$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparkster
Business
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for strolling the Magnificent Mile or enjoying views of Lake Michigan. The Hotel itself was memorable - stylish, beautiful and comfortable. The staff was attentive and helpful. We appreciated the commitment to excellence that was evident throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FL family visits Chi Town
Business
Florida
Jul 14, 2014

Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping and restaurants. This is an older and very elegant building so plumbing was a bit slow, though not a big deal. If you are traveling with kids and want a comfortable room to lounge in between city activities this is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancake House for breakfast is a quick walk and good food. Sit outside if weather permits. The concierge recommended and it was a good pick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rwdbs
Business
Mpls, MN
Jul 12, 2014

A great old hotel.

A really great old master hotel. Our 3 day stay was perfect. Great breakfast. Close to many downtown Chicago shopping venues. Our first stay here since the 1980's and it remains one of favorite places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Red Wizard
Business
Madeira Beach Fla.
Jul 10, 2014

The Magnificent Mile at it's Best!

Live the High Life at the Drake Hotel. Born and raised in Chicago and spent the past 35 years in Florida. Came home for the 4th and took my wife to the Drake on a recommendation. What a perfect spot to enjoy downtown Chicago. Walk to all the best shops and restaurants and experience the best of Chicago. You will not be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to The Tempo restaurant in the am for the best breakfast you can imagine. Just ask Tommy the Bell-Man for directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
82Hawk
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 24, 2014

expected more

we paid $450+ thus had high expectations. I was disappointed. The Drake is a huge classic place. The flowers are beautiful! I was on the "Executive Floor". Room was spacious - bathroom is really small with a single sink and a tub shower. I travel a lot and the competition is way ahead in bathrooms! This felt dated. This is a minot thing but...there was not a pen and scratch pad in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at The Gilt Bar and it was fantastic! Our Waiter was wonderful! It is busy but so worth checking out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSTtraveler
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 27, 2014

Wonderful stay

My trip was very quick, but the time I did have in my room was great. The room was huge, the view of the lake was gorgeous, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was so friendly and personable. I loved the old-world aesthetics and the attention to detail as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AcuNutritionistAlexTuggle
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2014

Perfect business trip accommodation

Awesome room cleaning service! Enjoyed the cafe which was a great place to get some business done. Very nice accommodations I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Local

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdn2014
Business
Ontario
Apr 21, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Love this hotel - classic, classy. New, modern hotels are nice but there's nothing like the elegance of a 100 year old hotel that still has the luxury it had when it was built.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't t recommend Shaw's Seafood, but the Chicago Chophouse is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishalish79
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 20, 2014

beautiful hotel...paper thin walls

The Drake Hotel is beautiful, great architecture and style. Part of our stay was intended for relaxation However, we got hotel security called on us for talking (no yelling or loud talking), we heard someone in the next room throwing up, and could hear conversations clear as day. If you are looking to stay somewhere where you plan on being quiet, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Original Pancake House down the street and skip the over priced breakfast at the hotel. Go as early as possible, it gets crowded. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bandl2
Business
chicago
Feb 18, 2014

weekend get away

Lovely weekend getaway. Great location, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top