$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
190 reviews
Perfect place to stay

Never write reviews but The Drake deserved it. All staff friendly and efficient. Always smiling and... See full review

  • DustinW
  • Oct 14, 2014
Quick getaway.

Very nice. Great historic hotel. The Concierge was outstanding!!! See full review

  • J Leiff
  • Sep 22, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Mo.
Oct 3, 2010

Right on!

Excellent service. The concierge service was exceptional and saved us both time and money. We booked a boat tour thru the hotel instead of direct and because we had poor weather the day of the tour we were able to cancel without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The North Pond restaurant was the absolute best dinner we had in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix
Oct 2, 2010

The Drake Hotel Chicago

The location was perfect for shopping and anything else you might want to do in Chicago. The lounge and restaurants were all very nice and had a cool 1940's feel. The only negative was that the rooms were cheaply decorated and the bathrooms needed updating and maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The magnificent mile shopping is right outside. You can find anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 1, 2010

a bit disappointing

I was very excited about my stay, but disappointed once I arrived. I paid for an upgraded room with a view, and the view was nice, but......there was mold and some black stuff falling out of the air-vent. The wall paper was peeling, bathtub curtain was moldy and smelly, and they charged $16.95 for internet connection, not the $12.95 that was quoted. When I asked, they said that I had opted for a faster connection, but I was not offered it when I signed up....confusing. Over all the hotel is of course very nice, but I think they are resting a bit on their reputation....so many places to stay, I think I will go elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 19, 2010

The Classic Hotel Experience

From the moment we drove up until we drove away, the service was terrific. The rooms were comfortable and we heard no hall noise. The Drake is beautifully appointed and the lower level shopping area is a plus. Location is unsurpassed on Chicago's Magnificent Mile in walking distince to lots to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Use the Concierge; they are very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goddess Stephanie
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 10, 2010

The Drake

I got there on a Friday and was pleased to hear beautiful music coming from the lounge. I just moved from Chicago to DC and I knew as a local the Drake had a great reputation. My boyfriend met me at the lounge so we could get a cocktail and enjoy some great music. The room is beautiful and it is also where they hold afternoon tea. Location is perfect, right on Michigan by all the shopping. The service upon check in could have been better. No smile, didn't feel welcomed. It never hurts to ask for a room upgrade if they have it so I asked him if I could get a lake view and he totally dismissed me. No tact whatsoever. My other interactions with the staff were fine, but not impressive. Also I had a bottle of water on the night stand that the housekeeper threw away. Not a huge deal, but I was a little surprised by this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I have gone to Mario Tricoci salon for years, and it is conveniently located right across the street at 900 north michigan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dorasamy
Business
Ancaster, Ontario
Sep 6, 2010

My Chicago Weekend Trip

We tried to warm some food but was unable to; many other hotels will warm food or even make available a microwave oven! Good food had to go to waste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, tx
Sep 6, 2010

Wonderful hotel...loved the service!

Wonderful mother daughter shopping trip! The bellman made it so easy for us to get taxis everywhere we wanted to go. The only dissappointment was the palm bar and seating area was closed most of the time. Would have loved to have a drink and enjoy the atmosphere in that beautiful room. I would stay there again, because of the warm old world feel. Rooms weren't huge but furnished beautifully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MOTO resturaunt...expensive but so much fun. A very unique dining experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Aug 30, 2010

Mid August at the Drake

Breakfast "can" be part of the booking fee. Ours was not. See if you can get free breakfast when you book the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cape cod Room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Legend of El Nicko
Business
South Jersey
Aug 28, 2010

Drake Hotel: Straight Up Baller, Son

I checked into The Drake Hotel Friday August 13th, 2010 so I could be within walking distance of Chicago's Air and Water Show the following day. As far as location goes, The Drake is hard to beat. The Drake is located where all the action is, right off of Chicago's Miracle Mile and minutes away from Chicago's Gold Coast, an affluent area with the shopping, dining, and nightlife to match. Just North of The Drake is the beach, to the South is the John Hancock Building. I arrived to the hotel WAY before check-in time, and my room was already available. The staff is friendly, but slightly frigid and impersonal. The Hotel is beautiful, and my room was no exception. The construction of the hotel dates back to the 1920's, and while the room is smaller than a contemporary luxury hotel room, it was by no means meager and was well laid out. The hotel contained a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen TV, so my requirements were satisfied. Under the TV is a mini bar, but I didn't waste my time and instead stopped in the hotel's excellent on-site lounge, Coq d'Or. The service is good and the drinks are STRONG. My minor complaint it that the drain was slow in the shower, but this also may have something to do with the fact that I turned up all the dials and the water pressure was high enough to send tons of water coming my way. I'm used to weak water pressure in hotels. I guess I shouldn't be complaining! Also, if I ran the hotel I would ban children, but I suppose I can't fault management for not sharing my views. It doesn't alleviate my hangover when children are running up and down the halls at 9:00am. The Drake Hotel is an excellent choice for anyone who wants to check in to a hotel with modern luxuries and classic charm. The Hotel has been well taken care of over the years remaining vibrant, and doesn't come off as stuffy. Even if you're a little wary of the price, The Drake is at least worth a look for it's superb location and may save you a cab fare or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't stress location enough, The Drake is just minutes away from the Gold Coast and is right off of Chicago's Miracle Mile. You're right near all the action in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Earl J
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 23, 2010

The Drake review

Great overall except the room doors slam shut instead of closing slowly and constantly woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top