$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
192 reviews
Great overnight stay between trains.

Grand hotel in the style of luxurious travel. Something we don't usually enjoy in todays high tech... See full review

  • Robby
  • Jul 25, 2015
Christmas in Chicago

I stayed at the Drake right before Thanksgiving and the hotel was absolutely gorgeous with it's... See full review

  • Kathryn R.
  • Apr 9, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$131
4.6 / 5 1,326 reviews
★★★★
$99
4.0 / 5 587 reviews
★★★★
$123
4.0 / 5 290 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.0 / 5 174 reviews
★★★★
$162
4.0 / 5 233 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.9 / 5 280 reviews
★★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 453 reviews
★★★
$87
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 219 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Len T.
Friends
West Chester
Jan 12, 2015

Fancy hotel for concert

stayed here for a show in chicago one night. staff is great. room is great. restaurants were a bit expensive for our tastes but food was good. 2nd time i have stayed here and it is great hotel. book early for good price. i booked 6 months ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MEB54
Friends
Syracuse NY
Sep 29, 2014

Wonderful Weekend in Chicago

Big comfortable room, both beds (including the sofa bed)were very comfortable. couldn't beat the location. concierge was right on with his/her recommendation for meals, and bell staffer gave directions with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

This is a Wonderful city for walkers.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparkster
Friends
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for strolling the Magnificent Mile or enjoying views of Lake Michigan. The Hotel itself was memorable - stylish, beautiful and comfortable. The staff was attentive and helpful. We appreciated the commitment to excellence that was evident throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chicagoland Guest
Friends
Peoria, Illinois
Dec 11, 2013

Girlfriends' Shopping Trip

We arrived at 11 am, and hoped to leave our luggage so we could shop. We were offered an upgraded room for a nominal fee which would also allow us early check in. We were delighted with the size, arrangement, and comfort of our room. And the view was so lovely that we almost didn't want to leave to shop. We had planned to go to several different restaurants for our meals, but since it was so very cold outside we dined in the hotel. Our supper in the cozy, paneled bar was very good, as was our breakfast, though a little pricey. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping along Michigan Avenue is fun. And if you get as far south as the Chicago River and are tired, a cab ride is less than $5.00 back!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PeJu
Friends
Madison, Wisconsin
Aug 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

I had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect, as it is located right on Michigan Ave. and just across Lake Michigan, so one has both, the beach and the shopping just outside the hotel. There is a great coffee shop within the Hotel that offers real good coffee. The concierge was not only very knowledgeable, but also extremely friendly and helpful. Also the bed seemed very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piccolo sognio due - a wonderful Italian dining place with great balance regarding price and food, and a lovely and relaxing atmosphere.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darrell the Curious
Friends
Southeast Side of Chicago
Apr 23, 2013

Two nights downtown

Being able to afford a stay at the here was unexpected, but cost only $11/night less than a rather seedy river east motel, thanks to a special cut rate from an online site. I expected a maid's closet, but got a spacious, beautifully appointed room with a partial view of Lake Michigan. Room appointments were posh by my standards. The bathroom was marble and fixtures classic style luxury. All service was grand and amenities were extensive. And the location, at the north end of the magnificent mile, was perfect for walking about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The most under-appreciated museum in Chicago (Museum of Surgical Science at 1524 N. Lake Shore Dr.) is just a walk away along beautiful Lake Shore Drive.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roadrunnerfromga
Friends
augusta, georgia
Oct 9, 2012

elegant hotel

The Drake was wonderful for our weekend stay for the marathon! I enjoyed the history and elegance of this hotel. It was refreshing to relax there after the race. The staff made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I would choose to stay there again. The only drawbacks was the small bathroom. The toilet was very close to the tub and there was minimal counter space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom2joshari
Friends
Boardman, OR 97818, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Eastern Oregon to East Chicago Mag Mile

Even though we watched a tumbleweed roll across our path on the way to Portland International Airport, The Drake staff treated my friend and I with the same dignity as celebs & royalty. Top notch and first class in the face of our tiny town do-it-yourself ways. Doormen attempting to assist were bumped into but gracious amid the quickly exchanged 'sorry'. A dream of a lifetime and 20 year bucket list trip to Chicago only enchanced by staying at the world renown Drake Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need hosiery, lip balm or honey goat cheese, walk 5 blocks south on Michigan to Chicago Ave and visit Walgreens. LIFESAVER (also available) on our short stay AND when I worked on Northwestern University's Medical campus.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Friends
Madison
Jan 2, 2012

Luxurious Chicago Stay

If you are looking for a high end hotel to stay at during your Chicago visit, The Drake is the place for you! We had a wonderful time there for the weekend. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect for Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRW 1
Friends
St. Paul, Minnesota
Dec 19, 2011

Christmas weekend getaway

I grew up in Chicago and had always wanted to stay at the Drake. It is all I had hoped. It is a very classy hotel with so much rich history. The staff couldn't help enough and did anything to make things better for me. The room was comfortable and the bed very "cozy". Wonderful view of the Lake and Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Drake is within a few blocks of the Hancock bldg, Cheescake Factory, Water Tower Place, Original Water Tower, Bloomingdales, American Girl Store etc.....

Back to menu Return to top