$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
190 reviews
Perfect place to stay

Never write reviews but The Drake deserved it. All staff friendly and efficient. Always smiling and... See full review

  • DustinW
  • Oct 14, 2014
Quick getaway.

Very nice. Great historic hotel. The Concierge was outstanding!!! See full review

  • J Leiff
  • Sep 22, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 190
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2008

Huge Need For Improvement

As a seasoned international traveler for business and a slightly less seasoned traveler for vacations, this is the worst hotel for the money I have ever stayed in. The location was great and the staff quite helpful. The room was a joke for the price. My 2 day stay in the heart of Chicago was far from enjoyable. Upon arrival, the refrigerator was broken. A call was put in for a replacement refrigerator that was delivered the next day. It finally got cold by the day I left. I and my friend had to use a hotel garbage can filled with ice to keep anything cold. Every food item we brought back had to be thrown out, since the replacement refrigerator never cooled enough. Beautiful location, but I cannot recommend anyone to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for some nice stores, Louis Vuitton, Bvlgari, they're very close. The John Hancock Building is close too and has some great city views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roadrunnerfromga
Business
augusta, georgia
Oct 9, 2012

elegant hotel

The Drake was wonderful for our weekend stay for the marathon! I enjoyed the history and elegance of this hotel. It was refreshing to relax there after the race. The staff made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I would choose to stay there again. The only drawbacks was the small bathroom. The toilet was very close to the tub and there was minimal counter space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chicagoland Guest
Business
Peoria, Illinois
Dec 11, 2013

Girlfriends' Shopping Trip

We arrived at 11 am, and hoped to leave our luggage so we could shop. We were offered an upgraded room for a nominal fee which would also allow us early check in. We were delighted with the size, arrangement, and comfort of our room. And the view was so lovely that we almost didn't want to leave to shop. We had planned to go to several different restaurants for our meals, but since it was so very cold outside we dined in the hotel. Our supper in the cozy, paneled bar was very good, as was our breakfast, though a little pricey. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping along Michigan Avenue is fun. And if you get as far south as the Chicago River and are tired, a cab ride is less than $5.00 back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Weekend in CHI

Experience was good overall, as could be expected with any major hotel. However I thought I would be getting more bang for my buck. The hotel is very old school which might not be as adequate if you are in your mid'20's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Legend of El Nicko
Business
South Jersey
Aug 28, 2010

Drake Hotel: Straight Up Baller, Son

I checked into The Drake Hotel Friday August 13th, 2010 so I could be within walking distance of Chicago's Air and Water Show the following day. As far as location goes, The Drake is hard to beat. The Drake is located where all the action is, right off of Chicago's Miracle Mile and minutes away from Chicago's Gold Coast, an affluent area with the shopping, dining, and nightlife to match. Just North of The Drake is the beach, to the South is the John Hancock Building. I arrived to the hotel WAY before check-in time, and my room was already available. The staff is friendly, but slightly frigid and impersonal. The Hotel is beautiful, and my room was no exception. The construction of the hotel dates back to the 1920's, and while the room is smaller than a contemporary luxury hotel room, it was by no means meager and was well laid out. The hotel contained a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen TV, so my requirements were satisfied. Under the TV is a mini bar, but I didn't waste my time and instead stopped in the hotel's excellent on-site lounge, Coq d'Or. The service is good and the drinks are STRONG. My minor complaint it that the drain was slow in the shower, but this also may have something to do with the fact that I turned up all the dials and the water pressure was high enough to send tons of water coming my way. I'm used to weak water pressure in hotels. I guess I shouldn't be complaining! Also, if I ran the hotel I would ban children, but I suppose I can't fault management for not sharing my views. It doesn't alleviate my hangover when children are running up and down the halls at 9:00am. The Drake Hotel is an excellent choice for anyone who wants to check in to a hotel with modern luxuries and classic charm. The Hotel has been well taken care of over the years remaining vibrant, and doesn't come off as stuffy. Even if you're a little wary of the price, The Drake is at least worth a look for it's superb location and may save you a cab fare or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't stress location enough, The Drake is just minutes away from the Gold Coast and is right off of Chicago's Miracle Mile. You're right near all the action in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Dec 14, 2011

Quality Hotel

My good friend and I stayed at the Drake for one evening in Chicago just to do some Christmas Shopping. The Hotel atmosphere was alive with spirit and the service inside was excellent. We had access to the executive lounge, and their continental breakfast was delicious. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRW 1
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Dec 19, 2011

Christmas weekend getaway

I grew up in Chicago and had always wanted to stay at the Drake. It is all I had hoped. It is a very classy hotel with so much rich history. The staff couldn't help enough and did anything to make things better for me. The room was comfortable and the bed very "cozy". Wonderful view of the Lake and Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Drake is within a few blocks of the Hancock bldg, Cheescake Factory, Water Tower Place, Original Water Tower, Bloomingdales, American Girl Store etc.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Jan 2, 2012

Luxurious Chicago Stay

If you are looking for a high end hotel to stay at during your Chicago visit, The Drake is the place for you! We had a wonderful time there for the weekend. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect for Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom2joshari
Business
Boardman, OR 97818, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Eastern Oregon to East Chicago Mag Mile

Even though we watched a tumbleweed roll across our path on the way to Portland International Airport, The Drake staff treated my friend and I with the same dignity as celebs & royalty. Top notch and first class in the face of our tiny town do-it-yourself ways. Doormen attempting to assist were bumped into but gracious amid the quickly exchanged 'sorry'. A dream of a lifetime and 20 year bucket list trip to Chicago only enchanced by staying at the world renown Drake Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need hosiery, lip balm or honey goat cheese, walk 5 blocks south on Michigan to Chicago Ave and visit Walgreens. LIFESAVER (also available) on our short stay AND when I worked on Northwestern University's Medical campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darrell the Curious
Business
Southeast Side of Chicago
Apr 23, 2013

Two nights downtown

Being able to afford a stay at the here was unexpected, but cost only $11/night less than a rather seedy river east motel, thanks to a special cut rate from an online site. I expected a maid's closet, but got a spacious, beautifully appointed room with a partial view of Lake Michigan. Room appointments were posh by my standards. The bathroom was marble and fixtures classic style luxury. All service was grand and amenities were extensive. And the location, at the north end of the magnificent mile, was perfect for walking about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The most under-appreciated museum in Chicago (Museum of Surgical Science at 1524 N. Lake Shore Dr.) is just a walk away along beautiful Lake Shore Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top