$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Isabella2005
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

great weekend getaway

Stafff was very accomodating and the room was cozy. We also enjoyed the restaurants in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kasmo
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Very nice

Room was nice, went with another couple, booked same way, but their room was much bigger. Didn't get our day robes as was stated , and they did not refill coffee packets or cups for next day. But we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to everything

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C. Johnson
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Drake is old style Nice!

We had a deluxe King room. It was very comfortable and spacious. 2 full bathrooms! The bed was very comfortable. We will most definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had dinner at Il Mullino. A 10 minute walk / $5 cab ride. A Great Italian dinner! Great service!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Trouble
Business
Roanoke, VA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

A classic

I have stayed at the Drake three times in the last three months. A classic hotel with great staff and the perfect location. Be sure to eat at the Cape Code Room and try the Bookbinder Soup!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like family steakhouses then dinner at Gene and Georgetti's is a must. Probably the best in Chicago.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobby M.
Business
California, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Classy !

Location is the best in Chicago. Old world charm. Well worth the money. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Jan 2, 2012

Luxurious Chicago Stay

If you are looking for a high end hotel to stay at during your Chicago visit, The Drake is the place for you! We had a wonderful time there for the weekend. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect for Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rolanda
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 26, 2011

Great Hotel

Wonderful hotel during the holiday season. Steps away from all the shopping. Room is very large. The bathroom is complete with all amenities. There was not enough time to fully appreciate all the things that this hotel had. Wish that I could have stayed a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower is one block and the shops in Bloomingdales are across the street

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRW 1
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Dec 19, 2011

Christmas weekend getaway

I grew up in Chicago and had always wanted to stay at the Drake. It is all I had hoped. It is a very classy hotel with so much rich history. The staff couldn't help enough and did anything to make things better for me. The room was comfortable and the bed very "cozy". Wonderful view of the Lake and Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Drake is within a few blocks of the Hancock bldg, Cheescake Factory, Water Tower Place, Original Water Tower, Bloomingdales, American Girl Store etc.....

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Dec 14, 2011

Quality Hotel

My good friend and I stayed at the Drake for one evening in Chicago just to do some Christmas Shopping. The Hotel atmosphere was alive with spirit and the service inside was excellent. We had access to the executive lounge, and their continental breakfast was delicious. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLL60
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 7, 2011

On the Lake

Great visit, perfect location, courteous staff, old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SOFA Chicago/Navy Pier

Back to menu Return to top