$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 3, 2010

Drake Hotel

Parking outrageously expensive as was the food .. unbelievable ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 3, 2010

Great value and wonderful location

We went shopping in downtown CHICAGO. The best location for the views and walking. You step out your door of the Drake and are in the prime area for site seeing and shopping. Lots of fabulous restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk. If interested in a day of shopping you could walk alot. Your decision.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Abbeville, SC
Aug 1, 2010

wonderful choice, really 1st class

great location for shopping and dining, I would recommend this hotel to anybody

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori the Shopper
Business
Manchester, Ct.
Jul 17, 2010

1st time's the charm

Chicago is the best city I have ever been too! It's unbelieveably clean and there is so much to do! We went on a double decker tour bus of the city where you can buy a 3 day pass and get on and off at different locations, we went to Lincoln Park Zoo, a Chicago White Sox game, shopped until we dropped, went to a free concert in Millenium park and more. The tour down the Chicago River with the history and descriptions of the buildings is a must do!! The only not so great thing-- the cab drivers are very unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Ave is the best, however make sure to walk down the side streets. There is so much to enjoy off the main road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Solon, Ohio
Jul 15, 2010

Great location, classy hotel

Very helpful conciege.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask conciege for priority seating voucher and eat at Gino's pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit
Jul 12, 2010

Drake

attend a funeral

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

msny choices of resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia,SC
Jul 11, 2010

The Drake

Very convenient location for a total Chicago experience;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LADinLA
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 9, 2010

Lovely classic

[...] gave me a lakeview room. The staff was kind and helpful, and the rooms are lovely. The location couldn't be better...just a few blocks from the Museum of Contemporary Art. The only downside is that some rooms have cooler air conditioning than others, and my first room wasn't as chilly as I like. But they apologized and switched me to a room on the Executive Level for my second night. (If you're Hilton Gold or above, try for the Executive Level; there's a great view from the lounge, and the complimentary breakfast is above average).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel food is very expensive, with Hilton's typical 17% surcharge PLUS a $6 fee. And it's about as old school as it gets. But I forgave them because they're so kind and accommodating. I mentioned that I was really hungry when I ordered room service dinner, and they brought me a cup of soup gratis. And if you're a fan of afternoon tea, their tea service in Palm Court is a classic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville SC
Jul 7, 2010

The Drake - Great Experience

This was probably the nicest place that we have stayed in. We were there over the independence day holidays and had a great time. The Drake is located in a great place near the lake, and the John Hancock Center. For shoppers, the Drake is right on the miracle mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 6, 2010

Great Experience

Had a great time. Enjoyed the historical aspects of the Drake and the rooms were great. The concierge was a huge help! Only two things I can say negative: the AC didn't work so well and we had less than impressive time at the restaurant at night. Just took a long time to get any service..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top