$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ccampbell
Business
Baltimore
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful!

We loved The James! It was perfectly located, clean, charming and inviting. The staff was friendly and efficient. The gym was great - clean and had everything we wanted. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant or hang out at the bar, but definitely will next time. We will absolutely stay here the next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathryne1James
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

AMAZING

We came into the city for a weekend get away. The hotel was AMAZING. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The only down fall was the bath tub was very uncomfortable and the water carafe was never refilled- ever after asking 3 times. We would stay there again in a heart beat! Great location. Even at 5 months pregnant, I walked every where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Chicago
Business
LA
Feb 15, 2012

recommended

The hotel is very accessible to major Chicago must-sees. Free wi-fi and a designated office area are a plus. Staff is very pleasant. Only drawback is cost of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a block away from the Magnificent mile.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Social Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great Hotel

The room was very nice and had a lot of great little touches.. Would stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwmama
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

The James is always a safe bet

I have stayed here a few times before and love it. Close to Mich ave and easy to get to. Staff is always exceptionally friendly. Rooms are good size, decent but hot fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seychelle
Business
Dallas Tx
Nov 25, 2011

Best Boutique Hotel in Chicago

The rooms were surprisingly spacious, the staff was gracious and the amenities were great! Just one block off of Michigan Ave, you have a little more peace and quiet to sleep and can get catch the train, a cab or a walk quickly to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erbz
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Nice hotel, good location

I was mostly impressed with the James and would stay there again. With that said, the only aspects of the stay that made it less than perfect were the following: decor was VERY nice in the room, but the bathroom sink was cracked on one side and the bathroom door weighs approximately 800 lbs and is impossible to slide open and closed. The alarm clock is so bright you have to put it face down on the floor. These are really minor things and overall I enjoyed the hotel and the very helpful staff. Having complimentary water chilled and refilled at night was nice and the room fridge was helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sepia restaurant in the Near West area for a great dinner. It's a 5 min ride and the food is excellent. Way better than any chain restaurant downtown.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin O.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great hotel, great location

This was our second time at the James Hotel and we enjoyed it even more than our first. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garwood
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Gr8 wkend

only prob was rm not cleaned til 5 pm when we got back from shopping, otherwise nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twig
Business
Michigan
Sep 26, 2011

Somewhat overrated

We arrived at The James on a Friday morning and were let into our room upon our arrival. Check-in time was 2pm. The staff was very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room was clean and modern. However, the door to the bathroom was heavy and off of it's track. I asked to have it fixed, but unfortunately the maintenance people obviously could not fix it as it fell off the track as soon as we tried to open it again. Very cumbersome. The refridgerator was loaded with drinks, however, it was not on. I never bothered to ask to have it fixed, as I never used it. The extra amenities were nice, however, no pricing so we never used those either. The bathroom products were ok, but the substitutes for the Kiehl's products were not as nice. The turn down service started at 5:30 pm..what is that about? Told the staff to come back later...asked for ice earlier in the day, never received it. But did get some when they turned down the beds. The chauffeuring service was very nice! Eliminated getting a taxi all together..Overall, I think the hotel is in a great location, but not as nice as some of the lesser priced hotels that I have stayed in while I have been in Chicago. Sorry James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top