$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, Ohio
Jul 4, 2010

the place to be

The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly, caught a Cub's game, had some great food, and hung out at the local blues clubs. Everything within walking distance or a short cab ride, rooms are a little small but it's the DRAKE baby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

save 15 bucks a day if you self park (35 instead of 50 )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mness
Business
Amelia Island, FL
Jun 25, 2010

Greatest location

Excellent location for shopping. near bus lines and the lake Great ambiance and friendly staff. in room Lavazza coffee is super upgrade from usual low grade hotel coffee. Adjourning Lavazza coffee shop is convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester , Michigan
Jun 18, 2010

First Class Hotel

Excellent hotel, staff was very friendly. A supurb loacation ..... as good as it gets...[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
'Elle Woods
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 17, 2010

A Fabulous Experience

I decided to spend a night in the city for my birthday, the Drake was the perfect choice. I selected the "family room" floor plan, it was complete with two spacious bathrooms (perfect to 4 women), two queen beds, and sitting area. The graciously decorated room, large flat television, and high ceilings were met with approval. The employees were helpful and very cheerful, even into the early morning hours as four (very) happy women wandered back into the building. I look forward to more celebrations at the Drake, it was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigchoe
Business
edison, nj
Jun 14, 2010

Jaime's MBA

great accomodation, no issues with hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lux Bar great for Brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bronx
Jun 3, 2010

chicago the drake

was great, according to my needs. did not have blow dryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

also lakeshore jogging was amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Track Star
Business
Waukesha, WI
Jun 3, 2010

3 Nights at The Drake

Maid staff was poor, no hair dryers, TV didnt work... generally, alittle disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aussie in KY
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 2, 2010

Great location, good hotel

We were there just for a few nights. Couldn't get a much better location. A quick walk downtown or to the beach. Room was good and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Got a great deal through [...] for what we got. Definitely recommend this place if you want a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the fast pass at Willis Tower. It saved hrs of waiting in a line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hot Springs, AR
Jun 1, 2010

The Drake/Chicago

A very nice stay. We had a great view of "Oak Street Beach, Lake Michigan and "North Lake Shore Drive." The observatory at the John Hancock Building was a great way to see the sights and a very nice sunset to the first day. We ate a great breakfast at the Hotel one morning, good food. We walked about four blocks for breakfast after that and saved a bundle, great food there too. We rode the "Double Decker Red Bus" - fantastic way to see the City and get off and on at many stops along the way and catch the next bus every 15 to 30 minutes. We rode to the "Field Museum" - toured the museum, then ate a Chicago style Hot Dog outside the museum and returned within a couple of blocks of our Hotel. We opted for the one day pass, there were many options. Highly recommend! We walked to the Navy Pier late the second afternoon along Lake Michigan. From the pier our dinner cruise departed for (3) hours. Great service, (3) course dinner, and the entertainment all a great value, all very nice. Would highly recommend. The third day we took a "Tasting Tour" in the North neighborhood. Our guide was very knowledgeable and high octane. She was impressive, she remembered each of the 16 guest (couples) names and our home states, she really added a personal touch visiting with everyone along the way covering food & drink, architecture, and notable landmarks with a bit of history tied to each location. Would highly recommend. After the tour we had the option to walk bak, take a taxi or ride the "L" - we rode the "L" back into downtown and got off at Chicago Street. Then walked along the river and back to the Navy Pier for dinner. We took a cab back to one of the stops on the food tour, a Tea shop and we purchased leaf teas and a neat little brew pot. A couple of nights there were loud people in the hallway at 2:30 AM and 05:00 AM. One should expect this on a Holiday weekend. Our first night was very quiet (Thursday) the loud nights were Friday and Saturday of-course. Great trip, flew into Midway, very easy, highly recommend the Go shuttle for round trip to the airport, unless you can afford a limo! Chicago's downtown very clean, don't forget your Garrett's popcorn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the internet before you go and have a plan,reserve in advance, then stick to it your plan! Leave room for relaxing and little side trips outside of the plan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 1, 2010

Wonderful stay at the Drake

Our stay at the Drake was terrific. We spent the extra money to have breakfast each day and it was worth the extra cost! Great wait staff! They really made us feel welcome, and the food was very good as well. When we return to Chicago, I would definitely look for a deal like this one. It was a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great architecture tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top