$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsbailey1980
Toledo Ohio
Mar 1, 2013

great getaway

Staff was wonderful and location is Prime!!! Nothing bad to say about The James. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bountiful
Aug 20, 2008

GREAT LOCATION

The James is located right in the heart of town and accessible to buses, tours, etc. The room was larger than what I had expected and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Magnificent Mile which is loaded with a variety of shopping.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester, MA
Aug 4, 2008

Great Location

Awesome location. Beautiful Hotel. Helpful staff. Bed and pillows were sooooo comfortable. the only bad thing was they checked us in over an hour and a half late. But they gave us four drink coupons to make up for it. Would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is right in the heart of shopping

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaylord, MI
Aug 3, 2008

Very comfortable

The bed at The James was extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very helpful. The James has a spa menu, but it does not have a full spa. There are 3 treatment rooms somewhere in the fitness center. This is not the type of spa experience that I would enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is right in the middle of everything...shopping on Michigan Avenue, great restaurants, and even the train to Wrigley Field is just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springhill, LA
Jul 12, 2008

Attentive staff; great location

Located right off the Magnificent Mile (and across the street from Trader Joe's!!), we were very happy with our stay at the James. My husband rates hotels by their fitness facilities and he touts this one as the best hotel weight room he has seen. The room was spacious and very clean and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fitness room is busy in the morning. Close to city bus and subway.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 4, 2008

Great Contemporary Hotel!

Excellent service, great decoration, wonderful atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean and had a good view. I was very satisfied. Don't miss breakfast at the hotel restaurant, it is extraordinary!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar next door is neat!

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location for visiting the city.

Met in Chicago for a girls' weekend. This hotel was a perfect choice for location. The staff was extremely helpful in getting dinner reservations and providing information on and bookings for things to do around the city. The only drawback is that the hotel is about 7 blocks from an El stop. However, there are cabs and a free trolley down Michigan Ave, so we had no problems during our visit with transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

A Fun Weekend in Chicago

The was the best hotel we have ever stayed in Chicago!!! A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clifton
Jun 29, 2008

Very Cool Chic Atmosphere

We were greeted with and ice cold glass of water with lemon when my daughter mentioned that she was thirsty. All questions were adequately answered. The location was excellent and the staff very friendly. I enjoyed the moder design of the room especially and had a very New York type atmosphere.It was also a great people-watching lobby with very cool music subtley playing at all times putting one in a vacation mood mode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of foods were represented in the area including a Trader Joes for little odds and ends, snacks and drinks.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mentor
Jun 22, 2008

Fabulous Location, GREAT STAFF!

The Staff at the James Hotel was SUPURB!!! They treated us like we were the only people staying there. Whenever we called down to the front desk they immediately responded. The y were the friendliest hotel staff I have ever dealt with. The room was great. we stayed in a loft and there was a great media center in it. you are right there on Michigan avenue. The staff had great recommendations for dinner and gave us VIP passes for night life. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL and will stay there the next time I go to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is nearby you are right in the heart of downtown chicago...a short walk to anything, and the el station is around the block.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 15, 2008

Great Location

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was awesome! If you want to take your car in and out during the day, the best bet is to valet park. For the extra $10 / day it is totally worth it. Otherwise you park in a public lot that is about a 5 minute walk away... not fun if you have luggage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to the Pier is not that far.... Go to the Hancock Building. You can eat and drink for a great price at the restaurant on the 96th floor. Better than taking the tour there. The boat tour of the buildings is a great option as well. Not for kids though....

Back to menu Return to top