$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
May 24, 2010

The Drake, Chicago -- fabulous!

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our short visit (3 days) to the Drake in Chicago. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our one complaint was that breakfast was pretty pricey. My friend had two pieces of toast for $5.00. It was cold and the butter packages were cold and hard. My french toast was very tasty, but again a bit pricey at $16.00. It was supposed to come with fruit which consisted of one strawberry cut in 4 pieces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We took the Architectural River Cruise which was well worth the money, approx. $35.00 per person including coffee, juice, cookies, muffins. It included information on Chicago's landmark buildings plus a brief history of Chicago. Our hotel concierge reserved it for us and gave us directions on how to get there.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus, ohio
May 5, 2011

new and impressive

Location was awesome. The staff was most was most courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gaylord

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Llittle Rock
Apr 13, 2011

Superb stay at the Drake

I loved the history of the Drake. I loved the ornate decor. I loved the old style wood paneled bar. I loved the fountain in the middle of the upstairs, open bar. I loved the powder room near the bar. I felt as though I were in a 1940s movie. I loved our room and the bed was very comfortable. Every staff member we encountered was courteous and friendly. We requested a very minor adjustment to the bathtub drain and the repair was accomplished immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the very knowledgeable and personable concierge staff advice on dining and tours before striking out on your own. They made inquiries to restaurants, reserved seats on a tour that we were able to begin within 30 minutes and did several other things for us that saved us time and guided us in the right direction.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great trip111
Business
Cleveland, oh
Apr 10, 2011

Awesome, awesome hotel!!! L

A half a block from Mich ave! Awesome shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebuds steakhouse, few doors down. Great food service and reasonable

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 4, 2010

Looks Can Be Deceiving

Just because it may appear pricey or staid don't let that deter you from trying The Drake. It was quietly elegant but unpretentious, very friendly and respectful. Couldn't have been more convenient to Oak Street Beach and to the church across the street, my two primary destinations for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester , Michigan
Jun 18, 2010

First Class Hotel

Excellent hotel, staff was very friendly. A supurb loacation ..... as good as it gets...[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Aug 10, 2009

Family perfect

Location was perfect for the downtown area, lots of restaurants and shopping all within easy walking distance, friendly staff. Loved the elevators with love seats!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lunch at Ditka's - less expensive and very impressive.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2011

Historic Experience

The room was fabulous and spacious for an old hotel. The Cape Cod Room seemed overpriced, but we loved the Palm Room and the Coq'dor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For better Seafood, try Devon on Chicago Ave.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Solon, Ohio
Jul 15, 2010

Great location, classy hotel

Very helpful conciege.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask conciege for priority seating voucher and eat at Gino's pizza.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Great Lakes, IL
May 10, 2010

Phenomenal Birthday treat *****

Phenomenal stay at a Chicago landmark. The property and the staff exceeded the reputation of the Drake. The property was elegant, but not overstated; the staff was gracious; and this proved the quintessence of a great weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top