$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Trouble
Business
Roanoke, VA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

A classic

I have stayed at the Drake three times in the last three months. A classic hotel with great staff and the perfect location. Be sure to eat at the Cape Code Room and try the Bookbinder Soup!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like family steakhouses then dinner at Gene and Georgetti's is a must. Probably the best in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xine
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 30, 2012

Nice Hotel

We stayed for one night, and got a great deal on the room. But once you get there you will pay through the nose for parking, food, internet, movies... The room had nice, high ceilings and the old school feel. But the TV was facing a sitting area & not the bed, so it was hard to relax and watch tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Dinner Detective shows across the street at the Knickerbocker!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobby M.
Business
California, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Classy !

Location is the best in Chicago. Old world charm. Well worth the money. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Jan 2, 2012

Luxurious Chicago Stay

If you are looking for a high end hotel to stay at during your Chicago visit, The Drake is the place for you! We had a wonderful time there for the weekend. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect for Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rolanda
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 26, 2011

Great Hotel

Wonderful hotel during the holiday season. Steps away from all the shopping. Room is very large. The bathroom is complete with all amenities. There was not enough time to fully appreciate all the things that this hotel had. Wish that I could have stayed a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower is one block and the shops in Bloomingdales are across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRW 1
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Dec 19, 2011

Christmas weekend getaway

I grew up in Chicago and had always wanted to stay at the Drake. It is all I had hoped. It is a very classy hotel with so much rich history. The staff couldn't help enough and did anything to make things better for me. The room was comfortable and the bed very "cozy". Wonderful view of the Lake and Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Drake is within a few blocks of the Hancock bldg, Cheescake Factory, Water Tower Place, Original Water Tower, Bloomingdales, American Girl Store etc.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Dec 14, 2011

Quality Hotel

My good friend and I stayed at the Drake for one evening in Chicago just to do some Christmas Shopping. The Hotel atmosphere was alive with spirit and the service inside was excellent. We had access to the executive lounge, and their continental breakfast was delicious. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLL60
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 7, 2011

On the Lake

Great visit, perfect location, courteous staff, old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SOFA Chicago/Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RickandMissy
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Great Hotel in a Perfect Location

We just arrived home after staying at the Drake this past week and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It is right by the beach and walking paths, at the start of the Magnificant mile and nothing is very far away. Beautiful hotel and staff, we had a great visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

At the beggining of the Magnificant Mile ..... Shopping GALOUR !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTraveler1
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 17, 2011

2 days in Chicago!!

I stayed at the Drake 2 nights and I would stay there the next time I'm in Chicago. Great location just a block from the magnificent mile close to everything, loved the architecture and the clasic style yet the hotel is renovated and clean. I would definitly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top