$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
195 reviews
Fancy hotel for concert

stayed here for a show in chicago one night. staff is great. room is great. restaurants were a bit... See full review

  • Len T.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Family trip

Met every expectation. Clean, 1st class, charming, great location. See full review

  • Scott K.
  • Jan 5, 2015
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roadrunnerfromga
Business
augusta, georgia
Oct 9, 2012

elegant hotel

The Drake was wonderful for our weekend stay for the marathon! I enjoyed the history and elegance of this hotel. It was refreshing to relax there after the race. The staff made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I would choose to stay there again. The only drawbacks was the small bathroom. The toilet was very close to the tub and there was minimal counter space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDavis
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Feb 11, 2013

Great location

We have a wonderful experience at The Drake. Great location, clean and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hast House To Go is a great breakfast spot for a truly unique breakfast. The chicken and waffles are a true site to behold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
causal traveler
Business
wyoming
Feb 25, 2013

Very nice!

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend and really enjoyed the hotel. Very good location, very clean & the gym was a total bonus amenity! The only downside is having to pay for internet, but the cafe on the ground level has free WIFI so we just used that in the morning while getting some coffee. We had the 'smaller than usual, limited view room' which worked fine - I was worried it would be nosy or really really small but neither was true! Very spacious room, not the greatest view, but that didn't bother us. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T from ohio
Business
ohio
Feb 26, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

The Drake is a great place to stay because of the location, the friendly staff, the "classic hotel" ambiance. I also love the lounge. It's always a great place to stop for drinks after meetings or shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poot 2 and hubby
Business
Naperville, IL
Feb 23, 2013

Great weekend!

First time at the Drake. Very nice. Chose it because of it's location to our dinner and jazz choice. We were able to walk there and back which saved some cab money. Had the breakfast buffet. It was a little pricey but food was good. There goes our cab savings! But that's how it goes in the city. All considered, we enjoyed a smooth and relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by the magnificent mile! Shopping doesn't get any better if that's you passion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arsenalmelier
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2013

Historical

Needed a room last minute and The Drake filled the bill. Room had a great view of Lake Michigan. Bed was very comfortable. The room is quite spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Too close to 30
Business
New York, NY
Mar 26, 2013

Great Stay

The Drake was a great hotel. Everyone was super accommodating. It wasn't super fancy in the rooms but they were nice. The cleaning staff was very nice and even showed us another room's view of the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
semi retired grandparents
Business
Blaine, Minnesota
Jul 8, 2013

LOCATION TOO HIGH END FOR US

Hotel was great, beautiful hotel, great history, staff was excellent. The only problem we had was the Wi Fi keep going out so they credited us back the $12.95 a day charge. But to me the location sucked. Very windy and cold that close to the lake (high of 82 degrees 1 mile off the lake, high of 69 degrees around the Drake). I heard alot of poeple complain that they had to go out and buy jackets for the whole family so they could venture out. My wife and I each brought only one pair of pants, which we wore all four days we were there. Also there is no place "normal" to eat in or around the hotel for miles. I don't know how anyone can aford to live downtown ($60 for breakfast, $40-$50 for lunch, $80-$120 for dinner most places for my wife and I). All the shops are high end shops, we had to walk a mile and a half to get to any normal gift shops. Hotel rating 4.5, location a 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to go to the "Bean" and the Navy Piere, both worth the 1.5 mile walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Co Nam
Business
Dearborn, Michigan
Oct 16, 2013

cHICAGO IN OCTOBER

Beside the best location and the comfort of the big room that make the difference from another hotel, it needs a little more warmth from the staff to give us the reason to say next time we should come back here instead of looking for some where else. IF i would recommend this hotel to a friend, it would be for the same reason. Otherwise, i will be back to Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tchr Scott
Business
Portage, Michigan
Nov 4, 2013

First time stay

The location really makes this a great place to stay. You are really within 10 minutes walking to all the shopping and dinning you could ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top