$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
182 reviews
Most Enjoyable Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Drake Hotel. The location could not be better and the staff was top... See full review

  • Best American Girl Mom
  • Aug 6, 2014
A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for... See full review

  • Sparkster
  • Jul 21, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 182
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kayapek
l,a. Calif
Jun 25, 2013

ordinary

The room was not a Jr. suite it was a room with an alcove with a bed in it. I talked to the staff and changed rooms. unfortunately it was a room with a lake view but not a Jr. Suite. Really disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Oct 4, 2010

wouldn't advise anyone to stay

My boyfriend and I went to Chicago for the weekend and stayed at The Drake. It was a great location being right at the beginnning of the Magnificent Mile, but 90% of the staff was very unfriendly. We got there and they right away told us that on top of what we paid for the hotel it was an extra $49 to park our car. Our room wasn't ready until almost two hours until after check-in time, and the room we got was supposed to have a king size bed in it, and ended up only having a queen. The staff at the pub were also very rude, but the valet staff were very nice. Very clean, elegant, and beautiful, but not worth the other 10 annoying things about the place! Wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling for Christmas
illinois
Dec 28, 2013

A Mere Shadow of What It Used to Be

Upon check in, valet lost our heirloom Christmas tree and we found it kicked into a corner outside after numerous calls and 8 hours later. Bras and other feminine hygiene products laying in the halls for days. The food and service was less than average. Had to call housekeeping to get our room cleaned - amenities were minimal. Only thing going for it now is getting a room with a view of the lake. Won't be back. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill next to the Westin is an excellent restaurant. If you make reservations at the Signature Room at the Hancock make sure you request the main room - otherwise you get the small room on the side.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
Feb 15, 2010

Classic, but not clean

I was looking for a classic weekend at an elegant hotel. It was supposed to be a romantic weekend and it was, but the room let me down. There was dust everywhere. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling, the carpet felt weird under my feet like someone had spilled something that had gotten cleaned-up, but that left the carpet not as soft as it once was. I took the sheets off the bed to make sure they were changed and they weren't, they just used the top sheet as a bottom one. There were stains the bathroom sink and when I put the toilet seat down there was[*] behind it. This had all the makings for a perfect weekend, it just was not clean enough for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
82Hawk
Des Moines, IA
Jun 24, 2014

expected more

we paid $450+ thus had high expectations. I was disappointed. The Drake is a huge classic place. The flowers are beautiful! I was on the "Executive Floor". Room was spacious - bathroom is really small with a single sink and a tub shower. I travel a lot and the competition is way ahead in bathrooms! This felt dated. This is a minot thing but...there was not a pen and scratch pad in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at The Gilt Bar and it was fantastic! Our Waiter was wonderful! It is busy but so worth checking out!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savy Sam the Traveling Man
Dallas,TX
Jan 1, 2011

Gold Coast maybe not gold but good.

It was ok, nothing to special, location was good hotel was nice and service was as expected. Overall it was good, but for the MONEY and the location I would expect a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceirge for coupons and other deals for locations stores.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike So Fast You'll Freak
Columbia MO
Jul 1, 2013

Good location

I asked the woman at the front desk to put in my Hilton rewards number to get credit for my stay and she seemed irritated that I booked through a third party and told me I cant put my Hilton Honors number in because i did not book directly with the hotel. The view was fabulous, cleanliness ok. Under our bed was not cleaned for weeks or months, I was looking for my wife's earring and found a dusty pair of running shorts and lots of debris. The vent in the bathroom extremely dusty and peeling paint in several spots on the bathroom ceiling as well as "bubbling" wall paper. I had heard the Drake was the place to stay. I wasn't so impressed. We stayed around the corner three weeks ago for less than half the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Girl and the Goat a must eat

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
phoenix
Oct 2, 2010

The Drake Hotel Chicago

The location was perfect for shopping and anything else you might want to do in Chicago. The lounge and restaurants were all very nice and had a cool 1940's feel. The only negative was that the rooms were cheaply decorated and the bathrooms needed updating and maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The magnificent mile shopping is right outside. You can find anything.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishalish79
Denver, Colorado
Apr 20, 2014

beautiful hotel...paper thin walls

The Drake Hotel is beautiful, great architecture and style. Part of our stay was intended for relaxation However, we got hotel security called on us for talking (no yelling or loud talking), we heard someone in the next room throwing up, and could hear conversations clear as day. If you are looking to stay somewhere where you plan on being quiet, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Original Pancake House down the street and skip the over priced breakfast at the hotel. Go as early as possible, it gets crowded. Great food!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babybooby
California
Aug 18, 2014

The Drake

We were so looking forward to our stay. The lobby and Palm Court et. al do not disappoint. We splurged on a junior suite with a lake view. The room seemed nice - then we discovered a swarm of bugs on the ceiling molding. Ugh. They quickly gave us the same room - a floor below - which was bug free - HOWEVER - it was not well-cleaned. We asked them to clean it and upon our return, things got dusted off - but the mini fridge was filthy and the toilet was dirty underneath - which you could see when sitting in the tub - and the tub wouldn't shut off. They also slipped the wrong bill under our door at checkout. Very disappointing. When we nicely complained, the manager did give us $100 off - but rather grudgingly. The rest of the staff - housekeeping and the bellmen - were are terrific! But as I said - for a "grand hotel" very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search