$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon
Oct 17, 2008

Overall a great experience

Great work out facilities. The only negative surprise -the man at the front desk did not know the opening time for most stores on Michigan Ave. He suggested it was about 9:00 AM. We now know it't 10:00 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping on the Magnificant Mile.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
North Providence
Aug 21, 2008

Very nice boutique hotel

The James was in an excellent location, within walking distance to many attractions/restaurants, and close to public transportation. The concierge staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and always willing to help. Clean up and turn down service. Very nice rooms, stocked bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is right off Michigan Ave, The Magificent Mile, and not too far from Navy Pier and Lake Michigan.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Bountiful
Aug 20, 2008

GREAT LOCATION

The James is located right in the heart of town and accessible to buses, tours, etc. The room was larger than what I had expected and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Magnificent Mile which is loaded with a variety of shopping.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Worcester, MA
Aug 4, 2008

Great Location

Awesome location. Beautiful Hotel. Helpful staff. Bed and pillows were sooooo comfortable. the only bad thing was they checked us in over an hour and a half late. But they gave us four drink coupons to make up for it. Would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is right in the heart of shopping

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gaylord, MI
Aug 3, 2008

Very comfortable

The bed at The James was extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very helpful. The James has a spa menu, but it does not have a full spa. There are 3 treatment rooms somewhere in the fitness center. This is not the type of spa experience that I would enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is right in the middle of everything...shopping on Michigan Avenue, great restaurants, and even the train to Wrigley Field is just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Springhill, LA
Jul 12, 2008

Attentive staff; great location

Located right off the Magnificent Mile (and across the street from Trader Joe's!!), we were very happy with our stay at the James. My husband rates hotels by their fitness facilities and he touts this one as the best hotel weight room he has seen. The room was spacious and very clean and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fitness room is busy in the morning. Close to city bus and subway.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 4, 2008

Great Contemporary Hotel!

Excellent service, great decoration, wonderful atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean and had a good view. I was very satisfied. Don't miss breakfast at the hotel restaurant, it is extraordinary!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar next door is neat!

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location for visiting the city.

Met in Chicago for a girls' weekend. This hotel was a perfect choice for location. The staff was extremely helpful in getting dinner reservations and providing information on and bookings for things to do around the city. The only drawback is that the hotel is about 7 blocks from an El stop. However, there are cabs and a free trolley down Michigan Ave, so we had no problems during our visit with transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 29, 2008

A Fun Weekend in Chicago

The was the best hotel we have ever stayed in Chicago!!! A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Clifton
Jun 29, 2008

Very Cool Chic Atmosphere

We were greeted with and ice cold glass of water with lemon when my daughter mentioned that she was thirsty. All questions were adequately answered. The location was excellent and the staff very friendly. I enjoyed the moder design of the room especially and had a very New York type atmosphere.It was also a great people-watching lobby with very cool music subtley playing at all times putting one in a vacation mood mode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of foods were represented in the area including a Trader Joes for little odds and ends, snacks and drinks.

Back to menu Return to top