$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ava76
Couples
morelia mich
Sep 10, 2013

Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very helpful and polite, good restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke Primehouse

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new to biz travel
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2013

great stay

Lovely decor, inspiring art, comfy bed, excellent service, and the great price made it all even more enjoyable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
River North Explorer Sue
Couples
Glen Ellyn, IL
Aug 22, 2013

Looking forward to staying again

We chose this hotel specifically for it's prime location - and figured a 4-star hotel would be adequate for a one night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our night out in the city - and the overnight at the hotel. My husband raved about it to our friends - and I'm sure we will be staying there again when the next opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ultrahviolet
Family
brooklyn, ny
Aug 5, 2013

expensive luxury

great location, extremely clean, and it really feels luxurious. i don't think it's a great value, though, and after accidentally reserving for the wrong day, i felt the staff could have been more helpful. i understand it wasn't their fault that i'd booked my room for the wrong day, but they could have been more understanding/empathetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat pizza at the close-by uno or duo. they're chains and pretty crummy.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bolter
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2013

Great Hotel - recommended

Rate was good (YMMV of course); location was good for me - close to all the good downtown eateries, stores, parks, etc (YMMV again). Staff very courteous, room was a nice size - not too big, not too small (I had a double double bed layout). Lighting was great - I loved the lights over the beds on a dimmer. Major quirk - my room was 1207 (12th floor) - I stayed June 12-14; this room overlooks Rush street - Definitely can hear a lot of car/truck honking and truck engines. Minor quirk - Banquet style sofa had multiple stains, the dimmer switch between the beds was missing its cap for the dimmer slider -dimmer still works, just have to move the slider with no easy to grasp cap (this is very minor). Design of the room was trendy and nice. Attached restaurant is nice and good food. Free first come first serve car service in the morning for drop off - no pick up from your destination though. Nice fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
76wildbill
Business
Indianapolis
Jun 6, 2013

Great Experience-Value, Service, Location!

I enjoyed my stay at the James very much! The rooms are not huge, but they are designed in a unique and thoughtful manner. The essentials were VERY GOOD - the bed was very comfortable (and I'm quite picky) and the shower had excellent water volume and thrust and very nice, eco conscious toiletries. I had the basic room, and it was just fine. Closet and room size may be a little small if you're staying a week, but for a few days or so, no prob! Staff was very friendly and helpful, and easy to access. Like anyplace downtown, parking is criminally high, but if you use Spothero, there's excellent parking just 2 blocks away. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Spothero parking 2 blocks away - $21

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Macalester
Single
Palo Alto, CA.
May 4, 2013

Perfect for a "senior" traveling alone

The salient aspect of my experience at the James in Chicago is the quality of people who greeted and advised me each day. I also am encouraged by hotels that do their best to consider using non-disposable bathroom amenities, and saving linens. Bravo to the James!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Union Sushi and Barbeque Bar

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsbailey1980
Couples
Toledo Ohio
Mar 1, 2013

great getaway

Staff was wonderful and location is Prime!!! Nothing bad to say about The James. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JZ78
Couples
Chicago, IL
Feb 19, 2013

Good Value for Downtown Chicago

Although still pricey, compared to other similar hotels in Downtown Chicago, The James is a good value for your money. The rooms are decent sized, clean, and the staff is very efficient. The toiletries are also amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Starbucks across the street. Use public transit if possible.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ori Staycationer
Couples
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Feb 6, 2013

Trendy and Comfortable

This was our first stay at the James Hotel. Our stay was very comfortable. We leveraged the valet parking service provided, and while a bit expensive was very convenient. The staff at the front desk was very helpful whenever we had questions or needed assistance. The hotel was within walking distance of numerous good restaurants and we were able to discover a few nice places to eat at in the River North neighborhood during our stay. The decor was very trendy, modern, and comfortable. I felt right at home with the style of the hotel and enjoyed much of the photography displayed in the lobby and in the rooms. I didn't get a chance to eat at the Primehouse restaurant located downstairs (which also provides the room service), despite recommendations by friends. I look forward to checking it out on future visits though. I would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

At at Carnivale in the West Loop. Great atmosphere and great food.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top