$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
168 reviews
weekend get away

Lovely weekend getaway. Great location, great hotel. See full review

  • bandl2
  • Feb 18, 2014
Old World Charm

We have stayed at this hotel in July. Excellent customer service. Wonderful Old World Charm! See full review

  • Graduation Trip
  • Dec 30, 2013
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
168 out of 168
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Kenny K The coach
NYC
Aug 16, 2012

What great hotel the staff treated you like a king

I loved the location you had everything at your finger tips shopping, food and the greatest lake front I ever seen and only minutes from the Drake, I also love the Cape Cod Room they had some of the best seafood i ever had ,and im not putting down better than some of the places on the east coast and I really like history of The Drake I would tell all my friends that when there in Chicago that they have to Stay there also the public transportation was fantastic and easy to, to me the hotel gave me first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try it for your self you will not be disappointed with The Drake

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2011

Great stay, very quiet room

I decided to pick The Drake for a romantic Valentine's Day evening. Check-in went very smoothly [...] The room was clean and quite large. Although I didn't have a great view, the size of the room and quietness made up for it. Hotel bar was closed, which was a bit disappointing, as there werent really any alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue shopping and restaurants are RIGHT out the front door. Great location!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Staying at the Knickerbocker Next Time
Boston, MA
Jan 25, 2011

Resting on its reputation...

Stayed for a wedding (which was fabulous), but the overall experience as a guest was less than impressive, given the storied reputation of the Drake. Room was nice, decently-sized for an old hotel, but missteps like not having shampoo/conditioner -something discovered mid-shower - were disappointing. Most disappointing was the staff, who were actually rather rude. When I called to ask for a hairdryer (not having searched behind the bathroom door), the front desk cut me off to tell me I needed to contact housekeeping. When I called housekeeping (they didn't transfer me!), I was rudely instructed to look behind the door. The bar staff was unpleasant, though the staff that served the wedding reception was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2011

Historic Experience

The room was fabulous and spacious for an old hotel. The Cape Cod Room seemed overpriced, but we loved the Palm Room and the Coq'dor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For better Seafood, try Devon on Chicago Ave.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Savy Sam the Traveling Man
Dallas,TX
Jan 1, 2011

Gold Coast maybe not gold but good.

It was ok, nothing to special, location was good hotel was nice and service was as expected. Overall it was good, but for the MONEY and the location I would expect a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the conceirge for coupons and other deals for locations stores.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Green Bay WI
Dec 28, 2010

The Drake- lost opulance

My grandfather took my father here, my father took me here and the disappointment that met us at the door was sad. While the rooms were ordinairy and the view nice, the pillow had stained cases, the towles reeked of chlorine and the historic beauty of the hotel is all but gone. No cocktails in the lobby, dark and dingey dining rooms and a compleate loss of formality in the public rooms of this once fancy establishment. Too bad. It's not a deal at the high prices one pays and in the end you would most likely get more 'bang' for your buck elsewhere. On the up side the service staff was pleasent and helpful, [...] the concierge outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blackbird. A fantastic dinner while not cheap, totally worth the splurge

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lincoln, Nebraska
Dec 2, 2010

Great location, large quiet room

Close to North Michigan shopping and restaurants. The rooms were spacious with a great view of Riverside Dr. and Oak Street beach. The elevators were rapid and readily available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Paris, France
Nov 29, 2010

Great stay

You have to pay for Internet (about 15 USD per day) which is not great and breakfast is a little overpriced, especially if room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Iowa
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect location and incredible views.

Welcoming. Wonderful room service. The views spectacular. Across the street from the lake walking paths. Best of shopping right outside the door. The most comfortable bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Across the street from the walking/running paths of the lake.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Oct 31, 2010

Lovely, Elegant Hotel

The Drake is lovely, elegant and hospitable. The service from check-in, to housekeeping, to room-and concierge service was first rate. The rooms are large and comfortable, with luxurious beds and linens. The 1920s architectural flourishes have been charmingly kept in tact throughout the hotel (including the guest rooms and baths), yet there is absolutely no sacrifice to 21st century amenities. The Drake is the most famous hotel in the city of Chicago, and consequently, the world. It lives up to its reputation and its guests expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St Louis
Oct 24, 2010

Great for the weekend

Nice room, excellent location, great hotel name recognition. No pricier than any other central Chicago hotel. Worked great for the weekend. Parking pricy but again no more than most other similars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top