$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roadrunnerfromga
Business
augusta, georgia
Oct 9, 2012

elegant hotel

The Drake was wonderful for our weekend stay for the marathon! I enjoyed the history and elegance of this hotel. It was refreshing to relax there after the race. The staff made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I would choose to stay there again. The only drawbacks was the small bathroom. The toilet was very close to the tub and there was minimal counter space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenny K The coach
Business
NYC
Aug 16, 2012

What great hotel the staff treated you like a king

I loved the location you had everything at your finger tips shopping, food and the greatest lake front I ever seen and only minutes from the Drake, I also love the Cape Cod Room they had some of the best seafood i ever had ,and im not putting down better than some of the places on the east coast and I really like history of The Drake I would tell all my friends that when there in Chicago that they have to Stay there also the public transportation was fantastic and easy to, to me the hotel gave me first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try it for your self you will not be disappointed with The Drake

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Letty B
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jul 21, 2012

Classic Chicago Stay

Great location that is close to the beach, shopping and other Chicago landmarks. Nice room and helpful staff. The room was spacious for two twins and had several useful amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom Crean
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Jul 6, 2012

Overall good experience

You can't beat the location of the Drake. The hotel could use a little updating which seems to be occuring. Also, surprised the air conditioner didn't work very well and there were no robes in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catie Go Sixers
Business
Tullytown, PA
May 25, 2012

Fun in the Windy City

The Drake was elegant. Staff, especially Andrea, the BEST!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is some program that allows vistors to Chicago to show out of town visitors to show ID and receive discounts!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Look n good
Business
Petoskey, MI, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Small room, good location

We booked two rooms, both were tiny compared to other travellers in our group. View of the fire escape stairs, ick! However, did not spend much time in room. Like the drake for proximity to tunnel under Lake Shore Drive to run along Lake Michigan, to Oak St., to Rush St., and of course Mag Mile. Had nice High Tea experience, excellent waiter. Enjoyed harpist. Excellent wait staff at breakfast in Drake Brothers, although buffet kind of skimpy. Hotel in general looking dated, tiny , slow elevators, not the Peninsula, but not the prices either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Portenos
Business
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mar 31, 2012

Excellency

It is a top hotel, excellent in all senses. For those like us who prefer not to take our notebooks, an easier and cheaper service for using the hotel's pc's, should be provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TEDDYT
Business
Savannah, GA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

GOOD VALUE

THE TOTAL PACKAGE WITH THIS HOTEL WAS A GREAT VALUE. THE LOCATION COULD NOT BE BETTER. I WILL USE YOUR PACKAGE PLANS IN THE FUTURE. THE AIELINE AS ALWAYS WAS THE PITS. CANCELLED FLIGHT. HAD TO SPEND AN EXTRA NIGHT AT THE AIRPORT HOTEL. AIR TRAVEL TODAY IS JUST ABOUT AS BAD AS IT GETS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom2joshari
Business
Boardman, OR 97818, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Eastern Oregon to East Chicago Mag Mile

Even though we watched a tumbleweed roll across our path on the way to Portland International Airport, The Drake staff treated my friend and I with the same dignity as celebs & royalty. Top notch and first class in the face of our tiny town do-it-yourself ways. Doormen attempting to assist were bumped into but gracious amid the quickly exchanged 'sorry'. A dream of a lifetime and 20 year bucket list trip to Chicago only enchanced by staying at the world renown Drake Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need hosiery, lip balm or honey goat cheese, walk 5 blocks south on Michigan to Chicago Ave and visit Walgreens. LIFESAVER (also available) on our short stay AND when I worked on Northwestern University's Medical campus.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brien
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Fire escape room

Everything was great except we were given a room down a small fire escape hallway. The fire escape was directly outside the window. Next time I would request a room in another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top