$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrsbailey1980
Toledo Ohio
Mar 1, 2013

great getaway

Staff was wonderful and location is Prime!!! Nothing bad to say about The James. Plan to stay there again next time we are in Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Apr 6, 2010

Great location but a little pricy

In town for a bachelor party. The location was great right near all the action, but parking was rather expensive. With no hotel parking it was like paying for a room for my car all weekend. Also for the price I found the renovations looked to be done a little cheaply. For example, an older fiberglass tub had been refinished instead of replaced and the finish was already failing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Mar 21, 2010

Perfect Long Weekend

Had a long weekend away from the kids. Perfect stay for 2 adults to get to know each other again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marie1219
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 17, 2010

Great Family Vacation!!

We enjoyed our vacation in Chicago! The location of the hotel was great! ALL of the staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We purchased snacks and bottled water across the street at Trader Joes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iroc
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 1, 2010

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!

I was in town for business and pleasure. If you enjoy the finer things in life for a reasonable price then you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Overall, this is a great location for anyone who wants to be in the heart of it all yet in the cut! The hotel gets an A from me in the area of class act. If you've traveled and you love great service, great location with limitless options then this is your stop! The gym is superb and they spared no expense in delivering excellence! I also loved the nook desk/office/dining area provided in the room. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jange
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 28, 2010

Good one!

I really enjoyed that hotel. I should come back to James hotel when I visit to the Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Team Petro
Business
Middleton, MA
Feb 22, 2010

excellent

Very friendly helpful staff. Great downtown location. We walked everywhere. Great breakfast- steak and eggs- filet mignon for reasonable price. Friendly housekeeping staff. Quiet too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

American Girl Place within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 8, 2010

Perfect Stay!

We got stranded in Chicago on our way back to DC and decided to stay at The James; what a great choice! The rooms are very hip and modern (not to mention spotless). The staff is amazingly accomodating (someone from the bar actually went back to the employee area to make me a cup of coffee because they didn't serve it at the bar). The hotel is located one block from Magnificiant Mile (Michigan Ave) and there are many great restaurants closeby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 9, 2009

James Hotel

Great room! Comfortable, clean and quiet!! Great location and fun hotel bar!!! Would absolutely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Notabarton
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 7, 2009

Home Away From Home

My husband and I live in Chicago but consider The James Hotel our home away from home. We like to "getaway" every few months and enjoy what the hotel has to offer. David Burke restaurant has a 55 day aged 20 oz. steak that is tops! The cocktails are a favorite. We dance to the DJ mixes at the JBar, an intimate, hip, club with an energized atmosphere. The staff at the James is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern, clean and inviting. Shops on Michigan Ave are steps away. We also take in a movie or two at the AMC theater around the corner. We especially like the 2:00p.m. check out. It gives us plenty of time to enjoy our breakfast and get a work out in the gym before heading home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2009

The James

We walked for miles looking at the neighborhoods and architecture of Chicago. The hotel was well-located for our purposes as we were on foot for the in-lying areas and used the El and Metra for outlying locations. The staff was extremely helpful without being over bearing. Nothing was missing except more time in this great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Always call ahead when choosing a restaurant to make sure the information you have about the establishment is correct.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top