$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Shari
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2013

Not really a "family" getaway

Free Wi-fi in the lobby, pay in the rooms. No swimming or hot tub. The beach was within walking distance, but I couldn't let the girls swim. The staff was awesome. We had fun but wasted precious time getting to the places we wanted to go. I was told the hotel was only a couple of blocks from the Metra Station. It was one mile! Not enough room to tell all I wanted to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The City buses are awesome, but you have to ask which ones get you to where you need to go, and also know the times your attractions stop taking tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike So Fast You'll Freak
Business
Columbia MO
Jul 1, 2013

Good location

I asked the woman at the front desk to put in my Hilton rewards number to get credit for my stay and she seemed irritated that I booked through a third party and told me I cant put my Hilton Honors number in because i did not book directly with the hotel. The view was fabulous, cleanliness ok. Under our bed was not cleaned for weeks or months, I was looking for my wife's earring and found a dusty pair of running shorts and lots of debris. The vent in the bathroom extremely dusty and peeling paint in several spots on the bathroom ceiling as well as "bubbling" wall paper. I had heard the Drake was the place to stay. I wasn't so impressed. We stayed around the corner three weeks ago for less than half the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Girl and the Goat a must eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RSNAer
Business
East coast
Dec 7, 2013

Short stay for business

Hotel came highly recommended, so disappointed. Spacious room, but outdated and there was significant street noise. Would suggest visit to lobby, though - beautifully decorated Christmas tree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staying at the Knickerbocker Next Time
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 25, 2011

Resting on its reputation...

Stayed for a wedding (which was fabulous), but the overall experience as a guest was less than impressive, given the storied reputation of the Drake. Room was nice, decently-sized for an old hotel, but missteps like not having shampoo/conditioner -something discovered mid-shower - were disappointing. Most disappointing was the staff, who were actually rather rude. When I called to ask for a hairdryer (not having searched behind the bathroom door), the front desk cut me off to tell me I needed to contact housekeeping. When I called housekeeping (they didn't transfer me!), I was rudely instructed to look behind the door. The bar staff was unpleasant, though the staff that served the wedding reception was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 1, 2010

a bit disappointing

I was very excited about my stay, but disappointed once I arrived. I paid for an upgraded room with a view, and the view was nice, but......there was mold and some black stuff falling out of the air-vent. The wall paper was peeling, bathtub curtain was moldy and smelly, and they charged $16.95 for internet connection, not the $12.95 that was quoted. When I asked, they said that I had opted for a faster connection, but I was not offered it when I signed up....confusing. Over all the hotel is of course very nice, but I think they are resting a bit on their reputation....so many places to stay, I think I will go elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix
Oct 2, 2010

The Drake Hotel Chicago

The location was perfect for shopping and anything else you might want to do in Chicago. The lounge and restaurants were all very nice and had a cool 1940's feel. The only negative was that the rooms were cheaply decorated and the bathrooms needed updating and maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The magnificent mile shopping is right outside. You can find anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland,OR
Mar 7, 2011

The Drake

The Drake has a stellar location right off Michigan Avenue, and has a high end feel but it is an old hotel...we could hear our neighbors T.V. through the wall, and there is only ethernet cable available (no wireless). For the price, the location can't be beat. Just keep in mind that to stay next to Michigan Ave in a historic hotel at this price- that there are a few little quirks to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay WI
Dec 28, 2010

The Drake- lost opulance

My grandfather took my father here, my father took me here and the disappointment that met us at the door was sad. While the rooms were ordinairy and the view nice, the pillow had stained cases, the towles reeked of chlorine and the historic beauty of the hotel is all but gone. No cocktails in the lobby, dark and dingey dining rooms and a compleate loss of formality in the public rooms of this once fancy establishment. Too bad. It's not a deal at the high prices one pays and in the end you would most likely get more 'bang' for your buck elsewhere. On the up side the service staff was pleasent and helpful, [...] the concierge outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blackbird. A fantastic dinner while not cheap, totally worth the splurge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savy Sam the Traveling Man
Business
Dallas,TX
Jan 1, 2011

Gold Coast maybe not gold but good.

It was ok, nothing to special, location was good hotel was nice and service was as expected. Overall it was good, but for the MONEY and the location I would expect a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceirge for coupons and other deals for locations stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach,CA
Aug 31, 2009

it's ok but getting tired

for 1st timers to the city, its a nostalic time capsule don't plan on a night life or updated menu not for the sophisticated traveler good for old-fashioned and up tight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

don't shop in Chicagoit's the midwest for god's sake...shop in LA or NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top