$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
283 reviews
The Magnificent Mile at it's Best!

Live the High Life at the Drake Hotel. Born and raised in Chicago and spent the past 35 years in... See full review

  • Red Wizard
  • Jul 10, 2014
Perfect business trip accommodation

Awesome room cleaning service! Enjoyed the cafe which was a great place to get some business done.... See full review

  • AcuNutritionistAlexTuggle
  • May 24, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Aug 30, 2010

Mid August at the Drake

Breakfast "can" be part of the booking fee. Ours was not. See if you can get free breakfast when you book the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Cape cod Room

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2009

Wonderful time

Lovely hotel. Great downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma of 3
Pekin, IL
Aug 5, 2009

Anniversary Weekend Away

We had a wonderful - despite the fact we did not get the promised robes - but we had great service otherwise - the food at this hotel is to die for. My husband and I would do it all over again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cape Cod Resturant was delicious.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ireland
May 3, 2011

Great place to stay

Our trip to Chicago was purely for pleasure and by staying in the Drake we started our trip perfectly. On arrival after a very long flight, we asked for an upgrade on our room and without hesitation were upgraded to a deluxe room which was huge. It had two bathrooms which I was really impressed with and a really comfortable king bed with fab duvet and comfy pillows. The room was really quiet. Even though there was music in the bar underneath we couldn't hear a thing. The hotel is so well positioned for shopping and sightseeing that it is an ideal spot to stay if that is your reason for visiting Chicago. Designer shops and nice restaurants are within a few minutes walking distance. The food in the hotel is very good and not over priced. The bars are nice too but were very quiet so if you want a lively night life go to some other nearby bars. Overall I would highly recommend staying here. It is a lovely comfortable hotel with great service in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kalamazoo
Apr 24, 2011

[...]

We were very pleased with our stay at the Drake Hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Apr 25, 2011

Great experience!!

Ideal location for shopping, good restuarants and site seeing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fifican
Rolla, MO
Mar 30, 2011

good price

perfect location for shopping and food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Broomall, PA
Jun 30, 2009

Expensive, but great location

We've stayed at the Drake Hotel 5 times before, and we really like the history and beauty of the hotel, but some things have changed this time, and we weren't exactly happy about it. They sent us to a room which wasn't ready at all which was very disturbing, and they weren't very apologetic about it, or even offer us an upgrade. They used to give you a free bottle of water in your room on the first day, now they want a WHOPPING $7.00 for ONE bottle! Hard to believe,and even given this economy today, it's way out of line. We like the rooms, the location, the hotel itself, and the room service is adequate. We had noisy neighbors this time, though, who partied until 1:30 a.m., and we could hear it all through the walls. There also seemed to be a lot of people how don't know how to close a door quietly, and there was a lot of loud slamming of doors at all hours of the morning and night. It wasn't the most pleasant stay we had, but all in all, we'll probably be back, if not for anything else but our yearly tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the beautiful John Hancock building a few short steps away from the hotel. It's magnificent and we visit it at least twice each time we're in Chicago. The view from the 94th floor observatory is breathtaking. We like it a lot better than the Sears tower, which is only a few floors higher. We think the view is so much nicer from the John Hancock. There's also plenty of shopping and nightlife very close by.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Toddler'
North Carolina
Apr 19, 2010

Tea Times available every day!

The hotel and service was terrific. The room was very nice; spacious, quiet and comfortable. The Drake's location on the north end of The Magnificent Mile makes it a terrific place to stay and easily enjoy the many great things to do in Chicago. Breakfast buffet is excellent (not cheap, though), and we thorougly enjoyed our afternoon tea in Palm Court, just like Queen Elizabeth did once! We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Marshall Fields, now a Macy's, for a "back in the day" grand department store experience.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xine
Chicago, IL
Jan 30, 2012

Nice Hotel

We stayed for one night, and got a great deal on the room. But once you get there you will pay through the nose for parking, food, internet, movies... The room had nice, high ceilings and the old school feel. But the TV was facing a sitting area & not the bed, so it was hard to relax and watch tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Dinner Detective shows across the street at the Knickerbocker!

Back to menu Return to top