$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky Lady 31
Business
Knoxville,TN
Nov 20, 2012

Great Stay

Had a wonderful weekend at The James. Very comfortable and clean.My main complaint is that there aren't views of the city from the rooms.It is only 17 stories high and in the middle of the city so your view is of walls, streets, and the backs of other buildings.Besides this, the bed was wonderful and my visit relaxing. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to tons of shopping and wonderful places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dani.J
Business
Toronoto, ON
Nov 17, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

The James provided us with the perfect place to call home for a weekend. The staff was so friendly and helpful and didnt miss a thing. The room was beyond comfortable, the bed was cozy, the duvet you wanted to wrap yourself into and the bathroom amenities made you feel like you were at a spa. The hotel was the perfect location - close to the shopping, restaurants and bars. The concierge is very helpful and made dinner arrangements for us. I'm looking forward to going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations everywhere you go. When you go for deep dish pizza, order in advance. We went to Giordanos, were told we had a 45 min wait but then found out we could have ordered our pizza and had it ready when the table was available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhjh
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 5, 2012

The James

Really a nice hotel. I've stayed at a number of hotels in the area and for quiet, comfort, and accessibility, the James is truly one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike from AH
Business
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect Stay

The staff was exemplary from the gentlemen at the door to the room service staff. Everyone made sure our stay was perfect and we were well attended to. The location is fantastic and the food from David Burke's Primehouse for room service was amazing. The James is the true benchmark of a boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to avoid the expected, but severe up-charge on liquor in the room, take a short walk west to Trader Joe's and pick up some good quality wine at wholesale prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WindyCityHoosier
Business
Elmhurst, IL, USA
Sep 4, 2012

The James is Fantastic

I wish we could have stayed longer but unfortunately our budget would not allow. The rooms (although not huge) are lovely. Ours had a little cubby with a table, bench and lamp in addition to the bed, chair, dresser, TV, etc. you'd expect in a typical room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the A/C - we couldn't figure out how to keep it at a normal temperature. We set it to 72 and "auto" and went to dinner. It was REALLY hot when we got back so we turned it down. Of course we woke up freezing. All in all if only it were a little less expensive it would have been absolutely perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Trader Joe's across the street for wine and snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Gen
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 3, 2012

Disappointing Digs

I stayed at the James hotel 9/1-9/2/12 for my best friend's bachelorette party. Our party of 7 ladies had two rooms and upon arrival at 1:30 pm neither room was ready (we were early for the 2pm check in time) we shopped and were assured we would recieve a call when the rooms were ready, they loaded all of our luggage on a cart and tagged it all to be delivered when we had a room. At 3pm we still had not recieved a call and went to check at the front desk, I was told that both rooms were still dirty and we would need to continue waiting. I was also rudely told by the front desk woman that they had 3 weddings and over 100 check ins that day and I was holding up the line of people checking in. Aroud 4pm one room was ready and our luggage was delivered there, but without one girls bags. Her and I went down to the desk and they showed us a storage room where we could search for her bag. At 5:30 pm our second room was finally ready and upon entering we encountered cleaning products left in the room and a shower that wasn't draining. I called the front desk and they told me to just leave the cleaning products in the hallway and someone would retrieve them. As we were all getting ready to go out one girl went to dry her hair and our room hair dryer was broken. I again called the front desk and was told they would bring a new one. We stayed at the hotel until 7pm and had to leave for dinner, still no hair dryer. I was very upset by the stay at the James, when you are paying a comparable rate to the Talbott and Four Seasons, you expect a certain level of professionalism and customer service. I could not believe that we didn't get anything for our wait for both rooms! I've stayed at Palomar in the past and had to wait 45 minutes for a room and was given a bottle of wine and a chocolate selection. I would not return to the James on my next Chicago trip and would not recommend it to others visiting the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sorry charlie
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2012

very good, I liked it.

The water by the check in/out country is a nice touch. The free bottle of water by the bed was most welcomed and unexpected. Well done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geem65
Business
New York
May 15, 2012

Great Downtown Hotel

Stayed at the James Hotel for 3 nights as an escape from New York. The location is excellent and most major sites are easily walkable. The Hotel itself is good value, my room was a reasonable size, well laid out and all the staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Great Bar downstairs that made the best (certainly strongest) Mojito's I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindz and Sierra
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great location

The staff were extremely helpful with the check in process and getting taxis to my daily destinations. Walking distance to shopping, dining and attractions, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ccampbell
Business
Baltimore
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful!

We loved The James! It was perfectly located, clean, charming and inviting. The staff was friendly and efficient. The gym was great - clean and had everything we wanted. We didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant or hang out at the bar, but definitely will next time. We will absolutely stay here the next time we are in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top