$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ava76
morelia mich
Sep 10, 2013

Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very helpful and polite, good restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

David Burke Primehouse

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeTravels
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 18, 2009

Great Location

Nice hotel but very small. The pictures on the site made it look much bigger. It also was not a stylish in person as it was in the pictures. Good location and friendly staff, but it left me wanting more. Ambiance was lacking. Doubt I will try it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeTravels
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 18, 2009

Great Location

Nice hotel but very small. The pictures on the site made it look much bigger. It also was not a stylish in person as it was in the pictures. Good location and friendly staff, but it left me wanting more. Ambiance was lacking. Doubt I will try it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moon Buster
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 30, 2009

Easy for the First Timers to Chicago.

Everything was great about this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful to first timers to Chicago. The location is great because not only is it central in downtown to walk to your destinations/train/bus/taxi, but there is a Trader Joes and Starbucks right across the street for all your snacks/pick me ups. Internet room has Mac and PC which was nice. The beds were super comfortable King Sized monsters. Lighting in the room has many options. Nice carpet, not gross at all super clean. Bathroom stocked with Keihls products and organic face soaps. Bring your own toothpaste though! Negative things were that the toilet in the bathroom was constantly running. I dont know how to explain this but every 5 minutes you could hear water drain out of the toilet and back in again. We thought we could deal with it but when you come home from a long night, it can bother you. This might have been a isolated incident only to our room though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alinea! Avec!

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2009

Fabulous Hotel! One of my favorites!

This was my second visit to the James Hotel, stayed for three nights and once again had a fantastic time! This hotel is so nice and the staff is great, especially the doorman. Only slight inconvenience is that sometimes the front desk staff is very busy on the phone and you often times have to wait to be helped. This is my second favorite hotel in downtown Chicago and I will definitely be back! 5 stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a CTA Visitor pass and take the bus or trains as much as you want for one set price. You'll instantly get your money's worth and the transit system in Chicago is fast and easy.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte
May 22, 2009

Great hotel

One of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. The staff was more than helpful. I would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Tx.
May 14, 2009

great hotel

We were there for a wedding and really loved the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wedding hopper :)
Business
Dallas TX
May 4, 2009

Great Location!

All in all a nice hotel. I probably could have found something better for the price, especially seeing that it was a room with two fulls, I asked for a king. ALso I was charged a total of $60 for mini bar items that I never used and it took a week to get someone to fix it. Besides those two it was a nice hotel (especially if you find a deal). GReat Location and the men at the Front door were probably the nicest hotel staff I have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT go to the Bar attached to the hotel It was a horrible experience. You're in Chicago!!! There are much better places to go.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Hoffman
Business
Kansas City, Kansas
Apr 22, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

The hotel experience was very shiek according to my 20 yr old daughter. I liked the location and the service. Everyone was extremely helpful and courteous. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to subway.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vienna, virginia
Apr 22, 2009

great spot

sightseeing, musical, Navy Pier, Etrain, dinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, ny
Apr 22, 2009

Luxury right off Michigan Avenue

I was in Chicago on business and this hotel was perfect - 1 block off Michigan Ave, close to a variety of high-end and family restaurants. The room was roomy, with excellent linens, and a small, but comfortable bath. The decor is modern, free internet in the lobby. I've stayed in Chicago a lot, and this is one of my favorite places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top