$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
193 reviews
A class act

The Drake stands out in one of the most competitive hotel markets in America. As soon as you set... See full review

  • Cambridge Don
  • Nov 29, 2014
Perfect place to stay

Never write reviews but The Drake deserved it. All staff friendly and efficient. Always smiling and... See full review

  • DustinW
  • Oct 14, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rolanda
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 26, 2011

Great Hotel

Wonderful hotel during the holiday season. Steps away from all the shopping. Room is very large. The bathroom is complete with all amenities. There was not enough time to fully appreciate all the things that this hotel had. Wish that I could have stayed a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower is one block and the shops in Bloomingdales are across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRW 1
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Dec 19, 2011

Christmas weekend getaway

I grew up in Chicago and had always wanted to stay at the Drake. It is all I had hoped. It is a very classy hotel with so much rich history. The staff couldn't help enough and did anything to make things better for me. The room was comfortable and the bed very "cozy". Wonderful view of the Lake and Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Drake is within a few blocks of the Hancock bldg, Cheescake Factory, Water Tower Place, Original Water Tower, Bloomingdales, American Girl Store etc.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Dec 14, 2011

Quality Hotel

My good friend and I stayed at the Drake for one evening in Chicago just to do some Christmas Shopping. The Hotel atmosphere was alive with spirit and the service inside was excellent. We had access to the executive lounge, and their continental breakfast was delicious. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLL60
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 7, 2011

On the Lake

Great visit, perfect location, courteous staff, old world charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SOFA Chicago/Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RickandMissy
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Great Hotel in a Perfect Location

We just arrived home after staying at the Drake this past week and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It is right by the beach and walking paths, at the start of the Magnificant mile and nothing is very far away. Beautiful hotel and staff, we had a great visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

At the beggining of the Magnificant Mile ..... Shopping GALOUR !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTraveler1
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 17, 2011

2 days in Chicago!!

I stayed at the Drake 2 nights and I would stay there the next time I'm in Chicago. Great location just a block from the magnificent mile close to everything, loved the architecture and the clasic style yet the hotel is renovated and clean. I would definitly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGMRTP
Business
Louisville, Kentucky
Oct 10, 2011

Very Good Chicago Hotel

The Drake was a wonderful, old world hotel. It is lovely inside and out. It has an old world charm that most who travel internationally will greatly appreciate. The staff are excellent and extremely helpful. It is a very good bargain considering all that is has to offer. The only slight negative that we experienced was that the picture quality on the TV was lacking and the room a bit small. However, I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kiki's French Bistro is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayEd
Business
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Oct 6, 2011

Will Not Stay There Next Time

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was always nice when we returned with fresh towels. My main complaint was only one chair in the room other than a desk chair, making it uncomfortable for either me or my wife. The refrigerator in the wet bar was broken and all the drinks inside were warm. We immediately contacted the staff and was told they would replace the refrigerator. They did nothing but move the drinks around. No one ever fixed this problem during our 4 night stay. Our room was advertised as limited view. I thought it would be a limited view of the river. My total view was of the airconditioning units. Our room was just a regular room with a queen bed. We felt that had we had a larger more expensive room, our refrigerator problem would have had some importance to The Drake's staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House near the Drake. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and very expensive. Worth it all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buford
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Love the drake

for an old school, classy hotel you can't ttop The Drake. Beautiful interiors. Perfect location. Great martinis in the atrium bar while listening to live jazz. They just don't make them like this anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The 900 Michigan ave shops are great and just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adamczap
Business
novi, mi
Jul 9, 2011

Drake Hotel = awesome.

fantastic!! loved the high ceilings in the room and the general ambiance was very romantic and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lavazza coffee right next door.. do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top