$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Llittle Rock
Apr 13, 2011

Superb stay at the Drake

I loved the history of the Drake. I loved the ornate decor. I loved the old style wood paneled bar. I loved the fountain in the middle of the upstairs, open bar. I loved the powder room near the bar. I felt as though I were in a 1940s movie. I loved our room and the bed was very comfortable. Every staff member we encountered was courteous and friendly. We requested a very minor adjustment to the bathtub drain and the repair was accomplished immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the very knowledgeable and personable concierge staff advice on dining and tours before striking out on your own. They made inquiries to restaurants, reserved seats on a tour that we were able to begin within 30 minutes and did several other things for us that saved us time and guided us in the right direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great trip111
Business
Cleveland, oh
Apr 10, 2011

Awesome, awesome hotel!!! L

A half a block from Mich ave! Awesome shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebuds steakhouse, few doors down. Great food service and reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 30, 2011

Wonderful stay.

The hotel is beautiful and the price was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fifican
Business
Rolla, MO
Mar 30, 2011

good price

perfect location for shopping and food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gymreview
Business
indiana
Mar 28, 2011

Hotel Accomodations

Great stay with execellent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch 35 Restaurant in Wacker Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ncm
Business
Chelsea, MI
Mar 21, 2011

fabulous value

Great hotel and room for the price! An Iconic Chicago classic hotel! Great location on the Mag Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland,OR
Mar 7, 2011

The Drake

The Drake has a stellar location right off Michigan Avenue, and has a high end feel but it is an old hotel...we could hear our neighbors T.V. through the wall, and there is only ethernet cable available (no wireless). For the price, the location can't be beat. Just keep in mind that to stay next to Michigan Ave in a historic hotel at this price- that there are a few little quirks to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
saginaw mi
Mar 6, 2011

weekend luxury

outstanding service. Everything I expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 6, 2011

Best of Chicago

Look no further for the best in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2011

Great stay, very quiet room

I decided to pick The Drake for a romantic Valentine's Day evening. Check-in went very smoothly [...] The room was clean and quite large. Although I didn't have a great view, the size of the room and quietness made up for it. Hotel bar was closed, which was a bit disappointing, as there werent really any alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue shopping and restaurants are RIGHT out the front door. Great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top