$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bolter
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 15, 2013

Great Hotel - recommended

Rate was good (YMMV of course); location was good for me - close to all the good downtown eateries, stores, parks, etc (YMMV again). Staff very courteous, room was a nice size - not too big, not too small (I had a double double bed layout). Lighting was great - I loved the lights over the beds on a dimmer. Major quirk - my room was 1207 (12th floor) - I stayed June 12-14; this room overlooks Rush street - Definitely can hear a lot of car/truck honking and truck engines. Minor quirk - Banquet style sofa had multiple stains, the dimmer switch between the beds was missing its cap for the dimmer slider -dimmer still works, just have to move the slider with no easy to grasp cap (this is very minor). Design of the room was trendy and nice. Attached restaurant is nice and good food. Free first come first serve car service in the morning for drop off - no pick up from your destination though. Nice fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
76wildbill
Business
Indianapolis
Jun 6, 2013

Great Experience-Value, Service, Location!

I enjoyed my stay at the James very much! The rooms are not huge, but they are designed in a unique and thoughtful manner. The essentials were VERY GOOD - the bed was very comfortable (and I'm quite picky) and the shower had excellent water volume and thrust and very nice, eco conscious toiletries. I had the basic room, and it was just fine. Closet and room size may be a little small if you're staying a week, but for a few days or so, no prob! Staff was very friendly and helpful, and easy to access. Like anyplace downtown, parking is criminally high, but if you use Spothero, there's excellent parking just 2 blocks away. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Spothero parking 2 blocks away - $21

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Macalester
Business
Palo Alto, CA.
May 4, 2013

Perfect for a "senior" traveling alone

The salient aspect of my experience at the James in Chicago is the quality of people who greeted and advised me each day. I also am encouraged by hotels that do their best to consider using non-disposable bathroom amenities, and saving linens. Bravo to the James!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Union Sushi and Barbeque Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsbailey1980
Business
Toledo Ohio
Mar 1, 2013

great getaway

Staff was wonderful and location is Prime!!! Nothing bad to say about The James. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JZ78
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 19, 2013

Good Value for Downtown Chicago

Although still pricey, compared to other similar hotels in Downtown Chicago, The James is a good value for your money. The rooms are decent sized, clean, and the staff is very efficient. The toiletries are also amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Starbucks across the street. Use public transit if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ori Staycationer
Business
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Feb 6, 2013

Trendy and Comfortable

This was our first stay at the James Hotel. Our stay was very comfortable. We leveraged the valet parking service provided, and while a bit expensive was very convenient. The staff at the front desk was very helpful whenever we had questions or needed assistance. The hotel was within walking distance of numerous good restaurants and we were able to discover a few nice places to eat at in the River North neighborhood during our stay. The decor was very trendy, modern, and comfortable. I felt right at home with the style of the hotel and enjoyed much of the photography displayed in the lobby and in the rooms. I didn't get a chance to eat at the Primehouse restaurant located downstairs (which also provides the room service), despite recommendations by friends. I look forward to checking it out on future visits though. I would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

At at Carnivale in the West Loop. Great atmosphere and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain e
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Dec 28, 2012

Great location, small rooms

The james hotel in Chicago has the prime location, but room size was a bit snug. The bathroom was very small didn't have a counter area to put medicine kit even. The staff was friendly, lobby was nice. Very nice gym. This is a hotel that if you can get under $189 is a good value. Not a $200 plus a night room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Between having the hotel restaurant which is great, there are numerous places to eat within a half mile. There is Michigan avenue within a few blocks as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernComfort
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 9, 2012

Very Nice Boutique Hotel

I upgraded to the an Apartment King and it was totally worth it. The separate living area had everything you could need, and then some. The breakfast nook doubled great as a desk. The bathroom was a great use of space, especially with the pocket door and the window in the shower was very novel. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duece
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 25, 2012

Thanksgiving

Hotel was very nice. Room was on the small side, but overall comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top