$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
287 reviews
A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for... See full review

  • Sparkster
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping... See full review

  • FL family visits Chi Town
  • Jul 14, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcrpa
hampton, nh
Aug 10, 2010

The Drake

Noisy. Two weddings when we were there and the halls were noisy until 2 AM! Also VERY noisy hearing motorcycles outside!!!! Would have preferred two queen beds, which they apparently do not have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Toddler'
North Carolina
Apr 19, 2010

Tea Times available every day!

The hotel and service was terrific. The room was very nice; spacious, quiet and comfortable. The Drake's location on the north end of The Magnificent Mile makes it a terrific place to stay and easily enjoy the many great things to do in Chicago. Breakfast buffet is excellent (not cheap, though), and we thorougly enjoyed our afternoon tea in Palm Court, just like Queen Elizabeth did once! We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Marshall Fields, now a Macy's, for a "back in the day" grand department store experience.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Trophy Club, TX
Aug 15, 2010

Awesome Chicago experience!!

The Drake is a wonderful Chicago classic hotel. Great Location! Food was pricey though. But overall great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T from ohio
Business
ohio
Feb 26, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

The Drake is a great place to stay because of the location, the friendly staff, the "classic hotel" ambiance. I also love the lounge. It's always a great place to stop for drinks after meetings or shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pickerington, Ohio
Jan 3, 2010

WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!

Staff was very helpful. They allow dogs to stay, which made it very helpful for us. There were also a couple of dog parks just a few blocks away. The rooms were incredible! The location was perfect, it was within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants without being right in the middle of the city. The overall atmosphere felt very upscale and luxurious at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fitfreak30
Norfolk, VA
Aug 11, 2009

Lalapalooza

From the moment the door of my cab opened I was treated very well and the people genuinely respected me and for my being at their hotel. The staff at the LavaZazza coffee shop located in the hotel who were NOT hotel staff were the exact opposite. They acted as if I was interrupting their day. They also seemed to move more slowly allowing for a long line of people waiting to get coffee. They need customer service training from the hotel that is for sure. The coffee is good but not that good. I didn't have much interaction with hotel staff as I was out on the town most of the time I was there. The bell men and the gentlemen who hail the cabs for you are exceptional, especially a gentleman named [...]. He took care of my date who was leaving after me. I was concerned that she make it to O'Hare on time and without hassle. He took excellent care of her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Filene's Basement is great place for excellent bargains on great women's clothes. I took my friend shopping there and bought two pair of awesome shoes for under $150.00 total!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CG30
Iowa
Mar 25, 2013

Beautiful, Classic hotel!

I had a great experience staying at The Drake Hotel! My husband and I were in town for my birthday and when in small talk, I told the check in people why we were in town and I found a mini chocolate cake had been put in our room for my bday! The hotel is older, but beautiful. The staff is nothing but friendly and they are able to help you with whatever is needed. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 3, 2010

Great value and wonderful location

We went shopping in downtown CHICAGO. The best location for the views and walking. You step out your door of the Drake and are in the prime area for site seeing and shopping. Lots of fabulous restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk. If interested in a day of shopping you could walk alot. Your decision.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earl J
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 23, 2010

The Drake review

Great overall except the room doors slam shut instead of closing slowly and constantly woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
McHenry, IL
Oct 6, 2009

The Best

Located at the North end of the Michigan Ave shopping area and at the South end of the Gold Coast a few feet from Oak Street Beach. We got a slightly upgraded room ($40 more) with twin beds and a lake view. The room was very large for the price with a sitting area, a 50 inch flat panel TV, and a walk-in closet. Nice. The entire staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top