$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
281 reviews
Perfect business trip accommodation

Awesome room cleaning service! Enjoyed the cafe which was a great place to get some business done.... See full review

  • AcuNutritionistAlexTuggle
  • May 24, 2014
Long Weekend Getaway

Love this hotel - classic, classy. New, modern hotels are nice but there's nothing like the... See full review

  • Cdn2014
  • Apr 21, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayEd
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Oct 6, 2011

Will Not Stay There Next Time

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was always nice when we returned with fresh towels. My main complaint was only one chair in the room other than a desk chair, making it uncomfortable for either me or my wife. The refrigerator in the wet bar was broken and all the drinks inside were warm. We immediately contacted the staff and was told they would replace the refrigerator. They did nothing but move the drinks around. No one ever fixed this problem during our 4 night stay. Our room was advertised as limited view. I thought it would be a limited view of the river. My total view was of the airconditioning units. Our room was just a regular room with a queen bed. We felt that had we had a larger more expensive room, our refrigerator problem would have had some importance to The Drake's staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House near the Drake. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and very expensive. Worth it all.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach,CA
Aug 31, 2009

it's ok but getting tired

for 1st timers to the city, its a nostalic time capsule don't plan on a night life or updated menu not for the sophisticated traveler good for old-fashioned and up tight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

don't shop in Chicagoit's the midwest for god's sake...shop in LA or NYC

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savy Sam the Traveling Man
Dallas,TX
Jan 1, 2011

Gold Coast maybe not gold but good.

It was ok, nothing to special, location was good hotel was nice and service was as expected. Overall it was good, but for the MONEY and the location I would expect a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceirge for coupons and other deals for locations stores.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayEd
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Oct 6, 2011

Will Not Stay There Next Time

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was always nice when we returned with fresh towels. My main complaint was only one chair in the room other than a desk chair, making it uncomfortable for either me or my wife. The refrigerator in the wet bar was broken and all the drinks inside were warm. We immediately contacted the staff and was told they would replace the refrigerator. They did nothing but move the drinks around. No one ever fixed this problem during our 4 night stay. Our room was advertised as limited view. I thought it would be a limited view of the river. My total view was of the airconditioning units. Our room was just a regular room with a queen bed. We felt that had we had a larger more expensive room, our refrigerator problem would have had some importance to The Drake's staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House near the Drake. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and very expensive. Worth it all.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay WI
Dec 28, 2010

The Drake- lost opulance

My grandfather took my father here, my father took me here and the disappointment that met us at the door was sad. While the rooms were ordinairy and the view nice, the pillow had stained cases, the towles reeked of chlorine and the historic beauty of the hotel is all but gone. No cocktails in the lobby, dark and dingey dining rooms and a compleate loss of formality in the public rooms of this once fancy establishment. Too bad. It's not a deal at the high prices one pays and in the end you would most likely get more 'bang' for your buck elsewhere. On the up side the service staff was pleasent and helpful, [...] the concierge outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blackbird. A fantastic dinner while not cheap, totally worth the splurge

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay WI
Dec 28, 2010

The Drake- lost opulance

My grandfather took my father here, my father took me here and the disappointment that met us at the door was sad. While the rooms were ordinairy and the view nice, the pillow had stained cases, the towles reeked of chlorine and the historic beauty of the hotel is all but gone. No cocktails in the lobby, dark and dingey dining rooms and a compleate loss of formality in the public rooms of this once fancy establishment. Too bad. It's not a deal at the high prices one pays and in the end you would most likely get more 'bang' for your buck elsewhere. On the up side the service staff was pleasent and helpful, [...] the concierge outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blackbird. A fantastic dinner while not cheap, totally worth the splurge

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staying at the Knickerbocker Next Time
Boston, MA
Jan 25, 2011

Resting on its reputation...

Stayed for a wedding (which was fabulous), but the overall experience as a guest was less than impressive, given the storied reputation of the Drake. Room was nice, decently-sized for an old hotel, but missteps like not having shampoo/conditioner -something discovered mid-shower - were disappointing. Most disappointing was the staff, who were actually rather rude. When I called to ask for a hairdryer (not having searched behind the bathroom door), the front desk cut me off to tell me I needed to contact housekeeping. When I called housekeeping (they didn't transfer me!), I was rudely instructed to look behind the door. The bar staff was unpleasant, though the staff that served the wedding reception was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 1, 2010

a bit disappointing

I was very excited about my stay, but disappointed once I arrived. I paid for an upgraded room with a view, and the view was nice, but......there was mold and some black stuff falling out of the air-vent. The wall paper was peeling, bathtub curtain was moldy and smelly, and they charged $16.95 for internet connection, not the $12.95 that was quoted. When I asked, they said that I had opted for a faster connection, but I was not offered it when I signed up....confusing. Over all the hotel is of course very nice, but I think they are resting a bit on their reputation....so many places to stay, I think I will go elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savy Sam the Traveling Man
Dallas,TX
Jan 1, 2011

Gold Coast maybe not gold but good.

It was ok, nothing to special, location was good hotel was nice and service was as expected. Overall it was good, but for the MONEY and the location I would expect a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceirge for coupons and other deals for locations stores.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike So Fast You'll Freak
Columbia MO
Jul 1, 2013

Good location

I asked the woman at the front desk to put in my Hilton rewards number to get credit for my stay and she seemed irritated that I booked through a third party and told me I cant put my Hilton Honors number in because i did not book directly with the hotel. The view was fabulous, cleanliness ok. Under our bed was not cleaned for weeks or months, I was looking for my wife's earring and found a dusty pair of running shorts and lots of debris. The vent in the bathroom extremely dusty and peeling paint in several spots on the bathroom ceiling as well as "bubbling" wall paper. I had heard the Drake was the place to stay. I wasn't so impressed. We stayed around the corner three weeks ago for less than half the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Girl and the Goat a must eat

Back to menu Return to top