$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
212 reviews
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very... See full review

  • ava76
  • Sep 10, 2013
Boutique chic luxury in the heart of River North
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8932 -87.6301
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 14.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 Plasma TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 flat screen TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Bacon Bar
Chef David Burke brings his signature style to Burkes Bacon Bar with a selection of bacon-inspired palm-sized sandwiches dubbed handwiches as well as sides salads and sweets.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garwood
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Gr8 wkend

only prob was rm not cleaned til 5 pm when we got back from shopping, otherwise nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twig
Michigan
Sep 26, 2011

Somewhat overrated

We arrived at The James on a Friday morning and were let into our room upon our arrival. Check-in time was 2pm. The staff was very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room was clean and modern. However, the door to the bathroom was heavy and off of it's track. I asked to have it fixed, but unfortunately the maintenance people obviously could not fix it as it fell off the track as soon as we tried to open it again. Very cumbersome. The refridgerator was loaded with drinks, however, it was not on. I never bothered to ask to have it fixed, as I never used it. The extra amenities were nice, however, no pricing so we never used those either. The bathroom products were ok, but the substitutes for the Kiehl's products were not as nice. The turn down service started at 5:30 pm..what is that about? Told the staff to come back later...asked for ice earlier in the day, never received it. But did get some when they turned down the beds. The chauffeuring service was very nice! Eliminated getting a taxi all together..Overall, I think the hotel is in a great location, but not as nice as some of the lesser priced hotels that I have stayed in while I have been in Chicago. Sorry James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twig
Michigan
Sep 26, 2011

Somewhat overrated

We arrived at The James on a Friday morning and were let into our room upon our arrival. Check-in time was 2pm. The staff was very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room was clean and modern. However, the door to the bathroom was heavy and off of it's track. I asked to have it fixed, but unfortunately the maintenance people obviously could not fix it as it fell off the track as soon as we tried to open it again. Very cumbersome. The refridgerator was loaded with drinks, however, it was not on. I never bothered to ask to have it fixed, as I never used it. The extra amenities were nice, however, no pricing so we never used those either. The bathroom products were ok, but the substitutes for the Kiehl's products were not as nice. The turn down service started at 5:30 pm..what is that about? Told the staff to come back later...asked for ice earlier in the day, never received it. But did get some when they turned down the beds. The chauffeuring service was very nice! Eliminated getting a taxi all together..Overall, I think the hotel is in a great location, but not as nice as some of the lesser priced hotels that I have stayed in while I have been in Chicago. Sorry James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoscoeP
Northern Michigan
Sep 25, 2011

The James And Burke's primehouse were onmy bucket list.

The trip didn't disappoint. The James was first class. The service was exceptional. The location is in the center of action. Restaurants, lounges and entertainment is with in walking distance. The primehouse was fabulous.The food great the service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much available, plan before you go to get the most out of your trip.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoscoeP
Northern Michigan
Sep 25, 2011

The James And Burke's primehouse were onmy bucket list.

The trip didn't disappoint. The James was first class. The service was exceptional. The location is in the center of action. Restaurants, lounges and entertainment is with in walking distance. The primehouse was fabulous.The food great the service was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is so much available, plan before you go to get the most out of your trip.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dollar
champaign illinos
Sep 24, 2011

mediocre

Disappointment considering the price. Rooms were small and sparce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow
New Jersey, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great hotel -- cool vibe.

Extraordinarily nice staff, attention to detail, great location....staying at this hotel enhanced the trip to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yellow
New Jersey, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Great hotel -- cool vibe.

Extraordinarily nice staff, attention to detail, great location....staying at this hotel enhanced the trip to Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Lovely hotel

