$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biz traveler from chicago
chicago
Oct 28, 2013

Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect location in Chicago and the steak restaurant in the hotel is excellent - best steaks in Chicago! Room is slightly small but very happy with the rate and the overall pleasant stay. Would definitely suggest to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke steak house in hotel is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean's Travels
Business
Houma, Louisiana
Aug 14, 2014

Brief but great stay

I stayed at the James Hotel Aug 6-8. The hotel was able to provide an early check in with 15 minutes of my arrival. The hotel is of the minimal persuasion, but that is of my liking. My room was on the 8th floor away from the elevators. I was able to sleep restfully each evening. Complimentary newspapers (Wall Street Journal, USA Today and Chicago Tribune) were available each day. The Steakhouse is on the expensive side within the restaurant, but the location is outstanding being one block off of the Magnificent Mile. Complementary rides within the CBD are available through the front desk. Bicycles are available to use as we'll complementary. Water (triple filtered) is available in your room (also complementary). I was pleased the hotel as a 2:00 pm check out, yes 2:00 pm! This was greet to wrap up a noon conference then return to the hotel to check off. The front desk was very helpful. Taxis ready if you need them. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Magnificent Mile is only a block away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steve6290
Business
milwaukee, WI
Mar 7, 2014

good, not great

Excellent location and good value, but not great. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly is a block away!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 30, 2013

The James

Very nice comfortable hotel with a very friendly and accomodating staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jazzless
Business
detroit
Nov 6, 2013

Good times

Everything is good about the James, I've stayed there before and would rec it to others, however the one bad spot we had was a reception---with a super loud band---I could hear the singing of lyrics like it was in my room. Other than that, it was fine. Check with front desk if they are having a wedding reception before you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use the wet bar, full bar across the street at Trader Joe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanaanna
Business
Chicago
Nov 1, 2013

The James Hotel Chicago

Enjoyed our stay tremendously. Staff was great and room was very relaxing (although rooms can be noisy depending where it's located in the hotel. But that's the price you pay for being in the center of it all. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biz traveler from chicago
Business
chicago
Oct 28, 2013

Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect location in Chicago and the steak restaurant in the hotel is excellent - best steaks in Chicago! Room is slightly small but very happy with the rate and the overall pleasant stay. Would definitely suggest to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke steak house in hotel is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ava76
Business
morelia mich
Sep 10, 2013

Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very helpful and polite, good restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke Primehouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new to biz travel
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 31, 2013

great stay

Lovely decor, inspiring art, comfy bed, excellent service, and the great price made it all even more enjoyable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
River North Explorer Sue
Business
Glen Ellyn, IL
Aug 22, 2013

Looking forward to staying again

We chose this hotel specifically for it's prime location - and figured a 4-star hotel would be adequate for a one night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our night out in the city - and the overnight at the hotel. My husband raved about it to our friends - and I'm sure we will be staying there again when the next opportunity arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ultrahviolet
Business
brooklyn, ny
Aug 5, 2013

expensive luxury

great location, extremely clean, and it really feels luxurious. i don't think it's a great value, though, and after accidentally reserving for the wrong day, i felt the staff could have been more helpful. i understand it wasn't their fault that i'd booked my room for the wrong day, but they could have been more understanding/empathetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat pizza at the close-by uno or duo. they're chains and pretty crummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top