$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
132 reviews
Great central location and amazing staff

Very friendly staff, great location. Would stay here again. Great lobby bar. See full review

  • Michaelmoz
  • Nov 3, 2014
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
Boutique chic luxury in the heart of River North
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8932 -87.6301
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 14.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StLDavid
Business
St. Louis
Jan 14, 2013

Weekend stay

Hotel was modern, clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 9, 2009

James Hotel

Great room! Comfortable, clean and quiet!! Great location and fun hotel bar!!! Would absolutely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Notabarton
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 7, 2009

Home Away From Home

My husband and I live in Chicago but consider The James Hotel our home away from home. We like to "getaway" every few months and enjoy what the hotel has to offer. David Burke restaurant has a 55 day aged 20 oz. steak that is tops! The cocktails are a favorite. We dance to the DJ mixes at the JBar, an intimate, hip, club with an energized atmosphere. The staff at the James is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern, clean and inviting. Shops on Michigan Ave are steps away. We also take in a movie or two at the AMC theater around the corner. We especially like the 2:00p.m. check out. It gives us plenty of time to enjoy our breakfast and get a work out in the gym before heading home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 29, 2009

The James

We walked for miles looking at the neighborhoods and architecture of Chicago. The hotel was well-located for our purposes as we were on foot for the in-lying areas and used the El and Metra for outlying locations. The staff was extremely helpful without being over bearing. Nothing was missing except more time in this great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Always call ahead when choosing a restaurant to make sure the information you have about the establishment is correct.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 28, 2009

Stylish and Excellent Service

Loved the location- central to all our activities. The rooms were gorgeous and maid service excellent. We received great service from everyone at the James. They gave great recommendations for everything from sushi to martinis and canal tours to fun dive bars(rainy day back up plan).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 27, 2009

Spot on, great location

The hotel is a great location and very well furnished and decorated to be on the modern and trendy side rather than the classical. The rates at the hotel are also excellent when compared to the overall experience. It is not a W hotel and not priced like one, but is right in that direction. I expected the staff to be more friendly andd they where not that friendly. Truly professional but the extra customer care or curtious service is by far missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the location of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 13, 2009

Great stay at the James

We loved the look and feel of our room (Kiehl's products in the bathroom get a gold star) as well as the proximity of the hotel to good restaurants, shopping and key attractions like Oak Street beach and Millennium Park. The concierge was extremely helpful in advance of our stay in making restaurant recommendations and booking a table for an important family celebration, and while we were there, he helped us get last minute tickets for the architectural boat tour that we were having trouble getting on our own. We also had an incident involving a lost stuffed animal and the hotel staff was very responsive and helpful in retrieving it from the outside laundry service (it had been inadvertently scooped up in the bed sheets) the next morning. We liked the bar downstairs and the food from room service that our children ate appeared to be quite good. Overall, an excellent experience. We look forward to staying there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sepia is an amazing restaurant - highly recommend it if you're looking for excellent food and great ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2009

Location, service, and more service

The James has a great location, which I knew from staying there before, but their service on a sold out weekend surpassed all expectations. I booked a room on Orbitz after being told they were sold out. At check-in, I was upgraded to a suite without asking. The room was perfect. Going out to dinner, my girlfriend and I were late so the hotel took us there with the house car, a clean Audi SUV, again without asking. The next day, the front desk staff handed me an umbrella to use for the day, not asking. That night the valet drove us to the fireworks in the house car. Room service breakfast was on time, delicious, and not too overpriced for a hotel of this caliber. Checkout was seamless with my car waiting. Overnight valet was a little pricey, but the level of attentiveness more than made up for that. Dissappointed the spa was closed on the 4th, but concierge went to a local drugstore and picked up items that we forgot. Amazing, friendly staff, with perfect level of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RL is about the best dining in Chicago and consistently has excellent food and service. You won't be dissappointed. Eat in the bar if you don't have a reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeTravels
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 18, 2009

Great Location

Nice hotel but very small. The pictures on the site made it look much bigger. It also was not a stylish in person as it was in the pictures. Good location and friendly staff, but it left me wanting more. Ambiance was lacking. Doubt I will try it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moon Buster
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 30, 2009

Easy for the First Timers to Chicago.

Everything was great about this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful to first timers to Chicago. The location is great because not only is it central in downtown to walk to your destinations/train/bus/taxi, but there is a Trader Joes and Starbucks right across the street for all your snacks/pick me ups. Internet room has Mac and PC which was nice. The beds were super comfortable King Sized monsters. Lighting in the room has many options. Nice carpet, not gross at all super clean. Bathroom stocked with Keihls products and organic face soaps. Bring your own toothpaste though! Negative things were that the toilet in the bathroom was constantly running. I dont know how to explain this but every 5 minutes you could hear water drain out of the toilet and back in again. We thought we could deal with it but when you come home from a long night, it can bother you. This might have been a isolated incident only to our room though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alinea! Avec!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 26, 2009

Fabulous Hotel! One of my favorites!

This was my second visit to the James Hotel, stayed for three nights and once again had a fantastic time! This hotel is so nice and the staff is great, especially the doorman. Only slight inconvenience is that sometimes the front desk staff is very busy on the phone and you often times have to wait to be helped. This is my second favorite hotel in downtown Chicago and I will definitely be back! 5 stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a CTA Visitor pass and take the bus or trains as much as you want for one set price. You'll instantly get your money's worth and the transit system in Chicago is fast and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top