$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
195 reviews
Fancy hotel for concert

stayed here for a show in chicago one night. staff is great. room is great. restaurants were a bit... See full review

  • Len T.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Family trip

Met every expectation. Clean, 1st class, charming, great location. See full review

  • Scott K.
  • Jan 5, 2015
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 3, 2010

Drake Hotel

Parking outrageously expensive as was the food .. unbelievable ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayEd
Business
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Oct 6, 2011

Will Not Stay There Next Time

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was always nice when we returned with fresh towels. My main complaint was only one chair in the room other than a desk chair, making it uncomfortable for either me or my wife. The refrigerator in the wet bar was broken and all the drinks inside were warm. We immediately contacted the staff and was told they would replace the refrigerator. They did nothing but move the drinks around. No one ever fixed this problem during our 4 night stay. Our room was advertised as limited view. I thought it would be a limited view of the river. My total view was of the airconditioning units. Our room was just a regular room with a queen bed. We felt that had we had a larger more expensive room, our refrigerator problem would have had some importance to The Drake's staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House near the Drake. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and very expensive. Worth it all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
82Hawk
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 24, 2014

expected more

we paid $450+ thus had high expectations. I was disappointed. The Drake is a huge classic place. The flowers are beautiful! I was on the "Executive Floor". Room was spacious - bathroom is really small with a single sink and a tub shower. I travel a lot and the competition is way ahead in bathrooms! This felt dated. This is a minot thing but...there was not a pen and scratch pad in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at The Gilt Bar and it was fantastic! Our Waiter was wonderful! It is busy but so worth checking out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babybooby
Business
California
Aug 18, 2014

The Drake

We were so looking forward to our stay. The lobby and Palm Court et. al do not disappoint. We splurged on a junior suite with a lake view. The room seemed nice - then we discovered a swarm of bugs on the ceiling molding. Ugh. They quickly gave us the same room - a floor below - which was bug free - HOWEVER - it was not well-cleaned. We asked them to clean it and upon our return, things got dusted off - but the mini fridge was filthy and the toilet was dirty underneath - which you could see when sitting in the tub - and the tub wouldn't shut off. They also slipped the wrong bill under our door at checkout. Very disappointing. When we nicely complained, the manager did give us $100 off - but rather grudgingly. The rest of the staff - housekeeping and the bellmen - were are terrific! But as I said - for a "grand hotel" very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAINQESI
Business
Cincinnati OH
Sep 17, 2014

Lacking service details

Have stayed 2 other times, and had several negative issues this time. Initial executive suite was way too hot and HVAC was not working. After 3 calls and waiting an hour, got a call they were working on it. After 2 calls was finally offered to move rooms. Also, requested additional towels twice before they were brought up. Elevators were not working well (doors open and immediately shut, and opened only half way. It is a beautiful old hotel and the staff requires some additional attention to service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cape Cod room is great and deserves a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Like Europe
Business
Wheaton Illinois
Nov 28, 2014

Getaway for few days

Old hotel that used to be one of the best in Chicago. But that was years ago, and the place shows its age now. The breakfast, included, was average. I had better breakfasts at less expensive European hotels. The service was also average at the restaurants and not what you would expect of a hotel of its name and fame. The money paid for the room was what I expected. But the price shows that the hotel is not what it used to be, If it were they would not be charging low rates. You get what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't even think of driving unless you are willing to pay $42 and up for overnight parking, and $4 per hour for street parking during the day (or $8 for 20 minutes at a parking garage). If you are familiar with the area, however, you can find overnight parking for free at LaSalle street, which is 5 to 6 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broomall, PA
Jun 30, 2009

Expensive, but great location

We've stayed at the Drake Hotel 5 times before, and we really like the history and beauty of the hotel, but some things have changed this time, and we weren't exactly happy about it. They sent us to a room which wasn't ready at all which was very disturbing, and they weren't very apologetic about it, or even offer us an upgrade. They used to give you a free bottle of water in your room on the first day, now they want a WHOPPING $7.00 for ONE bottle! Hard to believe,and even given this economy today, it's way out of line. We like the rooms, the location, the hotel itself, and the room service is adequate. We had noisy neighbors this time, though, who partied until 1:30 a.m., and we could hear it all through the walls. There also seemed to be a lot of people how don't know how to close a door quietly, and there was a lot of loud slamming of doors at all hours of the morning and night. It wasn't the most pleasant stay we had, but all in all, we'll probably be back, if not for anything else but our yearly tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit the beautiful John Hancock building a few short steps away from the hotel. It's magnificent and we visit it at least twice each time we're in Chicago. The view from the 94th floor observatory is breathtaking. We like it a lot better than the Sears tower, which is only a few floors higher. We think the view is so much nicer from the John Hancock. There's also plenty of shopping and nightlife very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dorasamy
Business
Ancaster, Ontario
Sep 6, 2010

My Chicago Weekend Trip

We tried to warm some food but was unable to; many other hotels will warm food or even make available a microwave oven! Good food had to go to waste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XXXX
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 3, 2010

Great location and a Grand Old Hotel

A very nice grand old hotel with very good service and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGMRTP
Business
Louisville, Kentucky
Oct 10, 2011

Very Good Chicago Hotel

The Drake was a wonderful, old world hotel. It is lovely inside and out. It has an old world charm that most who travel internationally will greatly appreciate. The staff are excellent and extremely helpful. It is a very good bargain considering all that is has to offer. The only slight negative that we experienced was that the picture quality on the TV was lacking and the room a bit small. However, I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kiki's French Bistro is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top