$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
209 reviews
Christmas in Chicago

I stayed at the Drake right before Thanksgiving and the hotel was absolutely gorgeous with it's... See full review

  • Kathryn R.
  • Apr 9, 2015
Thanksgiving Getaway

My wife and I had stayed at the Drake before, and we found that the second time around was just as... See full review

  • JERRY V.
  • Mar 13, 2015
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling for Christmas
Business
illinois
Dec 28, 2013

A Mere Shadow of What It Used to Be

Upon check in, valet lost our heirloom Christmas tree and we found it kicked into a corner outside after numerous calls and 8 hours later. Bras and other feminine hygiene products laying in the halls for days. The food and service was less than average. Had to call housekeeping to get our room cleaned - amenities were minimal. Only thing going for it now is getting a room with a view of the lake. Won't be back. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill next to the Westin is an excellent restaurant. If you make reservations at the Signature Room at the Hancock make sure you request the main room - otherwise you get the small room on the side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LG7117
Business
Chicago
Feb 5, 2013

The Drake

The Drake needs that something special - staff needs to be more sincere and less forced with their hospitality. Room needs to be updated and tub needs to be cleaned so there is not residual dirt in the groves. Food is average and needs updating - overal experience is fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kayapek
Business
l,a. Calif
Jun 25, 2013

ordinary

The room was not a Jr. suite it was a room with an alcove with a bed in it. I talked to the staff and changed rooms. unfortunately it was a room with a lake view but not a Jr. Suite. Really disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 28, 2008

Huge Need For Improvement

As a seasoned international traveler for business and a slightly less seasoned traveler for vacations, this is the worst hotel for the money I have ever stayed in. The location was great and the staff quite helpful. The room was a joke for the price. My 2 day stay in the heart of Chicago was far from enjoyable. Upon arrival, the refrigerator was broken. A call was put in for a replacement refrigerator that was delivered the next day. It finally got cold by the day I left. I and my friend had to use a hotel garbage can filled with ice to keep anything cold. Every food item we brought back had to be thrown out, since the replacement refrigerator never cooled enough. Beautiful location, but I cannot recommend anyone to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for some nice stores, Louis Vuitton, Bvlgari, they're very close. The John Hancock Building is close too and has some great city views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, In
Dec 24, 2009

A drawback

The hotel is beautiful.. Unfortunately the room we were assigned to 1. the thermostat wasn't working properly, the room was hot..2. the blower fan made a constant clicking noise . Had to call the front desk at 2am to obtain room fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all the food /drinks very expensive.. $10.00 for a glass of Reisling at The Cor dor bar that is at the Drake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Oct 4, 2010

wouldn't advise anyone to stay

My boyfriend and I went to Chicago for the weekend and stayed at The Drake. It was a great location being right at the beginnning of the Magnificent Mile, but 90% of the staff was very unfriendly. We got there and they right away told us that on top of what we paid for the hotel it was an extra $49 to park our car. Our room wasn't ready until almost two hours until after check-in time, and the room we got was supposed to have a king size bed in it, and ended up only having a queen. The staff at the pub were also very rude, but the valet staff were very nice. Very clean, elegant, and beautiful, but not worth the other 10 annoying things about the place! Wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Feb 15, 2010

Classic, but not clean

I was looking for a classic weekend at an elegant hotel. It was supposed to be a romantic weekend and it was, but the room let me down. There was dust everywhere. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling, the carpet felt weird under my feet like someone had spilled something that had gotten cleaned-up, but that left the carpet not as soft as it once was. I took the sheets off the bed to make sure they were changed and they weren't, they just used the top sheet as a bottom one. There were stains the bathroom sink and when I put the toilet seat down there was[*] behind it. This had all the makings for a perfect weekend, it just was not clean enough for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lab momma
Business
New Mexico
Oct 6, 2014

disappointing

A lovely, historic, elegant , downstairs but the room was somewhat shabby. The view was beautiful but the room was cold, amenities in the bathroom stingy, in the room as well. We had to call housekeeping for more tea, stirrers, sugar, etc. We were pleased with the location for our needs. The staff we found helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishalish79
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 20, 2014

beautiful hotel...paper thin walls

The Drake Hotel is beautiful, great architecture and style. Part of our stay was intended for relaxation However, we got hotel security called on us for talking (no yelling or loud talking), we heard someone in the next room throwing up, and could hear conversations clear as day. If you are looking to stay somewhere where you plan on being quiet, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Original Pancake House down the street and skip the over priced breakfast at the hotel. Go as early as possible, it gets crowded. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kasmo
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Very nice

Room was nice, went with another couple, booked same way, but their room was much bigger. Didn't get our day robes as was stated , and they did not refill coffee packets or cups for next day. But we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top