayed here a few times before and love it. Close to Mich ave and easy to get to. Staff is always exceptionally friendly. Rooms are good size, decent but hot fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seychelle
Business
Dallas Tx
Nov 25, 2011

Best Boutique Hotel in Chicago

The rooms were surprisingly spacious, the staff was gracious and the amenities were great! Just one block off of Michigan Ave, you have a little more peace and quiet to sleep and can get catch the train, a cab or a walk quickly to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erbz
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Nice hotel, good location

I was mostly impressed with the James and would stay there again. With that said, the only aspects of the stay that made it less than perfect were the following: decor was VERY nice in the room, but the bathroom sink was cracked on one side and the bathroom door weighs approximately 800 lbs and is impossible to slide open and closed. The alarm clock is so bright you have to put it face down on the floor. These are really minor things and overall I enjoyed the hotel and the very helpful staff. Having complimentary water chilled and refilled at night was nice and the room fridge was helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sepia restaurant in the Near West area for a great dinner. It's a 5 min ride and the food is excellent. Way better than any chain restaurant downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin O.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great hotel, great location

This was our second time at the James Hotel and we enjoyed it even more than our first. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garwood
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Gr8 wkend

only prob was rm not cleaned til 5 pm when we got back from shopping, otherwise nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twig
Business
Michigan
Sep 26, 2011

Somewhat overrated

We arrived at The James on a Friday morning and were let into our room upon our arrival. Check-in time was 2pm. The staff was very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room was clean and modern. However, the door to the bathroom was heavy and off of it's track. I asked to have it fixed, but unfortunately the maintenance people obviously could not fix it as it fell off the track as soon as we tried to open it again. Very cumbersome. The refridgerator was loaded with drinks, however, it was not on. I never bothered to ask to have it fixed, as I never used it. The extra amenities were nice, however, no pricing so we never used those either. The bathroom products were ok, but the substitutes for the Kiehl's products were not as nice. The turn down service started at 5:30 pm..what is that about? Told the staff to come back later...asked for ice earlier in the day, never received it. But did get some when they turned down the beds. The chauffeuring service was very nice! Eliminated getting a taxi all together..Overall, I think the hotel is in a great location, but not as nice as some of the lesser priced hotels that I have stayed in while I have been in Chicago. Sorry James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoscoeP
Business
Northern Michigan
Sep 25, 2011

The James And Burke's primehouse were onmy bucket list.

The trip didn't disappoint. The James was first class. The service was exceptional. The location is in the center of action. Restaurants, lounges and entertainment is with in walking distance. The primehouse was fabulous.The food great the service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much available, plan before you go to get the most out of your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top