$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
193 reviews
A class act

The Drake stands out in one of the most competitive hotel markets in America. As soon as you set... See full review

  • Cambridge Don
  • Nov 29, 2014
Perfect place to stay

Never write reviews but The Drake deserved it. All staff friendly and efficient. Always smiling and... See full review

  • DustinW
  • Oct 14, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus, ohio
May 5, 2011

new and impressive

Location was awesome. The staff was most was most courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gaylord

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
May 3, 2011

Great place to stay

Our trip to Chicago was purely for pleasure and by staying in the Drake we started our trip perfectly. On arrival after a very long flight, we asked for an upgrade on our room and without hesitation were upgraded to a deluxe room which was huge. It had two bathrooms which I was really impressed with and a really comfortable king bed with fab duvet and comfy pillows. The room was really quiet. Even though there was music in the bar underneath we couldn't hear a thing. The hotel is so well positioned for shopping and sightseeing that it is an ideal spot to stay if that is your reason for visiting Chicago. Designer shops and nice restaurants are within a few minutes walking distance. The food in the hotel is very good and not over priced. The bars are nice too but were very quiet so if you want a lively night life go to some other nearby bars. Overall I would highly recommend staying here. It is a lovely comfortable hotel with great service in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Apr 25, 2011

Great experience!!

Ideal location for shopping, good restuarants and site seeing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit MI
Apr 24, 2011

Great Service!!

Great guest room service. Very Polite Staff, Address you by "Mr. [Last Name]", professional, right on the dot with every request. Great and quick valet service. Amazing 5* experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo
Apr 24, 2011

[...]

We were very pleased with our stay at the Drake Hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Apr 18, 2011

Weekend in CHI

Experience was good overall, as could be expected with any major hotel. However I thought I would be getting more bang for my buck. The hotel is very old school which might not be as adequate if you are in your mid'20's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Llittle Rock
Apr 13, 2011

Superb stay at the Drake

I loved the history of the Drake. I loved the ornate decor. I loved the old style wood paneled bar. I loved the fountain in the middle of the upstairs, open bar. I loved the powder room near the bar. I felt as though I were in a 1940s movie. I loved our room and the bed was very comfortable. Every staff member we encountered was courteous and friendly. We requested a very minor adjustment to the bathtub drain and the repair was accomplished immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the very knowledgeable and personable concierge staff advice on dining and tours before striking out on your own. They made inquiries to restaurants, reserved seats on a tour that we were able to begin within 30 minutes and did several other things for us that saved us time and guided us in the right direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great trip111
Business
Cleveland, oh
Apr 10, 2011

Awesome, awesome hotel!!! L

A half a block from Mich ave! Awesome shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebuds steakhouse, few doors down. Great food service and reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fifican
Business
Rolla, MO
Mar 30, 2011

good price

perfect location for shopping and food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 30, 2011

Wonderful stay.

The hotel is beautiful and the price was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top