$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tchr Scott
Business
Portage, Michigan
Nov 4, 2013

First time stay

The location really makes this a great place to stay. You are really within 10 minutes walking to all the shopping and dinning you could ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chicagoland Guest
Business
Peoria, Illinois
Dec 11, 2013

Girlfriends' Shopping Trip

We arrived at 11 am, and hoped to leave our luggage so we could shop. We were offered an upgraded room for a nominal fee which would also allow us early check in. We were delighted with the size, arrangement, and comfort of our room. And the view was so lovely that we almost didn't want to leave to shop. We had planned to go to several different restaurants for our meals, but since it was so very cold outside we dined in the hotel. Our supper in the cozy, paneled bar was very good, as was our breakfast, though a little pricey. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping along Michigan Avenue is fun. And if you get as far south as the Chicago River and are tired, a cab ride is less than $5.00 back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSTtraveler
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 27, 2014

Wonderful stay

My trip was very quick, but the time I did have in my room was great. The room was huge, the view of the lake was gorgeous, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was so friendly and personable. I loved the old-world aesthetics and the attention to detail as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 30, 2011

Wonderful stay.

The hotel is beautiful and the price was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Weekend in CHI

Experience was good overall, as could be expected with any major hotel. However I thought I would be getting more bang for my buck. The hotel is very old school which might not be as adequate if you are in your mid'20's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 22, 2010

Good stay

Good hotel. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Apr 25, 2011

Great experience!!

Ideal location for shopping, good restuarants and site seeing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo
Apr 24, 2011

[...]

We were very pleased with our stay at the Drake Hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
May 3, 2011

Great place to stay

Our trip to Chicago was purely for pleasure and by staying in the Drake we started our trip perfectly. On arrival after a very long flight, we asked for an upgrade on our room and without hesitation were upgraded to a deluxe room which was huge. It had two bathrooms which I was really impressed with and a really comfortable king bed with fab duvet and comfy pillows. The room was really quiet. Even though there was music in the bar underneath we couldn't hear a thing. The hotel is so well positioned for shopping and sightseeing that it is an ideal spot to stay if that is your reason for visiting Chicago. Designer shops and nice restaurants are within a few minutes walking distance. The food in the hotel is very good and not over priced. The bars are nice too but were very quiet so if you want a lively night life go to some other nearby bars. Overall I would highly recommend staying here. It is a lovely comfortable hotel with great service in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 3, 2010

Classy, cozy and great views

Very comfortable, classy but not stuffy at all. The service was good, the location was good, the lakefront views were terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public parking saves you two-thirds, from $50 per day down to just $16.50. one block west of hotel's front door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top