I recently stayed two nights at the James Hotel Chicago, when in town for a meeting. The hotel is very well situated in the Near North Side area, only a block from Michigan Avenue. The location is great, w/ the Navy Pier, Olive Park, and other lakeside areas being a pleasant walk of about 20 minutes or so. And of course the famed Magnificent MIle if you want to shop, or just window shop and stroll, is right there. I enjoyed strolling the river walk en route to the Navy Pier/Olive Park area as a way to get some exercise on a wonderfully cool and pleasant August afternoon into early evening. That route allows for seeing plenty of pretty fountains, the boats on the river, and the peaceful, traffic and exhaust-fume-free walkways. Beyond the great location, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was, to a person, friendly, helpful, and solicitous of guests' needs. From the front desk to the housekeepers I encountered, everyone was great. The room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor. A little upholstered settee nook w/ a table was a nice use of space and provided a great place for a couple of room service meals. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were top quality, w/ a triple-sheeted bed and fluffy comforter. The bathroom was nicely appointed w/ extra-large towels and nice toiletries. I appreciated some "green" touches, such as large refillable bath toiletries in a wall rack in the shower. They provide a little note saying if you'd like individual small bottles, just ask. They provide an attractive large glass carafe of triple-filtered water, free of charge and refillable upon request, as an alternative to plastic water bottles--which so many hotels charge for these days. I liked that touch, as I prefer filtered water, but hate to use all those plastic bottles, especially when I'm not home to recycle them. The room was equipped w/ a wall-mounted, large-screen, flat LG TV which seemed a perfect distance from the bed for lazy viewing. The alarm clock is also an iPod port/player. The in-house restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse is pricey but terrific, with great food and even better service. I had what was probably the best steak I've ever had in the one meal I ate there.They also provide the room service, which I took advantage of for 2 breakfasts and a one dinner. Definitely a cut above most room service meals. All in all, the James has a luxury feel to it in terms of comfort, amenities, and service. It's not cheap, but I got a good deal. The level of luxury and service were definitely beyond what I'd usually get for that price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a brief respite from the city traffic and hustle and bustle, Olive Park and the adjacent city beach are wonderfully peaceful. It's nice to have a little restful patch of nature and a view of the lake, right on the edge of one of the busiest areas in town. The river walk is also lovely and makes for a nice evening's stroll down to the lake area.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ckb127
Business
Lawrence, KS, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Lovely hotel

I recently stayed two nights at the James Hotel Chicago, when in town for a meeting. The hotel is very well situated in the Near North Side area, only a block from Michigan Avenue. The location is great, w/ the Navy Pier, Olive Park, and other lakeside areas being a pleasant walk of about 20 minutes or so. And of course the famed Magnificent MIle if you want to shop, or just window shop and stroll, is right there. I enjoyed strolling the river walk en route to the Navy Pier/Olive Park area as a way to get some exercise on a wonderfully cool and pleasant August afternoon into early evening. That route allows for seeing plenty of pretty fountains, the boats on the river, and the peaceful, traffic and exhaust-fume-free walkways. Beyond the great location, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was, to a person, friendly, helpful, and solicitous of guests' needs. From the front desk to the housekeepers I encountered, everyone was great. The room was nicely appointed with contemporary decor. A little upholstered settee nook w/ a table was a nice use of space and provided a great place for a couple of room service meals. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were top quality, w/ a triple-sheeted bed and fluffy comforter. The bathroom was nicely appointed w/ extra-large towels and nice toiletries. I appreciated some "green" touches, such as large refillable bath toiletries in a wall rack in the shower. They provide a little note saying if you'd like individual small bottles, just ask. They provide an attractive large glass carafe of triple-filtered water, free of charge and refillable upon request, as an alternative to plastic water bottles--which so many hotels charge for these days. I liked that touch, as I prefer filtered water, but hate to use all those plastic bottles, especially when I'm not home to recycle them. The room was equipped w/ a wall-mounted, large-screen, flat LG TV which seemed a perfect distance from the bed for lazy viewing. The alarm clock is also an iPod port/player. The in-house restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse is pricey but terrific, with great food and even better service. I had what was probably the best steak I've ever had in the one meal I ate there.They also provide the room service, which I took advantage of for 2 breakfasts and a one dinner. Definitely a cut above most room service meals. All in all, the James has a luxury feel to it in terms of comfort, amenities, and service. It's not cheap, but I got a good deal. The level of luxury and service were definitely beyond what I'd usually get for that price. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a brief respite from the city traffic and hustle and bustle, Olive Park and the adjacent city beach are wonderfully peaceful. It's nice to have a little restful patch of nature and a view of the lake, right on the edge of one of the busiest areas in town. The river walk is also lovely and makes for a nice evening's stroll down to the lake area.

Back to menu Return to top