$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best American Girl Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2014

Most Enjoyable Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the Drake Hotel. The location could not be better and the staff was top rate! I highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitown4
Business
chicago
Jul 28, 2014

One night stay

Great hotel looks fancy but needs to be updated. Customer service was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jessicaangel
Business
miami, fl
Jul 27, 2014

not what it should be

The staff is courteous but the hotel is tired and dated. Not even a bathrobe in the room. I ate at two of the hotel's restaurants and found them to be average or below and very expensive. The location is great but there are other hotels in that location that would probably been much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

do not dine at the Drake

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donald Mac.
Business
Sarasota Fl.
Jul 24, 2014

anniversery

We have stayed at the Drake Hotel many times going back many years. We have never been disappointed. We would certainly stay there again. Don

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cape Cod continues to be a great restaurant

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparkster
Business
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for strolling the Magnificent Mile or enjoying views of Lake Michigan. The Hotel itself was memorable - stylish, beautiful and comfortable. The staff was attentive and helpful. We appreciated the commitment to excellence that was evident throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FL family visits Chi Town
Business
Florida
Jul 14, 2014

Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping and restaurants. This is an older and very elegant building so plumbing was a bit slow, though not a big deal. If you are traveling with kids and want a comfortable room to lounge in between city activities this is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancake House for breakfast is a quick walk and good food. Sit outside if weather permits. The concierge recommended and it was a good pick.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rwdbs
Business
Mpls, MN
Jul 12, 2014

A great old hotel.

A really great old master hotel. Our 3 day stay was perfect. Great breakfast. Close to many downtown Chicago shopping venues. Our first stay here since the 1980's and it remains one of favorite places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Red Wizard
Business
Madeira Beach Fla.
Jul 10, 2014

The Magnificent Mile at it's Best!

Live the High Life at the Drake Hotel. Born and raised in Chicago and spent the past 35 years in Florida. Came home for the 4th and took my wife to the Drake on a recommendation. What a perfect spot to enjoy downtown Chicago. Walk to all the best shops and restaurants and experience the best of Chicago. You will not be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to The Tempo restaurant in the am for the best breakfast you can imagine. Just ask Tommy the Bell-Man for directions.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
82Hawk
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 24, 2014

expected more

we paid $450+ thus had high expectations. I was disappointed. The Drake is a huge classic place. The flowers are beautiful! I was on the "Executive Floor". Room was spacious - bathroom is really small with a single sink and a tub shower. I travel a lot and the competition is way ahead in bathrooms! This felt dated. This is a minot thing but...there was not a pen and scratch pad in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at The Gilt Bar and it was fantastic! Our Waiter was wonderful! It is busy but so worth checking out!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSTtraveler
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 27, 2014

Wonderful stay

My trip was very quick, but the time I did have in my room was great. The room was huge, the view of the lake was gorgeous, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was so friendly and personable. I loved the old-world aesthetics and the attention to detail as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top