$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenny K The coach
NYC
Aug 16, 2012

What great hotel the staff treated you like a king

I loved the location you had everything at your finger tips shopping, food and the greatest lake front I ever seen and only minutes from the Drake, I also love the Cape Cod Room they had some of the best seafood i ever had ,and im not putting down better than some of the places on the east coast and I really like history of The Drake I would tell all my friends that when there in Chicago that they have to Stay there also the public transportation was fantastic and easy to, to me the hotel gave me first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try it for your self you will not be disappointed with The Drake

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGMRTP
Business
Louisville, Kentucky
Oct 10, 2011

Very Good Chicago Hotel

The Drake was a wonderful, old world hotel. It is lovely inside and out. It has an old world charm that most who travel internationally will greatly appreciate. The staff are excellent and extremely helpful. It is a very good bargain considering all that is has to offer. The only slight negative that we experienced was that the picture quality on the TV was lacking and the room a bit small. However, I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kiki's French Bistro is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayEd
Business
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Oct 6, 2011

Will Not Stay There Next Time

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was always nice when we returned with fresh towels. My main complaint was only one chair in the room other than a desk chair, making it uncomfortable for either me or my wife. The refrigerator in the wet bar was broken and all the drinks inside were warm. We immediately contacted the staff and was told they would replace the refrigerator. They did nothing but move the drinks around. No one ever fixed this problem during our 4 night stay. Our room was advertised as limited view. I thought it would be a limited view of the river. My total view was of the airconditioning units. Our room was just a regular room with a queen bed. We felt that had we had a larger more expensive room, our refrigerator problem would have had some importance to The Drake's staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House near the Drake. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and very expensive. Worth it all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buford
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Love the drake

for an old school, classy hotel you can't ttop The Drake. Beautiful interiors. Perfect location. Great martinis in the atrium bar while listening to live jazz. They just don't make them like this anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The 900 Michigan ave shops are great and just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adamczap
Business
novi, mi
Jul 9, 2011

Drake Hotel = awesome.

fantastic!! loved the high ceilings in the room and the general ambiance was very romantic and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lavazza coffee right next door.. do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus, ohio
May 5, 2011

new and impressive

Location was awesome. The staff was most was most courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gaylord

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
May 3, 2011

Great place to stay

Our trip to Chicago was purely for pleasure and by staying in the Drake we started our trip perfectly. On arrival after a very long flight, we asked for an upgrade on our room and without hesitation were upgraded to a deluxe room which was huge. It had two bathrooms which I was really impressed with and a really comfortable king bed with fab duvet and comfy pillows. The room was really quiet. Even though there was music in the bar underneath we couldn't hear a thing. The hotel is so well positioned for shopping and sightseeing that it is an ideal spot to stay if that is your reason for visiting Chicago. Designer shops and nice restaurants are within a few minutes walking distance. The food in the hotel is very good and not over priced. The bars are nice too but were very quiet so if you want a lively night life go to some other nearby bars. Overall I would highly recommend staying here. It is a lovely comfortable hotel with great service in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Apr 25, 2011

Great experience!!

Ideal location for shopping, good restuarants and site seeing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit MI
Apr 24, 2011

Great Service!!

Great guest room service. Very Polite Staff, Address you by "Mr. [Last Name]", professional, right on the dot with every request. Great and quick valet service. Amazing 5* experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo
Apr 24, 2011

[...]

We were very pleased with our stay at the Drake Hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Weekend in CHI

Experience was good overall, as could be expected with any major hotel. However I thought I would be getting more bang for my buck. The hotel is very old school which might not be as adequate if you are in your mid'20's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top