$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
192 reviews
Great overnight stay between trains.

Grand hotel in the style of luxurious travel. Something we don't usually enjoy in todays high tech... See full review

  • Robby
  • Jul 25, 2015
Christmas in Chicago

I stayed at the Drake right before Thanksgiving and the hotel was absolutely gorgeous with it's... See full review

  • Kathryn R.
  • Apr 9, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$131
4.6 / 5 1,326 reviews
★★★★
$99
4.0 / 5 587 reviews
★★★★
$123
4.0 / 5 290 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.0 / 5 174 reviews
★★★★
$162
4.0 / 5 233 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.9 / 5 280 reviews
★★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 453 reviews
★★★
$87
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 219 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 192
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JERRY V.
Couples
edina
Mar 13, 2015

Thanksgiving Getaway

My wife and I had stayed at the Drake before, and we found that the second time around was just as good as the first. Everything, from the staff to the location, was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Like Europe
Couples
Wheaton Illinois
Nov 28, 2014

Getaway for few days

Old hotel that used to be one of the best in Chicago. But that was years ago, and the place shows its age now. The breakfast, included, was average. I had better breakfasts at less expensive European hotels. The service was also average at the restaurants and not what you would expect of a hotel of its name and fame. The money paid for the room was what I expected. But the price shows that the hotel is not what it used to be, If it were they would not be charging low rates. You get what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't even think of driving unless you are willing to pay $42 and up for overnight parking, and $4 per hour for street parking during the day (or $8 for 20 minutes at a parking garage). If you are familiar with the area, however, you can find overnight parking for free at LaSalle street, which is 5 to 6 blocks away.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DustinW
Couples
Toronto, Ontario
Oct 14, 2014

Perfect place to stay

Never write reviews but The Drake deserved it. All staff friendly and efficient. Always smiling and happy to help. Hotel has a fantastic location and is stunning inside. Ben out front is the man.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lab momma
Couples
New Mexico
Oct 6, 2014

disappointing

A lovely, historic, elegant , downstairs but the room was somewhat shabby. The view was beautiful but the room was cold, amenities in the bathroom stingy, in the room as well. We had to call housekeeping for more tea, stirrers, sugar, etc. We were pleased with the location for our needs. The staff we found helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
indymom6
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 26, 2014

Old but nice

Old hotel with modern updates, great location, view of a building across the alley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ijim
Couples
Chicago
Sep 24, 2014

Love the Drake

Great classic hotel. Convenient to Michigan avenue and the Lake . Restaurant is good . Staff is accosting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAINQESI
Couples
Cincinnati OH
Sep 17, 2014

Lacking service details

Have stayed 2 other times, and had several negative issues this time. Initial executive suite was way too hot and HVAC was not working. After 3 calls and waiting an hour, got a call they were working on it. After 2 calls was finally offered to move rooms. Also, requested additional towels twice before they were brought up. Elevators were not working well (doors open and immediately shut, and opened only half way. It is a beautiful old hotel and the staff requires some additional attention to service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cape Cod room is great and deserves a try.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry the Dub
Couples
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 8, 2014

Most enjoyable Holiday

First time in Chicago, this Hotel was recommended, and did not disappoint. Location just off The Magnificent Mile was ideal. All the staff, from the minute we arrived, was most helpful, and courteous. Room was spacious, and very clean. Meals exceptional and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the Concierge for advice, and directions. Most helpful.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest at The Drake
Couples
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2014

Great Weekend!

My boyfriend took me to this hotel for a celebration, and we had a fantastic time! Our lakeside room was gorgeous! The whole hotel is beautiful. The front desk employees, and most of the staff were very gracious and helpful. All of the food and drinks we had in the building were well made and delicious. The manager was very friendly and helpful, and determined to make our stay as comfortable as possible. There were a couple of small things that we weren't satisfied with. We talked to the concierges several times, and felt they could have done more to help us. The bathroom was also not as updated as you would expect from a hotel of this caliber, but it is an old hotel, so that's just what it is. Overall, we had a great time, and will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babybooby
Couples
California
Aug 18, 2014

The Drake

We were so looking forward to our stay. The lobby and Palm Court et. al do not disappoint. We splurged on a junior suite with a lake view. The room seemed nice - then we discovered a swarm of bugs on the ceiling molding. Ugh. They quickly gave us the same room - a floor below - which was bug free - HOWEVER - it was not well-cleaned. We asked them to clean it and upon our return, things got dusted off - but the mini fridge was filthy and the toilet was dirty underneath - which you could see when sitting in the tub - and the tub wouldn't shut off. They also slipped the wrong bill under our door at checkout. Very disappointing. When we nicely complained, the manager did give us $100 off - but rather grudgingly. The rest of the staff - housekeeping and the bellmen - were are terrific! But as I said - for a "grand hotel" very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top